Tuscaloosa - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I loved the recipe though my husband and son thought that there was too much spinach in the dish. (they don't like spinach) I followed the recipe without adding anything extra but next time, I will add thinly shredded mozzarella cheese to it and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prattville Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Morning Glory Muffins I

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I use applesauce and peanut butter for added protein. I also use whole wheat flour and flax seed. Turns out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Fantastic! I made a raspberry sauce to go with them. so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
So good and so easy! You have to try this recipe. I think it would be easy to tweak this recipe for your own tastes too. I followed as written except for adding a little onion powder. We dipped the wings in ranch dressing and barbecue sauce and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I never buy the packaged stuff anymore. My husband and I love this. We use this recipe to season one pound of meat. Sometimes I cut down on the red pepper to reduce the heat. You have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lizzy's Creamy Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Cooked it tonight for dinner. It was good. We will cook it again for sure! I followed some of the other helpful hints and we added a little white wine, and only used half the bag of onion soup mix and it turned out yummy! I cooked it with angel hair pasta and dribbled some of the sauce from the cooked chicken over the pasta and it was delish! Good recipe for young eaters too, my 4 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southern.hospitality

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I have been making gumbo for a long time. This is a good recipe for a rustic gumbo.....but only use a half cup oil and flour. The same thickening effect will happen! One cup of oil will leave oil on your teeth. This recipe after simmering is for 4 servings....that much oil is disgusting. Try a half-cup, oil/flour roux and the rest is pretty dang on point. Simple, rustic gumbo. I have made plenty of gumbo for 8-10 people with just a half cup of oil and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
SO GOOD!!!!! Just sweet enough. Compliments a white cake very well. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Cake Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
It's always a hit at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prattville Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Salad Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is for Karlee: I added different things to different "muffins" on the second try. I totally agreed with your cheddar cheese idea (thanks ;-)), but also the "needs seasoning" comment. Some experimental ones were REALLY good, the nasty bad idea ones I just won't mention... Your cheddar suggestion made me think about tuna melts, so I thought 'tangy tuna melt'. Added a few drops of liquid smoke & a dash of worcestershire. Another w/the liquid smoke alone. Another w/just steak seasoning "McCormick Spicy Steak", & 1 w/smoke + McCSS. Another w/garlic salt subbed for the regular + couple dashes cayenne. Another with a few drops of sriracha. Another w/bacon pieces(precooked, Hormel). Made a gravy dipping sauce (I'm Southern, biscuits & gravy) w/ the tuna drainage. 1-2T unsalted butter, 1-2T ww flour. Make roux, use tuna "broth" to thin. Used whole wheat flour, splenda (blend,1/2&1/2) sugar, and rf cheddar. The calories are the same, even w/the gravy. All were fantastic and super filling. Healthy except for the butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kristen's Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These are great!! I chopped up one big potato and it was just enough for me and my husband. He actually thought they were something that I had bought. He didn't realize I had made them! I added rosemary just for personal preference. I will make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken with Herbs

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is a wonderful grilled chicken recipe. I thought the amount of Balsamic would be a little tart, but actually pretty tasty. I used all fresh herbs, but had no parsley, so used cilantro instead and we loved it. I should have added a touch more kosher salt to the marinade. Next time I will add a little salt and probably add a little more olive oil. This is a very nice grilled chicken! I will save this one and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were very good. Be sure you read the directions close though I almost messed up. But they turned out Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Spaghetti Sauce II

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was so easy and way better than the usual jar. I did use tomato sauce instead of paste and added a bit of Chicken Stock to boost flavor. I also used 1 can of diced and 1 can of italian stewed. The best sauce I ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
i made this in home ec in middle school and it was so amazing i went and looked it up asap 4 years later i still think its amazing but i prefer it without the frosting because im not a big chocolate fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrandom1995

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Northport, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These were messy, but they're mozzarrella sticks, they're gonna be messy. I fried some not frozen and I fried some after, definately way easier when you freeze them. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter No-Bakes

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Good flavor, not too sweet. Probably could use more rice crispies and something to help it solidify a little more. I melted chocolate on top. Good but I don't know if I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All Day Apple Butter

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
AMAZING! I did reduce amount of sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a good recipe and it is pretty simple. I used brewed coffee rather than instant and I made my own whipped cream using heavy cream, powdered sugar, Kahlua, and coffee. The baking time was a little longer than expected but all in all it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a very simple and good recipe. I don't personally like coconut but the people I cooked it for loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States