Gadsden, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILuv2EatSoIGottaCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Patties With Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I used a different recipe for the salmon patties but wanted a sauce for them. This dill sauce made the recipe! YUMMY! It's a keeper! The only thing I changed is I added some lime juice (didn't have lemon) only because I thought it would be good. Don't judge the dill sauce on its own. You don't have the full effect of the yumminess until you eat it with the salmon patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELIEGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

Chocolate Chess Pie III

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I make these pies all the time. Use a REGULAR sized pie crust. There is not enough filling to cover two deep dish crusts. You must use REAL butter, not margarine. Make sure you follow the directions as printed. Once the batter is mixed, pour into the two crusts very fast. The batter separates very quickly due to the 4 eggs and large amount of butter. Cook the pies a little longer than recommended to make sure the center is cooked. When you cut into the cooled pie, you should see two layers. The chocolate layer on top and the custard layer that settles to the bottom. I had to make this recipe several times to perfect it, but I get raves everytime I make it! Be patient and measure carefully when you bake. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Hodnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breaded Hamburgers

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I don't eat meat, but my husband said it was good. The onions soften as the cook, so they don't support the burgers up out of the water. My burgers produced more oil while cooking in the oven so there was more liquid and the burgers got soggy on the bottom. I flipped them over and placed under the broiler till they weren't soggy. I'll cook this again but next time I'll use a broiler pain to hold the burgers up away from the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Peach and Escarole Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is amazing! I have to admit, I didn't have escarole so I used spring mix and fresh spinach. Also subbed sherry cooking wine for sherry vinegar, because I had it on hand. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jo-Ann's Power Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I am so....glad to find this recipe. I was recently in Canton Ohio on business and we ordered lunch from a neat health conscience resturant that had Power Balls. We had them and they were wonderful....this sounds as it could be the same thing and I will make them today. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jypseygal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Great dressing recipe! I had been looking for a good ranch recie and this taste great much better than store bought ranch. I used dried dill, chives, and parsley just cut tsp in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Ice Cream IV

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful vanilla recipe taste like old fashioned vanilla ice-cream I ate as a kid! Love Love Love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Apples

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Just as good as Cracker Barrell's fried apples! And it was so easy. My husband says this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I doubled the serving size from 4 to 8. Eight servings call for 6 cups of milk, I only used 4 cups and didn't have any problems with the consistency. I also added 1/2 block of cream cheese, 1 cup of mozzarella, and tablespoon of mayo. I added salt and onion powder to the pasta before combining the sauce with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe as written (except for mini chocolate chips) and made it into cupcakes with a cream cheese frosting. A huge hit at the office. This will be my "go to" chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Cake III

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made this recipe as written into cupcakes for St. Patrick's Day at work. Everyone loved them. If you like Key Lime Pie, you will love the flavor of this cake. Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Used as much of lower calorie items that I could. This has a good flavor. will keep it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Beef Bulgogi

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Easy to fix, my son didn't like it, husband said it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is an excellent way to prepare okra. I just recently roasted okra to help my mom with favorite foods as she is a diabetic. I roasted mine longer than the recipe calls for to dry it out and then continued to roast until it was crisp, propably 40 minutes total. I had a complete bread pan full and when I took it up it looked and tasted like fried okra, it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jypseygal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Peanut Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I just made the homemade peanut butter and is was so easy and taste awesome!! I made a couple of changes 1. I used canola oil and 2. I added a tablespoon of honey. I put everything in the blender an let it go. It looks as creamy and smooth as store bought and taste so much better. I used no salt roasted peanuts and it was still so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jypseygal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Beef Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Followed the recipe just as it was written, These came out of the fryer raw in the center. I put them in the oven to slow cook to get the center done, but that made the crust tough. They were very spicy. Want be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Broccoli Squares

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
very tasty, it's like a veggie pizza with a cheese sauce. I was able to use all the cheese sause by putting a heaping 1/3 cup on each rectangle. To keep the vegetable toppings from falling off gentle press them into the cheese topping just enough to hold them on. I don't know how this makes 12 servings, when the recipe only uses 8 rectangles from 2 rolls (4 rectangles each roll) the next time I make this I will use all lower calorie ingredients. This one is loaded with calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Death by Chocolate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Aunt Zula's Christmas Cutouts

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Easy to make but the flavor is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 62) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States