Tuscaloosa - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

My Favorite Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
EIt was wet, very wet. It never came together as a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetGafneaBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made at 2014 Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetGafneaBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
We make this every year at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetGafneaBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I loved the recipe though my husband and son thought that there was too much spinach in the dish. (they don't like spinach) I followed the recipe without adding anything extra but next time, I will add thinly shredded mozzarella cheese to it and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prattville Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Morning Glory Muffins I

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I use applesauce and peanut butter for added protein. I also use whole wheat flour and flax seed. Turns out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chemikaj

Candied Pecans

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Yummy! Easy to make. Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chemikaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Fantastic! I made a raspberry sauce to go with them. so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
So good and so easy! You have to try this recipe. I think it would be easy to tweak this recipe for your own tastes too. I followed as written except for adding a little onion powder. We dipped the wings in ranch dressing and barbecue sauce and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I never buy the packaged stuff anymore. My husband and I love this. We use this recipe to season one pound of meat. Sometimes I cut down on the red pepper to reduce the heat. You have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lizzy's Creamy Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Cooked it tonight for dinner. It was good. We will cook it again for sure! I followed some of the other helpful hints and we added a little white wine, and only used half the bag of onion soup mix and it turned out yummy! I cooked it with angel hair pasta and dribbled some of the sauce from the cooked chicken over the pasta and it was delish! Good recipe for young eaters too, my 4 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southern.hospitality

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I have been making gumbo for a long time. This is a good recipe for a rustic gumbo.....but only use a half cup oil and flour. The same thickening effect will happen! One cup of oil will leave oil on your teeth. This recipe after simmering is for 4 servings....that much oil is disgusting. Try a half-cup, oil/flour roux and the rest is pretty dang on point. Simple, rustic gumbo. I have made plenty of gumbo for 8-10 people with just a half cup of oil and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
SO GOOD!!!!! Just sweet enough. Compliments a white cake very well. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Cake Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
It's always a hit at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prattville Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Salad Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is for Karlee: I added different things to different "muffins" on the second try. I totally agreed with your cheddar cheese idea (thanks ;-)), but also the "needs seasoning" comment. Some experimental ones were REALLY good, the nasty bad idea ones I just won't mention... Your cheddar suggestion made me think about tuna melts, so I thought 'tangy tuna melt'. Added a few drops of liquid smoke & a dash of worcestershire. Another w/the liquid smoke alone. Another w/just steak seasoning "McCormick Spicy Steak", & 1 w/smoke + McCSS. Another w/garlic salt subbed for the regular + couple dashes cayenne. Another with a few drops of sriracha. Another w/bacon pieces(precooked, Hormel). Made a gravy dipping sauce (I'm Southern, biscuits & gravy) w/ the tuna drainage. 1-2T unsalted butter, 1-2T ww flour. Make roux, use tuna "broth" to thin. Used whole wheat flour, splenda (blend,1/2&1/2) sugar, and rf cheddar. The calories are the same, even w/the gravy. All were fantastic and super filling. Healthy except for the butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kristen's Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These are great!! I chopped up one big potato and it was just enough for me and my husband. He actually thought they were something that I had bought. He didn't realize I had made them! I added rosemary just for personal preference. I will make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken with Herbs

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is a wonderful grilled chicken recipe. I thought the amount of Balsamic would be a little tart, but actually pretty tasty. I used all fresh herbs, but had no parsley, so used cilantro instead and we loved it. I should have added a touch more kosher salt to the marinade. Next time I will add a little salt and probably add a little more olive oil. This is a very nice grilled chicken! I will save this one and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were very good. Be sure you read the directions close though I almost messed up. But they turned out Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Spaghetti Sauce II

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was so easy and way better than the usual jar. I did use tomato sauce instead of paste and added a bit of Chicken Stock to boost flavor. I also used 1 can of diced and 1 can of italian stewed. The best sauce I ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
i made this in home ec in middle school and it was so amazing i went and looked it up asap 4 years later i still think its amazing but i prefer it without the frosting because im not a big chocolate fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Danielle Franklin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Northport, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These were messy, but they're mozzarrella sticks, they're gonna be messy. I fried some not frozen and I fried some after, definately way easier when you freeze them. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States