Florence, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tasty Collard Greens

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
My Family said they didn't like collards. But I found this recipe and they loved the collards. I cut way back on the garlic. And I don't really ever put in the turkey leg. (I found that my children like the collards better without the meat) But for better taste I add Jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Jackie's Special Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very Good recipe, I was looking for something to cook with Panko, (Japenese Bread crumbs) And there it was! My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is the best bean salad!!!! You will not be disappointed if you make it exactly to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Vicki's Hush Puppies

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very, Very good! My daughter loves them! I did make some changes though... I added 1 teaspoon of Bakeing Powder & used regular Flour instead of Self-rising flour. (they are very good when dipped in ketchup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Tiramisu Layer Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This recipe is the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Emily's Famous Apple Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I entered Emily's Famous Apple Pie in a Contest with buches of other Pie's of various kinds. And my Pie won thrid place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I agree with mixing the dill in with the butter/lemon juice. I found that the fish comes out much less dry if you wrap the dish in aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes. Also, you will want to use only half a tablespoon of dill or it's too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brie Cheese Appetizer

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe has gotten me more accolades from friends and family than any other that I have in my collection. It is an incredible dish for wine and cheese parties. The fruit cheese and pastry really brings out the flavors of white and medium body reds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Toro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good, basic sausage balls. I did add 2T of milk to help blend ingredients together and that worked well. I used Jimmy Dean sausage and did not have any problems with too much grease in the pan. This was my husband's family's first time having sausage balls and everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Cinnamon Swirl Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was fantastic! The batter was very thick so I had a hard time pouring it into the pan in thirds, so I only put the cinnamon swirl in after 1/2 the batter then on top as well. This was moist and sweet and I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potatoes 'n' Pears

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving 2007 and it turned out very good. A healthy alternative to traditional sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This makes wonderful apple crisp. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and reduced the amount of water. This reduction left the apples (I used granny smith) rather dry, though. I will not reduce the water next time I make it. My only other change was to mix the cut apples into the sugar mixture as I cut them so they wouldn't brown. Wonderful taste and excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Fruitcake

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I cannot fairly rate this because I used way too much rum. I think if I would have only used the 1/4 cup that was called for, it would have been great. I also used heaping measurements of the fruit and nuts. This is a good recipe for DARK fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe! I was trying to duplicate the pound cake that my parent's neighbor gives them every Christmas - the perfect pound cake in my book - and this is it! I did change one thing: I omitted the mace entirely and instead used the zest of one lemon. Watch the cooking time on this - it only needed 1 hr. 10 min. in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Marsala

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was an excellent dish; very easy to make! Everyone at my house loves mushrooms, so I doubled the amount called for. I've never had it as good in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ancho Chile Fettuccini with Cilantro-Tomatillo Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Exceptional dish!!!!! My husband and I both loved it, will make it often.... Which, by the way...I made exactly as the recipe directs...perfect. Thank you soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is an awesome dish!!!!! I read alot of the reviews first,..then went ahead and made it exactly as the recipe suggests...it is great, quick, and easy....hubby loved it and thanked me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I give it 10 stars!!!...the best fish taco sauce ever!!!!!! Simple fish and cabbage are just right with this sauce...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I can't handle anything too spice, so I left out the red pepper flakes but kept everything else the same. It was wonderful with ground beef for basic tacos. I love this seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I had never cooked with beer before, but it adds a nice flavor to this soup, which is very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-66 (of 66) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States