Florence, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely Delish! Best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Photo by StephL

Breakfast Banana Green Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
First attempt at a green smoothie & it turned out great. Made yet as is. Even my picky hubby liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlabamaAng

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
WONDERFUL change from my norm that consists only of tuna, mayo, pickles, boiled eggs, and pepper. I used 2 5oz cans albacore tuna (drained very well), 3 Tbsp mayo w/ olive oil, 2 Tbsp sweet relish, and just a few dashes of each spice. Also added a couple chopped boiled eggs and a few dashes paprika. Great combination! Served on Melba toast. Note: I didn't know whether to use grated or shredded Parmesan cheese so I decided not to add it at all, which helped out with the calorie/fat count too! I will forever use this as a base. AWESOME recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Healthier World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great recipe! I used turkey Italian sausage in place of regular sausage, low-fat ricotta cheese, and wheat noodles. Also added fresh spinach and finely grated carrots into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is most definitely our go to marinade for chicken. Love it! I do not add salt, however, as there is plenty in some of the other ingredients. Also, I scale down on all of the ingredients including only using 1/2 cup canola oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil. That's probably because we normally only marinade 2-4 large boneless, skinless breasts. Thanks Jillypooh, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is most definitely our go to marinade for chicken. Love it! I do not add salt, however, as there is plenty in some of the other ingredients. Also, I scale down on all of the ingredients including only using 1/2 cup canola oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil. That's probably because we normally only marinade 2-4 large boneless, skinless breasts. Thanks Jillypooh, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Photo by cassarugh

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very good recipe. I love sweets but this may have been a little too sweet for me. Next time I will try cutting the sugar back by a 1/4 cup. I used a cookie scoop to place them on the pan and they ended up spreading nicely to the perfect thickness. I had a problem with subsequent pans and the cookies cooking too quickly so I turned the temp down to 325 degrees but I was using convection oven and that's new to me so perhaps that is needed in convection ovens regardless. These were chewy the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlabamaAng

Rolled Flank Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great recipe! This was my first time cooking flank steak and it turned out perfectly. I would suggest letting it marinade for several hours or overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good. My wife gave it a 10. Had the Gimme Lean Sausage type instead of Beef type, so I left out the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toddstanfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

Ang's 'Healthier' Southern Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly using turkey sausage, lite margarine, and skim milk...Just trying to make it a 'tad bit' more healthy. Ended up fabulous! This is the only way that I will prepare sausage gravy from now on. Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is delicious-dense and moist. My only change was to add the juice and zest of one lemon and some vanilla extract. I did not have a problem with it being dry as some reviewers noted, but I watched the time in the oven carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I like that this recipe calls for 1/2 the sugar as most sweet potato casseroles. It was good, but the sweet potato portion seemed to be missing some flavor (and I baked my sweet potatoes instead of boiling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Can Shrimp Chowder

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this for dinner one night and every one LOVED it. now it is a family favorit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Cinnamon Pumpkin Waffles

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Really good and fairly light with healthy ingredients. I served this for dinner tonight with a side of brown sugar bacon. Next time I make these I will throw in some ground flaxseed and use brown sugar instead of white! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGNULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I found these didn't turn out as I had hoped! The semi-sweet chocolate gave it a funny flavor and the chocolate was super hard to cut unto while the peanut butter bottom was a bit soft. I bake out of my home and wanted to try some new recipes, this just isn't one I'd use. It had a some what good flavor, but next time I would definately use a diiferent flavor chocolate chip and try a different method on letting them set and harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheliaRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious!!! Have used this recipe for a long time, once a week! we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Superb Herb Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I didn't have any sage on hand so I used rosemary instead. I also used half bread flour and half whole wheat flour. I won first place in our local fair. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Sausage Gravy III

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly using turkey sausage, lite margarine, and skim milk...Just trying to make it a 'tad bit' more healthy. Ended up fabulous! This is the only way that I will prepare sausage gravy from now on. Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaAng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

BBQ Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My friends and I cooked this for a group of teenagers and it got mixed reviews. I thought it had good flavor and liked it, but others weren't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is excellent! I cooked it as written and served it to a group of teenagers. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 66) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States