Hoover - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Real Fig Preserves

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this after a bumper crop this summer. It turned out absolutely perfect. Unbelievable flavor. Perfect on hot buttered biscuits!!! I mash my cooked figs but do not cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daylily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fig Spice Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this without any changes in recipe at all. I did use a double walled sheetcake pan instead of tube pan, worried about scorching with fruit...It came out absolute perfect. We all loved it. Imagine would also be good with dates.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daylily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

5 No-Fuss Summer Dinners

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tconstantine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dave's Low Country Boil

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Nothin better than some low country boil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tconstantine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Try adding bananas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tconstantine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
LOVE it! Easy to put together. Spicy and sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazy for oats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Chickpea Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This was bitter and there is way to much parmesan cheese. i do not reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazy for oats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Chicken Tea Sandwiches

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made this on a whim with some left over chicken I have, and so pleasantly surprised, that decided to take to work for coworkers birthday party. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daylily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Spectacular. CAUTION: people who want to lose weight, back off. These cookies won't help... at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is such a versatile recipe--it's perfect as a side dish, main entree, a quick snack, lunch or dinner! Super quick and easy, plus is packs plenty of health benefits too! I think my favorite thing to do with this recipe is to make a large batch on Sunday and portion it out for lunches during the work week... quite budget friendly and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandahshew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These were fantastic! The only change that I made to the recipe was adding an additional garlic clove.....but that's only because I'm a garlic fanatic! The recipe is just fine without changes. After roasting Brussels sprouts for several years, I think this is my new favorite way of preparing them! Plus, I received rave reviews..... which never hurts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandahshew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken on Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Made according to the recipe, and came out with uncooked rice in soup with chicken in it. Alter it. I cooked it for a full hour. I left out one of the packets of soup mix and didn't add mushrooms... the rice didn't even cook. IF I make it again, I'll definitely do it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaiRayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

Vegan Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These are great! I would just like to say that when i made them they were a little too thick so the nest time i added a little soy milk until the batter was a little more runny and they came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA

Norwegian Flat Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
DEEELICOUS!!! these were so healthy, simple and it's bread which is good because most bread has yeast which is bad for me so I'm really happy I found this recipe. If your one of those people that want more flavor in your food amp up the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA

Garlic Butter Sauce I

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Simple, easy, delicious. Anything with this much butter is going to be high in calories though so just be aware when spooning it onto your pasta, seafood, or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Delish! I was never a big salmon fan, but I do love fish and seafood and I am trying to bring more of it in to my diet. This is definately going in the repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not a keeper. I didn't mind the taste so much but I would suggest not using packaged parmesan as it seemed to just get hard and not meld into the spinach enough on the top which gave it a weird texture. There just wasn't enough flavor for me so perhaps I'll make some adjustments and come back and re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not a big hit for the whole family but I enjoyed it. I used bowtie pasta since that's what I had on hand. It needed a little salt for my taste and was pretty good on the first day. Leftovers weren't as good but certainly fine for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best City Chicken

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I followed this recipe down to every last detail and it turned out yummy and was a big hit with my family. I didn't incorporate any of the other suggestions in the reviews and I was completely satisfied with how it turned out. I found the water in the bottom of the pan to be a little odd but tried it anyway. Next time, I'll try it without and see what the difference is. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tropical Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
delicious on basmati rice!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States