Montgomery, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Smooth Sweet Tea

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I wanted to see how close this tea was to the tea that I was raised on in Alabama. I was very pleasantly surprised. The proportions of ingredients are perfect. It's definitely sweet, without being painfully sweet. It's the perfect drink to sip on while you are sitting on the front porch! My 5 year old son tried it, and LOVED it! You made this Alabama girl proud! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Like many other reviewers I felt the need to add more squash... like 2 more cups, in fact. Also more cheese, and onion, and crackers for that matter. It certainly would NOT have filled a 9X13 if I hadn't. I kicked up the seasoning a notch and added a few diced jalapenos from our garden. I really like that you don't boil everything to death in this recipe, and the light saute takes so much less time than the boiling aspect. Also, if you add the extra portions of those ingredients that I mentioned, the casserole needs to cook for about 40 minutes, not 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

HERDEZ® Creamy Tomatillo Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
When I saw this recipe posted on the main page, I was so intrigued that I went to the store, bought the ingredients and made it that night. It took me a few minutes to find the cooking sauce because I was just overlooking it among all of the salsas, but I eventually found it in the Hispanic foods section in Safeway. I thought it was really good, and very easy to prepare. It had a very small bit of spiciness to it, and I knew my husband liked a bit more of a kick, so I added a touch of cayenne pepper to it. I made tostadas, and poured the sauce over the top. So good. Honestly, I thought my husband would rave over it a bit more than he actually did, but he did mention that he liked it. We have a lot of it left over, so I'm going to use the rest as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I couldn't find Ziti pasta in the store, so the closest I came up with was Rigatoni. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! I had cooked it with intentions of having left overs for a little while, but my husband devoured so much of it, that we barely had any leftovers for the following day! :) He is already asking for me to bake it again! This was such an easy dish to prepare, and it is one that is definitely good to present to guests. Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This review is only based on the pie filling and cooking times/temp. This is the first berry pie that I have ever made. It was AMAZING and it was so simplistic! I loved the fact that there was only 1/2 of sugar to 4.5 cups of berries. The consistency was perfect, the cooking time was great. I had rave reviews in my home! My husband said it's the best berry pie he has ever tasted. I went easy this time(because it was 100 degrees in our house), and used a pre-made pie crust and did latice work with the second pre-made pie crust, but next time, I will have to give this pie crust recipe a try as well. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I made it using light mayo and it worked just fine. One suggestion, depending on how many pieces you are going to prepare, do not try to coat more than 3 pieces at a time. Also, use a good zip lock bag and tumble/shake them fairly gently. Believe me, you will LIKE this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

TV's Grits Casserole

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This recipe has been in my recipe box for quite some time, so I finally decided to give it a try last night. It was pretty good and my husband seemed to like it. My only reservation is that the soup just gets spread on top of the meat/grits mixture instead of mixing in, so that when I cut into it, there was a soupy layer oozing out above the grits. Next time, I think I would just mix the soup with the grits before baking. Also, I don't know if it's a mistake, but the directions say to let the grits simmer for about 30 minutes. Typically, grits are done after about 4-5 minutes. I didn't want to risk burning them, so I removed them after 4 minutes, which is the only change I made to the recipe. Overall, it's not a bad little recipe, but it didn't excite me too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I read the other reviews about roasting at 400 and I'm glad I did, some of the pieces were blackened even at the lower temp. Was a little lacking in flavor, next time I will double the garlic and add other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Meredith Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I put bread underneath to soak up grease and put the brown sugar and ketchup on the top per the reviews. Also, from the tips section, I added one shredded carrot to sneak-in some vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Mannor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was so much easier than I ever thought it would be, and it got RAVE reviews. I found the soft ladyfingers in our local grocery store bakery section. As most of the reviewers did, I doubled the coffee/rum mixture, but left everything else the same. I also followed the review to make it the day before because the flavors blend better over time. I think it's definitely important to use an electric mixer for this type of recipe, because you want to obtain that rich, creamy consistency for each layer. Oh, and I also read that it's better to sprinkle the cocoa on before serving, or else it gets soggy looking. Great recipe. If you want to impress people, this is the recipe to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Caramelized Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
With such a high star rating and so many reviews I had high hopes for these. I should have heeded the reviews and adjusted accordingly. These were entirely too sweet, even the kids didn't enjoy them. Will decrease PB to 1Tbs, add some heat & see if they're better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Meredith Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA

Crispy Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe! This chicken is just like this Alabama boy grew up eating from time to time. Veggie oil works good, but you need to try this recipe with Crisco.. try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I didn't read the reviews ahead of time like I usually do, so I followed the recipe to a T, and realized that the author had posted a correction that it should have been cooked on low instead of high. Oops! I cooked for about 3 hours on high, and then switched to low for the last hour when I noticed it. It cooked nicely anyway, and sliced well. It would shred well if you wanted to do that too, but I kept them in slices for the most part. The sauce was quite tasty, but next time, I think I will add even more onions. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Doughnut Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I've waited several months to make this because I wanted to serve it for Christmas, and it definitely met my expectations. I bought a dozen Krispie Kreme glazed doughnuts, which is the best of the best in my opinion. I used all 12, so I tripled the recipe, which was perfect for a 9x13in baking dish. I followed the recipe exactly, omitting the optional sugar because I didn't think it was necessary, and it was wonderful. It actually wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be. It cooked beautifully, and the appearance was quite attractive as well. I usually add a glaze to bread puddings, but I didn't for this recipe, and I don't think it needed it. However, if you want to, I think it would be good too. Great recipe! I may have to always use doughnuts from now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Almond Tea Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is such an amazingly flavorful, yet simple little cookie, and the proportions were perfect. The almond extract was tasty, yet not too overpowering. The saltiness stood out as well, which I really like. My personal preference was to take this cookie one notch further and add pecans, rather than almonds for an additional flavor blast. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Brussels Sprouts ala Angela

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Ever since I was a child, I have always been under the impression that brussel sprouts are not good. However, now that I'm an adult, I've recently had the desire to give them a second chance. I picked this recipe because anything tastes better with bacon! :) This dish was absolutely delicious, and both my husband and I couldn't get enough! I now have a new appreciation for brussel sprouts. Thank you Angela for changing my mind! I am forever grateful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Rebecca's Wild Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Loved this recipe! I used chicken broth instead of beef consomme and had to cook it at least 30 more minutes, adding more chicken broth but it was incredibly good! Fixed it for Thanksgiving and there was very little left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catmiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
followed the exact recipe. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky

Fried Venison Backstrap

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Oh my Goodness! My husband says this is the BEST meal I've cooked yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Slapout, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky

Easy Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
So easy! I added a sour cream topping and some lemon zest. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Slapout, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States