Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
You did it again, and again, and again, Chef John....thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Pretty darn good and pretty darn easy!! I followed the recipe exactly. Ham, bacon, smoked hock --- all would be fine for this recipe. My fella really liked this soup. I served it in bread bowls. I will make this again. Thank you Barb for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I thought these were quite good for such a quick and easy recipe. These come together much quicker than the recipe I usually use. The flavor (I used melted butter) was delicious, and they were fudgy. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
It IS rather salty (will definitely use less garlic salt next time) but yummy! Great on toasted sliced french bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine0202

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I was searching for a brunch recipe and this fits great. It's a good way to blend the flavors of bacon and eggs plus cheese. I decided to use silicone muffin cups instead of metal. Worked great and easier to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Ladd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Lucy Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I have seen these types of cheese stuffed burgers on tv and decided to make them when I came across this recipe. Especially when I noticed the submitter said she likes hers with sauteed mushrooms and onions. I was actually wanting to use those tonight anyway. We absolutely loved this recipe. I didn't tell the kids I put cheese in the middle until they were already raving over them (because sometimes they don't like cheese on their burgers) and when they found out, they thought it was pretty darn neat. And their father said it was the best burger he's had. Yes, they went over that well! I like to make it fun for the kids and arrange the dinner table like a burger bar so they can decorate their own. Good times, indeed. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Cooking Mama. They are definitely juicy and just the right flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Sloppy Joe Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This looks great but before I make it I was wanting to know if anyone had tips on converting it by using the canned Manwich instead of the packaged envelope of Manwich? I am wondering if the canned diced tomatoes and tomato paste should be omitted? Any suggests or thoughts on this would be appreciated. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Ladd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Jelly Milkshake

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Yes, refreshing even in the winter time shakes are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Ladd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jim's Old Fashioned Oyster Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Oyster Dressing is a delicious addition to any thanksgiving meal. This is a keeper. I do however make this using pepperidge Farms Seasoned white bread cubes. The reviewer Bipeman is incorrect. This is aptly named. He may call it what he prefers.. Some parts of the country call this stuffing regardless of the fact it is not stuffed in anything. The two names are interchangeable. Rating it poorly because others call it dressing is ridiculous. Just because someone calls it by a different name, does not mean it is incorrect., or that it diminishes how good this recipe is. It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Davis Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potatoes with Horseradish

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Loved them, as is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Cream Cheese Frosting II - Nuefchatel/Sucralose Variation

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Strong cream cheese flavor may not be everybody's cup of tea, but this is exactly how I like my cream cheese icing. I made a half batch with neufchatel (since that's what we had on hand) and sucralose (because sugar and I don't get along so well); the flavor is bang on. Just one note: a full sized batch of this recipe is probably about right for icing a two-layer cake. A half batch should be plenty if you're icing 12 standard-sized cupcakes. I still have some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Strong cream cheese flavor may not be everybody's cup of tea, but this is exactly how I like my cream cheese icing. I made a half batch with neufchatel (since that's what we had on hand) and sucralose (because sugar and I don't get along so well); the flavor is bang on. Just one note: a full sized batch of this recipe is probably about right for icing a two-layer cake. A half batch should be plenty if you're icing 12 standard-sized cupcakes. I still have some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It's a real lunch saver! I was working on making a casserole, chicken broccoli with rainbow pasta and forgot to defrost the broccoli, so in the mean time I fixed this sandwich for my son and he loved it! Honestly, I didn't taste it but I have made peanut butter banana sandwich at another time but I didn't think about toasting the bread, great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Ladd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Loved it!Nice and smooth and refreshing even on a snowy day. I was wanting to make the peanut butter and jelly shake but I ran out of jelly so I made jelly toast on the side with the peanut butter banana smoothie and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Ladd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
a great way to eat asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg-Free Sweet Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
A little too corny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
very good meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grape Jelly Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
too sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lasagna (no boil)

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Portuguese Kale Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
great hardy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States