Florence, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheddar Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The only change I made to this was using real bacon crumbles. It was very good with Wheat Thins and my coworkers enjoyed it as well. I think it would also be good as a veggie dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are exceptional! I used square pretzels, Dove caramel chocolates, and toasted my pecans for about 5 minutes by themselves before using them. I was afraid the caramel centers in the Dove chocolates might not do well since it is a softer caramel than Rolos, which a lot of reviewers used. If you use Dove, don't leave them in the oven more than 3 minutes, and press the pecans into the chocolate just slightly so the caramel doesn't ooze out. Mine firmed up nicely and packaged well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Do yourself a favor and skip this recipe. I made it for Thanksgivings and it was very bland. I will not be making this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsontide2186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This cake was a hit. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsontide2186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Ham Glaze

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Best glaze ever! Everyone loved it. I didn't use the dried onion, but I couldn't imagine that it would have been any better. I cooked my ham as directed and sliced it. I placed a layer of ham in the roasting pan and liberally brushed the glaze on, then another and so on. I poured the remaining glaze over the top layer and put it back in the over at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsontide2186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoepeg Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a good casserole. I'd suggest using more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsontide2186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All-Day Apple Butter

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good. Used it to make a glaze for a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsontide2186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe! I use brown rice and the taste is just as good. I think cream of mushroom could also be substituted for the cream of chicken. I crave this dish very often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Excellent chili recipe with compliments from my coworkers. I omitted the green pepper and the black pepper for my taste and since I didn't have tomato juice, I used two cans of no-salt diced tomatoes and two cans of roasted diced tomatoes. The spice level was between mild and moderate. Next time I'm going to try adding beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Delights

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My "Go To" Hors d'oeuvre for all dinner parties. I beef up the garlic a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Toro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepperoni Macaroni

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a great dish! Trying to be a bit on the healthy side, I used turkey pepperoni, turkey italian sausage, and wheat noodles. It was very tasty and needed no added spices. This dish along with a spinach salad and wheat garlic bread made a perfect Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Cornbread Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Makes my wife really happy. Bonus points for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toddstanfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

Ratatouille

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was delicious!!! The only thing I changed was I used 2 cans of seasoned undrained diced tomatoes, as suggested by another user. If serving over rice or pasta, it adds some flavored sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Just like my Maw-maw's sweet tea! Use Luzianne tea bags for the best sweet tea ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGNULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

Quiche Lorraine II

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a good basic recipe that only needs a few changes. A whole onion is WAY too much. 1/2 is plenty. Use the deep dish crust. Otherwise, there is too much filling. Also, you want to pre-bake the frozen crust for 10 minutes to avoid sogginess. I added garlic powder (1 tbl.) and cayenne (1/2 tbl) as recommended. I used half and half instead of milk and cut it down to 1 1/2 cups. There is no need to heat the egg and milk mixture before pouring it on top of the cheese/ham mixture. This keeps it from filling in the cracks. And it never hurts to throw in some mushrooms and extra ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake III

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
THE BEST APPLE CAKE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
YUM! I doubled the amount of seasoning in the marinade for more flavor. Great on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGNULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

No-Cream Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toddstanfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

Coriander and Cumin Rubbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I make pork chops often and am always looking for new ways to spice them up. This combination of spices is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frozen Coconut Caramel Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
THE best pie recipe ever!. Everyone that has tried it has LOVED it! Sooo easy and sooo good plus, it makes two so you can have one on hand in the freezer for unexpected guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 66) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States