Montgomery, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Tried this tonight, and it was fabulous. I changed it a little, using cream of chicken soup and adding some salt, garlic, and onion powder in the bread crumbs. I also pan-cooked the chicken in grapeseed oil with salt and pepper. Just the two of us almost demolished the entire thing, and we most decidedly WILL be eating this again. VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mountain Apple Cobbler

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These things are so delicious, and they are devoured whenever I make them. I followed other suggestions and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. The last time I made them, I added 1/2 tsp ground ginger to the cinnamon/butter mixture, and everyone said it tasted even better. I might go as high as 1 tsp ginger next time, but will definitely add ginger to them in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this for my wife, paired with roasted potatoes and pan-cooked tilapia filets, and she loved the stuff. She ate two helpings, and only stopped because she was stuffed. Personally, I think it needed more salt, and maybe a bit more seasoning in general. For me it was a 3 recipe, while my wife thought it was a 5.. hence the 4 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin_Mama86

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very easy and delicious. I too, made a few teeny tiny changes to the original recipe. For starters, I used ground chicken instead of beef. I also used Fiesta ranch seasoning packet. I added 1/2 can of diced jalapeños. I used Southwestern Corn, black chili beans, and chili kidney beans. My tomatoes were salsa ready which gave it a taco like flavor. I did not use water because I forgot. I browned the chicken with onions, garlic and the taco seasoning. Threw it all in a pot for 45 min on medium and that was it. Very good and will keep as a staple. Hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin_Mama86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Spinach Artichoke Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Amazing!!! I have to disagree with everyone who thinks there is too much spinach. It's a perfect, creamy consistency. I actually prefer a chopped yellow onion instead of the green, and I totally forgot to add the crispy onions at the end, but I honestly don't even think it needs the topping. My only concern is that half an hour of cooking didn't seem long enough. I ended up leaving it in for 1 hour, which I think might have been too much. Next time I make it, I think I will leave it in for about 45 minutes. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Amazing! My sister said this is the best sweet potato casserole she has ever had, and it was her favorite dish at Christmas. I followed the directions exactly. Since it was for Christmas, I used whole milk and regular buttermilk, which I normally don't do. It was delicious. This will by my go-to sweet potato dish from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Swedish Christmas Glogg

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a delicious recipe as is. I actually prefer to use red table wine in place of the port because port + all of that sugar is just too sweet for me. In fact, I typically use red table wine and only 1/4 cup of sugar. I also prefer not to add the brandy. It is SUPER strong with just the wine and the rum. Depending on who I serve it to, I would leave the rum as is for those who like stronger drinks, but when my parents come over, I reduce the rum a bit. The smell of this drink is amazing. It's perfect for Christmas evening!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Grandma's Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was unique and good. It's as if you are eating a custard pudding with pieces of corn throughout. Other reviewers mentioned that it had too much corn, but I disagree. I think it's a good and super easy side dish to make for Thanksgiving or Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Holiday Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe is a good start, but if following the recipe exactly, I would rate it a 3-4 star recipe...it's too soupy, and not nearly enough cornbread or flavor. I've made some changes to turn it into a 5 star recipe. In fact, with these changes, this is by far the best stuffing recipe I've ever had! Modifications: 1) Crumble and use 1lb of cornbread. 2) Reduce bread to 8 pieces (I prefer sourdough bread). 3) Use 1 onion, 5-6 celery stalks, and 1 green pepper very finely chopped.4) Cut butter to 1/2 cup. 5) Increase sage to 1 Tbsp, 6) Use sage sausage 7) Cook at 350. 8) Reduce to 1.5 to 2 cups of stock. 8) Add 2-3 hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Great Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent! Not dry like others......as long as you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent. Less dry than others, if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Party Mimosa

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe was great with our breakfast casserole! I always thought a mimosa was just OJ + champagne, so when I read this, it peaked my interest. Unfortunately, my grocery store didn't have the apricot-mango nector. Fortunately, I found Mango Pineapple juice, so I used 24 ounces of that, and it tasted great! I also read that a reviewer put raspberries in hers, so I plopped 2 raspberries in each of my crystal glasses...it was pretty. :) I will definitely make this again when I want to have a fancy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
taste like melted velveeta. Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snow on the Mountain Green Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this as a side dish for some grilled pork chops, and they were fabulous. The combo of lemon juice and feta worked well with the fresh green beans. This is something we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I fixed this recipe exactly as stated and it was so bland I had to add a bunch of seasonings. Definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Maddox
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Meatloaf in the Whole Wide World!

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was very flavorful and good, but I don't know if I would rank it "the best". However, it is definitely approved by a 5 year old; my husband said the meat was good, but the topping was a little too sweet for him. Here's a small tip for anyone who is in a hurry...instead of preparing the topping first, start by preparing the meat first, so that while the meat is in the oven for 30 min, THEN you can be multi-tasking and mixing the topping. It saved me several minutes! Also, I think that next time, I would put the bacon in the meat, rather than on top. The flavor of the bacon got completely lost in all of the sweetness. Overall it was a fun little recipe to try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Savory Onion Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I baked this bread this past Saturday, and it came out great. I made it according to the recipe, with no mods, and my wife and I loved it. I used it in an appetizer... sliced long slices of the bread, buttered both sides and toasted in a stovetop pan, then coated with brown mustard, layered thinly sliced roast beef on it, and topped with salt, freshly ground black pepper, and provolone cheese. It also went well with home-made potato soup. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wasn't very impressed. I didn't have turkey drippings, so I bought the unsalted chicken stock from the grocery store (which maybe that is where I went wrong). I followed the recipe exactly, and even added the seasoned salt, since I did use the unsalted stock. The flavor was ok, but it was as thin as water, and the color wasn't impressive. I stood there and stirred forever, and finally pulled out the corn starch, and THAT didn't even thicken it up to a normal consistency. I ended up putting it on the table anyway for the whole family, and I am the only person that tried it. The appearance must have turned everyone else off. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The flavor of this recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe, using recommendations from the reviewers. I will be making this again, but next time, I may do a few things different. My biggest issue with it was the consistency...there is so much going on, such as meat, cranberries, bread,etc, that it just kind of crumbled into a not so "stuffing-like" mixture of stuff. I don't want to remove any of the flavors, but next time, I may increase the bread in order to see if I can make it into a more traditional consistency. Secondly, the liver got lost in all of the flavors, so I don't think it is necessary. I will leave it out next time. As reviewers suggested, I tried sourdough bread, which was awesome; I bought the sage sausage, so I decreased the real sage by 1/2tsp, and I added pecans to the mix. Since I didn't have a turkey to stuff, I poured 2 and 3/4cups of turkey stock over the mixture and cooked for 40 min covered at 350 and then an additional 20 min uncovered. I got rave compliments. This is my new go-to recipe for stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. Add or delete to your taste, but I love it as is. I also use it with chickpeas instead of chicken for a great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States