Enterprise, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was delicious! I cut a large chicken breast into 4 pieces and used about 2/3 Italian style bread crumbs and 1/3 Panko (plus some Parmesan)...I also topped with shredded Mozzarella. Yummy! Just like at a restaurant, take that Bucca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Lacy Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These are pretty cool. I wanted to try something that would be impressive and these almost fit the bill. They are time-consuming, but not hard. First of all, for those of you who said they were too salty -yes, using unsalted butter will fix that...in fact, you should always bake with unsalted butter, preferably sweet cream. Second, I baked these on my Silpat and they were so easy to take off. If you don't have a Silpat and bake more than a few times a year (or even then) you NEED one. They aren't expensive, check Amazon, but they will save you from cookie mishaps and you don't have to grease anything! Also, for these to cook evenly, patting them down before they go into the oven is a good idea...just wet your hands and use your finger tips to flatten the dough. And lastly, if you're adding more flour, these aren't supposed to fluff up and be like you think of -say- chocolate chip cookies...they're supposed to be flat and crunchy and see-through. And I do highly recommend using two cookies to sandwich melted chocolate or whipped cream....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Corned Beef Hash

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Let me just make something clear: IF YOU'VE NEVER HAD CORN BEEF HASH I WOULDN'T SUGGEST TRYING IT. It's somewhat of an acquired taste, let's be honest -it's poor people's food. My parents grew up eating it and it's something that my mom would make once every few weeks for dinner. Here are the FACTS: The whole meal costs around $2...It resembles cat food in looks, taste & smell...and it's comfort food like no other. The important part is that comfort food is only comforting when you have memories to attach to it! So for those of us loving the corn beef hash, we don't need a recipe (and yes canned corned beef is the only way to go) for the rest of you, don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Unbelievable Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These were 'meh'...I've made many a bread recipe and this was nothing exciting. I made mine into larger rolls for sandwiches and my boyfriend said it was a delicious sandwich bread...but I'm not so sure. Will be trying other roll recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this for tacos last night and my boyfriend said they might just be the best tacos he's ever had! Here's what I did: omitted the hot sauce (not a fan), added 1 tsp. cumin, and used 1 (14 ounce) can of beef broth instead of water. I also combined the chiles, broth and seasonings in my food processor before adding to the crock pot just to make sure everything was well blended and that there weren't any big chunks of chiles (it's a texture thing). I cooked on high for about 5 1/2 hours then shredded the meat in my crock pot and continued to cook on high for another 30 minutes. I then moved the contents to a large pan and simmered on the stove (pouring about a cup of the liquid down the drain just to help the process) for about 20 minutes. And voila! It does make a lot of meat, so I froze half in a ziploc baggie for another day. Can't wait to try this recipe with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Felix K.'s 'Don't even try to say these aren't the best you've ever eaten, because they are' Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I'm sorry, but I did not care for these. I always make the Best Big Fat Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies and just wanted to try something else. Oops, my mistake! The batter was rather sugary but not bad, I then followed the directions and flattened my cookies before baking. They spread out a bit and looked fine. I pulled my cookies out at exactly 15 minutes and let them cool on the sheets. The warm cookies were 'meh' and the cooled cookies were just thin and crunchy, definitely NOT chewy. I'm going back to my old recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Photo by misscarolb

Dessert Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My first attempt...and let's just say; I rocked it! So much easier than I thought it would be, so don't be scared. Just know you'll have to sacrifice one or two to the cause (just eat those while you finish the rest and no one will know!). My batch made exactly 8 crepes. I filled mine with vanilla ice cream, strawberries and chocolate sauce but I can't wait to fill them with breakfast goodies tomorrow. As others have stated, these are a little eggy tasting. I wouldn't use these for dinner crepes, but I can't wait to try other recipes now that I know I can make them! Idea: make these for a party, make a bunch of crepes then have all kinds of fillings and let people make their own! How fun would that be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Garlic Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These potatoes are seriously sinful. I think the recipe calls for a little too much butter, my potatoes were swimming in it so much so, that, halfway through baking them I spooned out a lot of the butter. But maybe I didn't use enough potatoes...either way, delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Photo by misscarolb

