Florence, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely Delish! Best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Photo by StephL

Breakfast Banana Green Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
First attempt at a green smoothie & it turned out great. Made yet as is. Even my picky hubby liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlabamaAng

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
WONDERFUL change from my norm that consists only of tuna, mayo, pickles, boiled eggs, and pepper. I used 2 5oz cans albacore tuna (drained very well), 3 Tbsp mayo w/ olive oil, 2 Tbsp sweet relish, and just a few dashes of each spice. Also added a couple chopped boiled eggs and a few dashes paprika. Great combination! Served on Melba toast. Note: I didn't know whether to use grated or shredded Parmesan cheese so I decided not to add it at all, which helped out with the calorie/fat count too! I will forever use this as a base. AWESOME recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Healthier World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great recipe! I used turkey Italian sausage in place of regular sausage, low-fat ricotta cheese, and wheat noodles. Also added fresh spinach and finely grated carrots into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is most definitely our go to marinade for chicken. Love it! I do not add salt, however, as there is plenty in some of the other ingredients. Also, I scale down on all of the ingredients including only using 1/2 cup canola oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil. That's probably because we normally only marinade 2-4 large boneless, skinless breasts. Thanks Jillypooh, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is most definitely our go to marinade for chicken. Love it! I do not add salt, however, as there is plenty in some of the other ingredients. Also, I scale down on all of the ingredients including only using 1/2 cup canola oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil. That's probably because we normally only marinade 2-4 large boneless, skinless breasts. Thanks Jillypooh, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Photo by cassarugh

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very good recipe. I love sweets but this may have been a little too sweet for me. Next time I will try cutting the sugar back by a 1/4 cup. I used a cookie scoop to place them on the pan and they ended up spreading nicely to the perfect thickness. I had a problem with subsequent pans and the cookies cooking too quickly so I turned the temp down to 325 degrees but I was using convection oven and that's new to me so perhaps that is needed in convection ovens regardless. These were chewy the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlabamaAng

Rolled Flank Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great recipe! This was my first time cooking flank steak and it turned out perfectly. I would suggest letting it marinade for several hours or overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good. My wife gave it a 10. Had the Gimme Lean Sausage type instead of Beef type, so I left out the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toddstanfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

Ang's 'Healthier' Southern Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly using turkey sausage, lite margarine, and skim milk...Just trying to make it a 'tad bit' more healthy. Ended up fabulous! This is the only way that I will prepare sausage gravy from now on. Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is delicious-dense and moist. My only change was to add the juice and zest of one lemon and some vanilla extract. I did not have a problem with it being dry as some reviewers noted, but I watched the time in the oven carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I like that this recipe calls for 1/2 the sugar as most sweet potato casseroles. It was good, but the sweet potato portion seemed to be missing some flavor (and I baked my sweet potatoes instead of boiling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Can Shrimp Chowder

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this for dinner one night and every one LOVED it. now it is a family favorit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Cinnamon Pumpkin Waffles

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Really good and fairly light with healthy ingredients. I served this for dinner tonight with a side of brown sugar bacon. Next time I make these I will throw in some ground flaxseed and use brown sugar instead of white! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGNULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I found these didn't turn out as I had hoped! The semi-sweet chocolate gave it a funny flavor and the chocolate was super hard to cut unto while the peanut butter bottom was a bit soft. I bake out of my home and wanted to try some new recipes, this just isn't one I'd use. It had a some what good flavor, but next time I would definately use a diiferent flavor chocolate chip and try a different method on letting them set and harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheliaRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious!!! Have used this recipe for a long time, once a week! we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Superb Herb Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I didn't have any sage on hand so I used rosemary instead. I also used half bread flour and half whole wheat flour. I won first place in our local fair. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Sausage Gravy III

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly using turkey sausage, lite margarine, and skim milk...Just trying to make it a 'tad bit' more healthy. Ended up fabulous! This is the only way that I will prepare sausage gravy from now on. Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

BBQ Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My friends and I cooked this for a group of teenagers and it got mixed reviews. I thought it had good flavor and liked it, but others weren't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is excellent! I cooked it as written and served it to a group of teenagers. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 66) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States