Mobile - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Honey Glazed Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband loved this and said I wish you had made 4 chicken breasts instead of just two, then we could have had leftovers. I amended the recipe slightly based on some of the other reviews. I had red plum jelly in the fridge, so I used that instead of apple. I melted the jelly in the microwave just a bit, to make it easier to glaze the chicken. Hubby grilled in on the gas grill, we heated up the glaze to make it safe to eat and used it as a sauce. Yum, yum, good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Old Fashioned Macaroni & Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Very similar to other recipes, but I never saw it written down until I made my mother tell me how to make it! That's the way it has stayed, too. Hand written on a 3 x 5 card in my recipe file, frayed, spotted, and hard to read now 35 years later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Old Fashioned Tennessee Boiled Custard

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My Aunt used to make this recipe and I have only seen it one other time in a recipe book or website. It's easier to make than most of the other recipes I've checked and OH so good!! Served over vanilla ice cream is the best way to eat (drink) it and all my family wants it every major holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Family Cornbread Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Cooked for us the first time by my sweet daughter-in-law and now adopted for our family holiday dinners. The fruit gives the dressing a lot of interest and is more than the traditional cornbread dressing of old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Mom's Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Simple to make! Recipe handed down from my mother and I have no idea where she got it, but its very flavorful and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Savory Green Vegetables

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This has a wonderful flavor and can be eaten warm or cold. It's a favorite every time I serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Awesome base recipe! I used 4 oz of cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup heavy cream,1 cup milk, 1/2 parmesan,3/4 mozerella and garlic salt. added cooked chicken and mushrooms. great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rob&jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Had some apple cider left over from the cold weather and was looking for a recipe to help use it up. This was a nice find. I adjusted the recipe for 4 chops, I had two large bone-in chops. The sauce was very flavorful. It did take me 20 mins to reduce to a glaze, no cornstarch needed as some said they used. Just be patient, it's worth the flavor. When browning the chops, make sure not to over cook and you'll have juicy chops. Worked well with a nice fruity white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Rutabaga Oven Fries

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I bought a rutabaga for the first time the other day and decided to try cooking one. Found this recipe and decided to try. I love the distinct flavor of the rutabaga and coating with the rosemary and garlic worked well. The only con was that they didn't get as crunchy as I'm use to with fries. I cooked 30 mins and then flipped and cooked another 10 mins. I may have had too many on the pan, because they were close together and maybe that's why they weren't as crunchy or maybe this is just how they are. They were a great snack though, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Grilled Sea Bass

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Nice change from the way I usually fix my sea bass. We caught these on our last deep sea fishing trip. I doubled the seasonings that was sprinkled on the fish due to other comments, glad I did, but kept the same measurements with the butter mixture. I had a lot of cilantro on hand so I subbed that for the parsley (just my preference). I then poured the butter mixture over the top and baked at 400 for 13 mins.(The time all depends on your fish thickness, adjust and don't over cook.) I didn't need all the olive oil that was called for, just put enough in the bottom of the pan to coat if baking. Mine weren't thick cuts so I don't think it would have done well on the grill, hence the baking. These came out Wonderful. Thicker cuts would be great on the grill. I feel this would work well on several different types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Apple Cranberry Relish

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
PERFECT AT THANKSGIVING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Venison Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Very nice, had some nice changes from my own recipe. I did half the recipe for us. This is my new recipe to use, just made it again a 2nd time, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
So good and easy. I got five stars from my picky daughtet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mobile Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Spinach

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I love all the garlic! Use fresh garlic instead of minced from a jar. It made a nice difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Healthier Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe. I love the fact that ground turkey was used. The cheeses and the sour cream worked well together. I will say that I didn't use fat-free sour cream though, used the real stuff. I also got a little confused when layering the items so I ended up just mixing them all together except for the last two. At the end I did add 8oz of shredding mozzarella and then sprinkled the parm on top. I listened to some others and shredded the carrots instead of slicing. I had some mushrooms that I needed to use up so I chopped up about 3-4oz of mushrooms and sauteed them with the onions and I also added 2 cloves of garlic(got to add garlic when using onions). It really was a great dish and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Oven SPAM® Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been a Spam lover since I was a child, so I'm always looking for something new to do with it. I sliced and browned the Spam before I cubed it because I thought that would enhance it's flavor. I was surprised that the rolls crisped because I thought they'd get soggy. That was a plus. On the other hand, I'd say the sandwiches were only so-so. If I made them again I'd leave the browned Spam slices intact and use less cheese. I thought the cheese and relish flavor overwhelmed the flavor of the Spam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach-and-Mushroom-Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
These were good tasting, but I wouldn't say amazing. Even though I did add garlic salt and pepper to the chops before browning, If I made them again I would certainly give the chops some more seasoning. They did come out tender and juicy and the stuffing was wonderful. The chops just needed something more. I didn't have the dried cherries so I dried some apples in my dehydrator to use here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Baked Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I was really pleased with how this tasted. My only change was adding 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes since I didn't have cayenne pepper. I did chop the coconut in the food processor, and then added the flakes to mix better. It just needed 7 minutes each side. My were a crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My grown daughter ALWAYS uses A1 on her steaks, even when I believe the steaks are amazing. Tonight I asked her to try her steak before adding sauce. She was amazed and put up the A1. I'm in shock! So as for her 5 stars. I normally myself just use garlic salt, pepper and maybe a few other seasonings or McCormick Steak Seasoning and I'm happy. I don't ever use steak sauce. For me this marinade was just ok,(I thought it needed something else or maybe it had too much of something, basil maybe) I'd give it a 3, so I'm rating it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States