Enterprise, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
AMAZING! I made 1/4 of the recipe because I wasn't sure how they would turn out...now that my bf and I have eaten all 4 of the pretzels I wish I'd made the whole recipe!!! I didn't have sea salt to put on top which is really what they need...but as my bf put it: these are soft, salty, sweet and sour! EDIT: I made these again tonight and have concluded that they are addictive! Plus I made a few into Pretzel dogs, as I saw in another reviewers picture....just roll out the dough as if you were making a pretzel but instead wrap it around a cooked hot dog and bake as usual -Delicious! I have a feeling my future children will be a hit at school with those in their lunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I had one large skinless boneless chicken breast left over from last night and decided to marinate it for tonight. I mixed this up and marinaded it for about 2 hours in the fridge. Then baked at 375 for 35 minutes. My boyfriend couldn't stop commenting about the wonderful smells coming from the kitchen, and it tasted just as good as it smelled! Who knew chicken breast could be so juicy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Zucchini and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Made this with dinner tonight and it was a hit! One thing I will do differently next time is cut my zucchini into larger pieces (at least as large as the potato pieces) so they don't over cook. This is a MUST in everyone's recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are amazing! I'm eating my first batch right now (dipped in ranch dressing)! I just eye-balled my measurements and definitely used way more than 1/2 a cup of liquid. I followed other reviews and used half water, half oil and then baked at 350. They are crispy on outside and soft on the inside! I will try a little thicker batter next time so I don't loose any to the pan. Will use over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Read tons of reviews and finally decided to just follow the recipe. First thing, it took really long to bake. Looked finished at 35 minutes but did not pass the toothpick test, took another 10 minutes and I decided to just take the pan out. I had taste tested the batter before it went in and it tasted okay. First brownie out of the pan was warm and gooey - but REALLY sweet. Now, it's the morning after and I can't cut through the edges but the rest seems under cooked and all I taste is sugar. Maybe brownies are the one thing I won't make from scratch. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
If your looking for the perfect Prime Rib just follow these instruction to the letter and you won't be disappointed. The best prime I have ever had the pleasure eating, and to think I made it. Thank you very much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Number One Egg Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I cut this recipe down to 1/3 and it was fairly easy. The bread had a wonderful texture but definitely needed more sugar, or something else...I will try again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Whipped this one up last night and it was pretty good...I didn't have any poultry seasoning and I made a smaller batch for just the bf and I. He was impressed which is all that counts! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Truck-Stop Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Made this recipe for 'breakfast for dinner' last night and followed all instructions to the T. My pancakes were absolutely delicious but flat as, well, flat as pancakes...but I wanted fluffy pancakes! I will definitely try again, maybe after reading a few more reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
There is nothing like home-made bread! This one turned out perfect, takes a LONG time to rise but it is worth the wait. I can't wait to make a sandwich with this bread for work tomorrow, this one's going in my recipe binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Light Wheat Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This it the first time I've ever made wheat bread and, although I have nothing to compare it to, I thought these were great! They were definitely light with a soft crust, the perfect dinner roll. I would even consider making these into wheat cinnamon rolls because they're that soft and yummy. This one it definitely going into the recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I have only ever made the corn bread recipe from the box and this one is MUCH better. Tastes like the sweet corn bread you'd get at a restaurant and you can whip it up in no time! I made mine into muffins and caught my beau sneaking one before bedtime they were so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very Impressed! Tasted just like the ones you buy if not BETTER. I didn't have celery seasoning or celery but did add corn. It was delicious and filling. A little time consuming the first time around but I'm sure I will be more efficient next time. (I did cook my chicken and veges in a half water half chicken broth mix as per reviews)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Pie Crust Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this recipe using butter flavored crisco instead of the lard and it was wonderful. I also used self-rising flour so I didn't need to measure the baking powder and salt. I will make this one again and again. I used it for fruit pies, pumpkin pie, and chicken pot pie. It is SO versitle. It is SO flaky. I don't know how long the mix will keep because it was such a hit that I keep using it all up. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Honey French Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I've tried plenty of bread recipes but I wanted something to go with Homemade Tomato Sauce II (from this site) for dinner late night and came across this recipe. It was fairly easy to make (I don't own -or believe in- bread machines) It made an medium sized baguette that was slightly on the denser side. The taste however, was like there were no ingredients in it, when warm and dipped in the tomato sauce it was delicious but by itself it was just not okay. Might try it again with more honey and half wheat flour...we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Homemade Tomato Sauce II

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I just made this last night for dinner with Sweet Honey French Bread (from this site). It was SUPER easy which cannot be said for most spaghetti sauce recipes. I used oregano instead of bay leaves (didn't have any) and olive oil instead of vege oil (as per reviews). I also added a tablespoon of white sugar for the bitterness and simmered mine for about an hour and a half, covered. The recipe didn't yield much (I know, I let mine cook down A LOT) but it was yummy! It was a perfect, sweet, tomato sauce...so simple that you could really appreciate each flavor. Will make again in large quantities to freeze :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Best Cranberry Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I submitted this recipe, and I just wanted to add that I usually use chicken breast (I feel the contrast between the moist cranberries and the white meat is better than if it were brown meat) and I also use red wine vinegar (I'm not sure where they got apple cider vinegar from)and the chicken is great with steamed rice, thanks Andrea J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was my first slow-cooker recipe...I've had my crock pot since last x-mas and never used it! I was a little nervous but I brown my 4 lb chuck roast and put it in with the onion, onion soup mix, water and some garlic and a little worcestershire sauce for good measure. I set it on low and cut up all my veges...I made my boyfriend PROMISE to put the veges in later in the day so they wouldn't get mushy and he did! I came home from work and the house smelled delicious, we are literally eating dinner right now and everything tastes great. I can't wait to try something else in my crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was my first slow-cooker recipe...I've had my crock pot since last x-mas and never used it! I was a little nervous but I brown my 4 lb chuck roast and put it in with the onion, onion soup mix, water and some garlic and a little worcestershire sauce for good measure. I set it on low and cut up all my veges...I made my boyfriend PROMISE to put the veges in later in the day so they wouldn't get mushy and he did! I came home from work and the house smelled delicious, we are literally eating dinner right now and everything tastes great. I can't wait to try something else in my crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
So, I was really excited about this one, I had left over rice and the other ingredients in the fridge. I then proceeded to almost burn myself with the oil. After that catastrophe I switched pans and started over. It turned out alright, my boyfriend finished it but it wasn't AMAZING and definitely not restaurant style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States