Mobile - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

My Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
My daughter said, they deserve a 10 out of 5, lol. I agree they are Great, but I would cut back on the cayenne just a bit. My homemade tarter sauce and my Southwestern Bean Salad did help the heat, so I did really enjoy them. Looks like I'm making them again on her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Kiwi Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This was nice on grilled fish but Very Spicy!!!! I had to add extra honey just to cool it down and I had only added half of the onion that it called for. Not sure if we would have enjoyed with chips, but the fish is a yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Oh WOW! really good! Made this 3 times. Ended up using lime juice, more mushrooms, 1-1/2 cup bread crumbs with 1 cup shredded parmesan. This remaining crumb mixture just sprinkled over chicken once in pan. But there is nothing wrong with this as is. Just tweeked a bit to our preference. So yummy! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Semmes, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I like having the option to make seasoning packs myself as i already have all this on hand. This is good. Made per the recipe. However, seems like too much sugar and needed more hot stuff. Next time, I'm going to try a teaspoon of sugar and 1-1/2 tablespoons each of chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Semmes, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kevin's Ham Ball

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I made this one time..so far... served it at a party and it was the hit of the party, everyone wanted the recipe, I highly recommend this cheese ball, it is not your typical " Hickory Farms Cheese Ball" I will make it again, and I am not sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin McRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Roasted New Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
These turned out really well. The 450 degree temp is the key. I also tossed some carrots in there and they baked very well along with the potatoes. Be sure to coat with oil so they don't dry out and shrivel up. Will make again, over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fire-Roasted Tomato and Spinach Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Delish, Make sure you use Creamed Spinach(not plain), I made my own and I accidentally used Fire-Roasted Peppers instead of Tomatoes, but it was really good, and don't forget the parm on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
We really loved this. Only 2 of us so I did half the recipe and only cooked 40 mins. Kept to the recipe except for just a couple of things. Used gr. turkey just because we prefer over gr. beef and I did add some onion and garlic while browning the meat. Will make again!! Oh, I didn't have any Chipotle gr. pepper so subbed some Chipotle hot sauce, worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Italian-Seasoned Baked Eggplant

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I was so excited about trying this recipe as all 3 reviews were 5's. Well, not sure what happened but mine didn't turn out as well. I kept to the recipe, only change was I forgot to oil the pan(I did brush the tops), so when I flipped them half way through I brushed EVOO on the tops. I will say I had some that didn't fit into the oven so I pan fried them and we both agreed those were 5's but not the ones from the oven. Sorry, but the other two recipes I tried from this site were much better as written. So if trying this recipe, maybe you should pan fry. The breading is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Love it, usually use olive oil but this was a nice change. No changes needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Yummy White Bean Chili

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
It's true this has so much flavor. We loved it. I kept to the recipe, except to my dismay, I thought I had hominy and I didn't so I subbed garbanzo beans. Wasn't sure how it would do but they worked. At the time of serving, I took the cook's suggestion and added sour cream, lime and cilantro to each bowl. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Roasted Parmesan Asparagus

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Did not steam. I also didn't use the lemon, just my preference. Baked them at 475 for 5 mins and then turned oven off and left in for another 5 mins. They were good but not as good as the other recipes I've had from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This is the best cobbler recipe I have ever tasted or made, and being from the south, that says it all. I didn't change one thing about the recipe, but wished I had doubled the dough recipe as others have done previously according to the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly Meatloaf with Blue Cheese, Mushrooms, and Spinach

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Very nice and different from the normal meatloaf. I kept to the recipe. I loved the unique flavor. I myself would cut back just a dash on the cayenne but my daughter said no it was just right. We did both agree that we would add just a bit more blue cheese next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I stuck to the recipe and the broth of this soup is Amazing! The only reason I gave it a four was I would next time put some of the veggies in a little later so they have some texture left or not cook as long. Also the bean mixture I had was mixed with split peas and I think that next time I'll try with only whole beans. I did use left over ham but it was honey cured and I think I would prefer not having the sweetness and no spiral cut next time, I'd rather have chunks. The long time of cooking just melted most things too much together. This takes a lot of time but with the right beans and ham this would be a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Roast with Gravy

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this just like the recipe except I used " Better then Bouillon" with less salt and I used a slow cooker after browning it first, very good, the coffee really made the difference. Very tender, made a great gravy. I served it with sweet peas, mashed potato's and biscuits, talk about comfort food. I will make it again and again, would be a perfect meal for a cold winter's night. Thank you for posting it Laura. If you like shrimp try my "Kevin's Seashells" let me know what you think by reviewing it, but please use fresh shrimp, not canned. Kevin P.S This Roast makes great leftovers... Open Faced roast beef sandwich with Swiss Cheese, Roast and Gravy Noodles, Roast & Gravy Rice. Serve with Pillsbury Corn Biscuits, Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin McRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This came out very well. Wet with Worcestershire and dry rubbed and let it sit overnight beforehand. I made it in the oven and baked it for 1.5 hours at 350 until it reached about 138 degrees, then took it out and let it rest for 15 minutes. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New England Clam Chowder II

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I'm giving it a 3 as is for chowder, maybe a 4 as a base and you can add your own extras, like I did after I finished cooking it. After tasting it I added some onion salt, celery salt, thyme and a dash of savory. I also mashed up some of the potatoes after they softened to thicken the chowder up, it worked great. I did use the clam juice from the cans and I'm glad I did, it helped the taste. I did forget the parsley at the end. I'll make again, using this as a base and add my own seasonings. Might even add another can of clams. Make sure you don't use large potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Chicken or Turkey Tetrazzini Deluxe

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Kept right with the recipe, except I halved it. You need to take note that the original is for 12 people. I used leftover Rotisserie Chicken for mine and it was great! Luckily the water had already been taken away from the recipe. That's why so many comments talked about it being watery, so no need to cut back on any liquid anymore. I loved the sherry flavor and I'm glad I stuck to the cream of mushroom, they mixed nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Vera Cruz Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
These were wonderful. I used Romas and they worked great! I too put the cheese into the mixture and it made it cheesy throughout. No need to change anything, but after eating one I added some garlic salt to the second and it gave it something extra. Ate with a Blackened Ribeye. Keep the same as written or make your own. Next time, I think I might even use blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States