Enterprise, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
So I had a few brown bananas but was missing the sour cream that my normal banana bread recipe calls for. I decided it was time to branch out. After reading other reviews I decided to change the sugar to 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar. I had also intended on adding a splash vanilla but completely forgot. I made some muffins with walnuts, some with chocolate chips and some plain. I definitely enjoyed the ones with nuts the most. These are very very moist muffins (I'm sure due to the fact that there are 3 bananas!) but I found then took a lot longer to bake. My mini muffins too almost 20 minutes and my regular muffins took almost 30. Will definitely make again in lieu of my sour cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Baked Ziti IV

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious! So I don't think I could name off all the things I changed or, rather, didn't follow in this recipe...but that's the beauty of it! I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and I completely forgot to add my italian sausage. I also used the sauce recipe from Linda's Lasagna (on this site) and with all those hiccups this was still amazing...and slightly easier to put together than lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Fresh Asparagus, Tomato, and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Made this as a side to last night's dinner and it's definetely a keeper. A delicious mix of flavors. I agree with most - to half the first 5 ingredients for the dressing - but no other changes are necessary. Deserves all 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim2none

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is unlike any other cornbread I've ever had! I usually don't have buttermilk on hand, so it was now or never. It was super quick to throw together and cooked up in exactly 30 minutes in my preheated cast iron. I always add butter and honey to my corn bread which was a mistake because this is really sweet by itself! Delicious though, but definitely using slightly less sugar next time. The buttermilk makes it a lot denser than regular corn bread and gives it a great depth of flavor. Adding this one to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Turkey Sausage Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was way better than I was expecting! I made it almost as is, but here are my changes... 1) I didn't crumble the sausage, I just sliced up the meat. This didn't affect the taste at all. 2) I added garlic powder, Italian seasoning, onion powder, and crushed red pepper to the mixture. 3) I also added shredded mozz cheese to the pie prior to putting it back into the oven.. 4) I used another reviewer's suggestion and brushed the top crust with olive oil and put a dash of garlic and onion powder on. Brought some extra flavor to the dish. There's a lot that can be done with this. Use your imagination and eat it up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Sausage Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was way better than I was expecting! I made it almost as is, but here are my changes... 1) I didn't crumble the sausage, I just sliced up the meat. This didn't affect the taste at all. 2) I added garlic powder, Italian seasoning, onion powder, and crushed red pepper to the mixture. 3) I also added shredded mozz cheese to the pie prior to putting it back into the oven.. 4) I used another reviewer's suggestion and brushed the top crust with olive oil and put a dash of garlic and onion powder on. Brought some extra flavor to the dish. There's a lot that can be done with this. Use your imagination and eat it up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Lasagna with Butternut Squash, Zucchini, and Spinach

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I have never made lasagna before, so I was worried about how this would turn out. To my amazement, it not only turned out delicious, but it actually looked good, too! I followed the recipe exactly. I don't have lasagna experience, so I'm sure other reviewers will have different ways of making this, but I can't think of any changes that should be made. Also, I recommend taking the time to make your own sauce, rather than using a jar. The sauce was wonderful and really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Meringue Drops

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I am a total chocoholic and was skeptical at first but I wanted something for a little after-dinner sweet...this totally fit the bill! Mine were borderline chewy on the inside, definitely better the next day. Will add these to my recipe book, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Pickled Red Beet Eggs

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I had to leave a hand written note on the container while these were marinating, instructing my husband to not eat them until they were ready. The day I took the note away, the eggs were gone. I'm assuming they were wonderful, as he asked me to make them again. Hopefully I'll get to try one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reuben Casserole

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is one of my husbands favorite dishes. Go figure, it's probably one of the easiest and least time consuming recipes I have! I make it as is, with another reviewers suggestion to put the dish with the bread in the oven while it's preheating. I also add some mustard to the 1000 Island dressing, to tone down some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemony Turkey Breast

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was OK...I probably could have made it better, but it turned out a little too lemony for our tastes. Also, I cooked it as directed in the slow cooker and the turkey came out pretty dry. The gravy was the only saving grace. I'll try again, and maybe back down from the lemon a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Smoothie

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I make this almost every morning for breakfast. I first made it as written, but then I started subbing fruit for what I had in the fridge. Pears work wonderfully, instead of apples. I also add some kale for its healthful benefits. Just don't overdo it; the kale becomes really bitter before you know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I made this exactly as it's written, and it was perfect. I had read other reviews and they had mentioned that 1tbsp of hot sauce was too much, but I thought it was perfect, just the right amount of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Pasta Minus the Pasta

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars only because there is a lot you can do with this recipe, it's just a matter of playing around with it. I followed it exactly, with the exception of adding some smoked turkey sausage. The flavor is wonderful, everything mixes together beautifully. I just want to spice it up slightly, maybe add some crushed red pepper. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Acorn Squash Supreme

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was wonderful! I took another reviewer's advice and baked the squash for 1 hour at 350, with water and covered with tinfoil. I also added some butter and brown sugar to the squash. I *may* have overdone it with the brown sugar a little bit, but that's an easy fix. I omitted the butter that the rice mix called for, since I had put some in the squash. I also omitted the cheese topping. All I need to do is find a healthier rice and broccoli mix, and this recipe will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New England Dinner

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
We enjoyed this dish! I had read the reviews prior to trying it, and I took to heart the reviews that stated that this was bland. Prior to baking, I seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. I also mixed in dijon mustard (we love mustard in this house!), covered with foil and baked for 30 minutes. Also, I substituted Sam Adams beer for the water, just for the extra oomph. A great, easy meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New England Dinner

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
We enjoyed this dish! I had read the reviews prior to trying it, and I took to heart the reviews that stated that this was bland. Prior to baking, I seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. I also mixed in dijon mustard (we love mustard in this house!), covered with foil and baked for 30 minutes. Also, I substituted Sam Adams beer for the water, just for the extra oomph. A great, easy meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Definitely yummy, I used a chuck roast and cooked it for 6 hours on high. Once I decided to cut it the meat just fell apart, so I shredded it into small chunks and put the meat back in the crock pot for about 30 minutes. Then served it on potato bread with melted monterey jack cheese. Delicious! (oh, and we were out of beer! will try again with, it could only make it better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Perfect Berry Shortcakes

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These were okay. Since strawberries have come down in price I was dying to make a dessert. I followed the directions for the shortcakes and just used fresh strawberries with homemade whipped cream. First, my shortcakes took REALLY long to bake. at 12 minutes they were completely under-baked, at 15 minutes they still seemed really soft and not brown at all. At around 18 minutes I finally took them out (I wanted them to be slightly golden on top). These have almost no taste to them, not a shortcake taste at least. There is WAY too much butter, mine were very greasy. And they aren't sweet, in fact the biscuits I usually make are sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is ultimate comfort food! It's so simple to throw together and takes almost no time at all. I feel so great eating things that aren't full of processed ingredients, and I definitely can't wait to harvest my own vegetables this summer and make this again. This one is going straight in the recipe book. I'm eating the leftovers right now with grated cheese on top and dipping homemade sourdough bread in it...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States