Huntsville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I added peas and grilled chicken. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was amazing. My first time ever eating or cooking spaghetti squash. I modified a little bit, actually left out the olive oil for the end, only used two teaspoons of butter, and one teaspoon of pesto. Little dashes of everything else, and it was fantastic :) I think I'll make this for the next family reunion or get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash Primavera

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was very good. I added an extra clove of garlic, used only half of a large sweet onion, cooked the spaghetti squash for 10 min in microwave and added 1 1/2 cups of drained canned diced tomatoes. Served as a side dish to hamburger steak. Don't bother peeling the zucchini. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent basic recipe, which you can easily adjust for quantity, taste and calorie count. Homemade chicken stock will provide a different, possibly more concentrated flavor. I nixed the cilantro and added more fresh garlic, plus a few more personal choices (fat free evaporated milk, fresh cracked pepper, etc.) and served with warm whole wheat bread, garlic butter with shredded cheese (sharp cheddar)& minced green onion available. Tweak away... they will gobble it up! Oh, I dropped a star for overall prep time and IMO avoidable calorie/bad fat count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Photo by MommySmith

Cheesecake-Stuffed Strawberries

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I didn't have graham crackers (couldn't get any either since we are currently snowed in) so I just dipped and drizzled Godiva milk chocolate on them, mixed filling in my food processor with the hulled part of strawberries thrown in too. I suggest serving with a side of whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made for Christmas brunch. Was a big hit even with the little ones ---absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mother's Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Just made these pancakes for breakfast. Very thick. I had to thin out the batter with more milk. Next time I make them I won't use as much flour. We loved them. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyJem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe for Chicken Corn Chowder. I made the recipe just about as described, but also added about a cup of chopped cilantro, some bacon, paprika, a chopped serrano pepper, and some chipotle Tabasco to give it a little Southwestern flavor. After I also put it in the crock pot for for about 4 hours on High. We ate our chowder with some chopped cilantro, too. Husband agreed that this recipe is a winner. Will definitely make this chowda again! Thank you so much for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe! My family loved it too. Easy, quick, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis K. Klinedinst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Beer Can Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this twice. The first time I cooked at too high of temp and totally burned the skin. Even so, the meat was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis K. Klinedinst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup with Lemon

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious. Used dried cilantro toward the beginning rather than fresh at the end, "better than bouillon" vegetarian "chicken" broth, and a bit more cumin and chile powder and water. Forgot to purée and add the lemon and we scarfed it down before realizing it - then, for the small bit left I did so and couldn't believe it got even better! Doesn't make enough - will definitely make again and double or triple it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is an all-time favorite!! I got it from a good friend many years ago and can't tell you how many times I have shared with other friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith

Doggie Biscuits I

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Combining the suggestions of several reviewers, add some fresh minced garlic (known to repel fleas) and use meat greese (adds shine and reduce shedding to your dog's coat). I highly suggest substituting broth for water to increase flavor. Reduce the broth/water to 1/2c, cook for 15-20 minutes. Reducing the water makes the dough easier to handle and quicker cook time in the oven. My dog absolutely loves these and she is really picky. Handed these out for Christmas because all my family members have dogs too. Just tie a string around them in a bow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by MommySmith

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I love how easy and affordable these tasty treats are! Gave them as a Christmas present so I used holiday color semi-sweet chips which have red and green mixed in with the chocolate. Made them even more attractive and festive. I come from a family of foodies and all of them (including me!) never thought of saltines for a dessert. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I love this recipe.... and it gets 5 stars because I know to add about 2" chunk of Velveeta Cheese cut into small pieces and added to the cheese sauce. This makes the cheese sauce nice and creamy!!! Thank you for a great recipe. It was loved this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith

Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very moist and full of flavor. It was extremely easy to make. This recipe doesn't call for seasonings because your using leftovers. If you make without leftovers, season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good! I used the flour as suggested and but subbed the 1/2 and 1/2 for 1c coconut milk and 2c heavy whipping cream. It took about 20-25min. of constant stirring to boil on low. I am a novice cook and it was pretty easy for me, but I am so glad I did not quit stirring before it boiled on low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leticiapouliot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wow,we love this cake! This is the very first time ever i made a carrot cake like this and not from the Box. It came out very good and moist, crispy on the outside and nice looking texture. And the icing....all i can say is: To die for...Love it, love it, love it!!!The butter in the icing gives it a good taste, almost like whipped butter cream . Happy Thanksgiving (2013) everyone. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, but altered it quite a bit, because had limited ingredients on hand. I did not use chicken, but used more Boston Butt, added 1 can regular corn and 1 can creamed corn. Added 2 large red potatoes. Reduce tomatoes to 2 cans and added 3 cups chicken stock. The BBQ sauce and ketchup are critical flavors. My family loved it and will make repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Baked Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I LOVED THESE BEANS, and after reading some of the reviews there were some hints that I really liked. I wanted to serve about 10- 15 ppl. I used two large cans of the Bush's original and one of the bold and spicy. I cooked about 4- 5 pieces of bacon that I cut into small pieces before cooking. I then sauté'd the onions in the bacon grease until translucent to lightly browned. Mix together the beans, mustard, Ketchup, molasses, SKIP the brown sugar unless you like the beans even more on the sweet sweet side. MIX IN the bacon and onions. I used at least a half of large onion, 2tbs mustard and 1/4 cup ketchup. I then placed in oven cover and bake for three hours. LOVELY smell in the house, and the taste... MMMMM fabulous!!! Tastes like you cooked them completely from scratch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States