Montgomery, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Asian Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very nice flavor! I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. The flavor was good, but i think I cut it a little too thick, which was my own fault. Next time, I will slice it thinner. Overall, it's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Oriental Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
It's a great dipping sauce! Unlike just soy sauce alone, it adds a very nice sweet, tangy flavor to whatever you choose to dip. I personally used crab rangoon from this website, and it was a hit. It is a versatile Asian style dipping sauce. I used the low sodium soy sauce, and unlike some reviewers, I didn't think it was overly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Chinese Almond Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is an excellent and easy cookie. I followed the recipe exactly. There is definitely a light almond flavor if you use 1tsp of flavoring, similar to the cookies that you would find in your Chinese restaurants, but for those of you that are wanting a really strong almond flavored cookie, then you may want to increase it to 2tsp like other reviewers did. I really like the fact that the saltiness very gently stood out, giving it that salty/sweet flavor. My husband loved them and mentioned that they tasted "just as I would expect them to taste". He said they would be good in the morning with coffee too. My only recommendation would be to go very lightly on the egg white rub. I got a little carried away, and made it a little too thick on a few cookies, which caused a blotchy, brown appearance. Just give it a very light, equal coating and it will give a nice shiny appearance on top. Great cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I love this cake and so does everyone I share it with! Sometimes I replace half the oil with unsweetened applesauce and half the white sugar with brown and it still tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peachy Bread Pudding with Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I had a lot higher expectations for this dish. I was hoping it would be super flavorful and more exotic than just a regular bread pudding. I love bread pudding, and this one was just ok. I hardly tasted any of the peaches, so that definitely needs to be increased. Once the sauce was cooked, it didn't have a bit of rum flavor to it, so if you like rum, that will need to be increased. The bread pudding cooked nicely and accurately, but I felt like the top sauce overwhelmed it with too much sweetness. I should have gone sparingly instead of pouring the whole amount on top. Overall, it tasted like typical, ordinary bread pudding. To be more accurate to it's title, it will definitely need some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Country Green Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I spent time reading reviews before making this dish. As the majority of you stated, it is better to substitute bacon for ham and broth for water, so that is exactly what I did. In fact, I got a head start on making this dish early in the day for a party that evening, so I mixed up the beans, onion, garlic and bacon early in the day and stored in the refrigerator to let them marinate, and right before cooking, I added the broth and butter. My only complaint was the amount of butter. The green beans were absolutely coated and tasted and looked greasy. It made it less appealing, and the following day, there was congealed butter at the bottom of the tupperware dish. Next time, I will double the broth and omit the butter completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

World's Best Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I have to admit that I was a little skeptical that it wouldn't be flavorful without pickles in it, and I even bought stuff to "fancy" it up, like bacon, cheese, pickles, etc. However, it seriously didn't need it, and I never added it. The dressing really stood out and the vinegar in it gave that powerful flavor, which is the reason you don't need the pickles. Plus, the crunch of the celery and onions are all you need, and the celery gives it a touch of color. In fact, you could probably even reduce the amount of dressing unless you really like creamy potato salad because some people may even find it too creamy. I fortunately saw the review from the creator of this recipe to add celery seed to the dressing because she forgot to add it to the list of ingredients. The only thing that I didn't do exactly by the recipe was to omit the butter because I just didn't think it was necessary. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Pecan Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
WOW! These really did taste like half muffin/half pecan pie! Very awesome. I put them in for the suggested 20min and they cooked perfectly. People LOVED them! My only suggestion for next time would be to lower the amount of butter. I felt like they were oily when I took each bite. In fact, when I went to heat up the leftovers in the microwave the following day, butter pooled at the bottom of the plate, and if I lightly squeezed the muffin, then butter would squirt out. The batter was liquid enough that I think cutting it down by a bit would be all you need to do, and I bet they'd be just as great and a little bit healthier. UPDATE: I made them again last night, using only 1/3c butter instead of 2/3c. They cooked wonderfully and were still moist. Cutting the butter down was the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Apricot Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Very nice. These had a nice shortbread flavor, not being too sweet, and the light, tangy flavor of the apricot was a delicious pairing. My only dislike was the appearance of the moon-shape with the apricot spewing out. I ended up doing half of them just like the recipe, and the other half I made into full circles and lightly covered then entire area without folding over. I then added the powdered sugar and found the circles to be much more appealing. Overall, great recipe!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Coconut Tilapia with Apricot Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This dish was another crowd pleaser in my family. My husband LOVED it! The sauce was really good and the sweetness of the apricot jam stood out more than I thought it would once I mixed it with the other spicy ingredients. In fact, I bought the reduced sugar version of jam, and it was delicious. Instead of dipping, we poured it on top of the fish because it was that good! I did choose to bake instead of fry, but all of the ingredients and preparation were left the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm giving it 4 stars based on following the recommendations of the reviewers, but to give it 5 stars, I would still continue to modify the recipe. For 4 pieces of chicken, I doubled the spices except I left the salt as is because people complained that it was too salty. I LOVED the flavor and light heat; however; it was STILL too salty. For 5 stars, the salt content would still have to be reduced. I liked it more than my husband, who said it was "just ok". In fact, he ended up pouring salsa, a bit of sour cream, and cheese on top and said that it was pretty good. It's an easy dish, and I would make again, but I would definitely reduce the salt even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This dish was a million times more amazing than I originally thought it was going to be. I bought the chunkiest salsa that I could find (Pace Chunky salsa & La Victoria Thick and Chunky Salsa are both great). When baking, it left large chunks of onion and peppers on the chicken which was awesome to bite into. It also made the house smell so good while cooking. My husband ranked this easy dish as the best chicken recipe that he has ever had...and he talked about it ALL night long! We will definitely make it again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This Bama boy says "Darn good". I don't need to rehash what everyone else has said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Banana Bran Muffins

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
GREAT recipe! I doubled the amount of bananas & cut back a little on the cinnamon. I want to try it without the egg to make it vegan for my daughter. Very fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catmiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caprese Burger

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheVerloren

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Oven-Roasted Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was an extremely tasty dish, and my husband loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and the type of sausage was a perfect fit, which nicely complimented the roasted vegetables. I intentionally bought a yellow pepper for the added color, since the red and green were brought out by the tomatoes and zucchini. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is an awesome recipe that the whole family loves. I tweaked it a little with more seasonings and occasionally add veggies. There are never leftovers of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon with Creamy Pesto Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Typically, my husband is hard to impress when it comes to my cooking, but he really enjoyed this salmon recipe. I cooked it exactly by the directions, using the very flavorful Buitoni pesto with basil that you can easily find in your local grocery store; however, I tasted the final sauce beforehand (which was tasty), but I felt like it was missing 1 ingredient...garlic. I then chopped up 1 large clove of garlic and added it to the sauce. Extra delicious! I paired it with a garden salad. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Banana Custard Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
ALWAYS THE "BEST OLD FASHIONED RECIPE"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

ITALIAN LIVER

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is a FANTASTIC Liver recipe; especially for those that dislike the liver taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States