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I love shrimp and always keep some in the freezer but I've never cooked them on the grill or marinated them (I know, its terrible). Mine sat in the fridge for a little over 2 hours (bad time planning on my part). I know everyone hates when people change recipes and then review them, but that's what makes this site great! I didn't have fresh basil or tomato sauce (I swear I was a mess today) so I added ketchup and dried basil. I also squirted a little lemon juice over my shrimp while they were marinating (what's shrimp without lemon juice?). Once my boyfriend put those things on the grill them smelled wonderful! Some of the best shrimp I've ever had...am planning on making these for a get together in a few weeks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Steakhouse Black Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I couldn't even finish my first bite and I generally LOVE black bread. I followed the directions to the 'T', I can't figure out what happened. I'll move on to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These were very moist, but had a weird after taste. Definitely better the next day (like most cakes) but I've had better. This one does not make the recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I've made a few pizzas recently and have been looking for a great sauce since I've never been really impressed with store bought. I must say I didn't have any marjoram and I added chili powder instead of cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes just because it was what I had. And this was still amazing. It has a little extra kick with the perfect amount of sweetness. And basically just costs the amount of a can of tomato paste! Mine generously topped a small (10") and medium pizza (about a 15" diameter) so think twice before making a huge batch. I love the idea of having the spices ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Just made these to go with Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew for dinner tonight and I'm a little disappointed. Mine have almost a biscuit-like texture. Much lighter than a biscuit but that same idea. I made them in a clover shape in my muffin pan and they look amazing. Don't get me wrong, they don't taste bad but it isn't at all what I would think of as a dinner roll. Might have to move on to another recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Peppy's Pita Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made these according to others directions and used some wheat flour. I was very impressed with how they puffed up...I don't understand the chemistry of it all but it works! The taste, however, was nothing special. It was actually pretty bland. I know pitas aren't supposed to super flavorful but this was bad. If I make these again, I'll have to make some additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Oat Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made these this morning...I warned my bf that they were 'healthy'...but he loved them! Don't expect them to taste like the eggy-sweet waffles that we're all used to, but with that in mind...they're amazing! Mine had chewy spots because I made my own oat flour and it still had some chunks but it didn't matter. I love that these have less than half of the calories of normal waffles....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Oriental Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this to go on the Asian Lettuce Wraps recipe from this site and it was amazing. I think I'll be dipping things in this sauce for days. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Fast and Easy Tofu Lo-Mein

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I did not care for this. This tastes just like normal ramen except with out any water and with some tofu & veges -so what?! Will never make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made these last night for myself, my bf and two of his Army buddies and everyone loved them. I followed other reviews and doubled the sauce (but I also used 1.5 lbs of ground pork) and they were definitely not dry, served with a slotted spoon since it was pretty soupy. Also topped with Oriental Dipping Sauce (from AR) and that really made the dish! This is a fun and easy recipe, great way to impress guests! I might try ground turkey or chicken next time just because I prefer those over the taste of pork. Also, didn't add rice -why take away from the delicious meat and the crunch of the lettuce! This one's going in the recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
was in the need for some major chocolate therapy and it's left over night at my house so I decided to throw this together for dessert....I followed MommyFromSeatle's advice and used all chocolate instead of the cocoa, I only had semi-sweet on hand so I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. It came out perfectly!!! I don't have an 8inch pan so I used my 6inch and poured the rest into a muffin pan. Super easy and tastes like you'd pay big bucks for one slice at some fancy place...Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
AMAZING! I made 1/4 of the recipe because I wasn't sure how they would turn out...now that my bf and I have eaten all 4 of the pretzels I wish I'd made the whole recipe!!! I didn't have sea salt to put on top which is really what they need...but as my bf put it: these are soft, salty, sweet and sour! EDIT: I made these again tonight and have concluded that they are addictive! Plus I made a few into Pretzel dogs, as I saw in another reviewers picture....just roll out the dough as if you were making a pretzel but instead wrap it around a cooked hot dog and bake as usual -Delicious! I have a feeling my future children will be a hit at school with those in their lunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States