Enterprise, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Spice Martini

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is a great drink. Not too heavy at all. We used inexpensive brand liquors and the drink was very nice. My friend and I are wine enthusiast and seldom drink anything else. We will make this again and no changes needed. Happy belated Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is delicious! Much more rich and smooth than your normal chocolate frosting made with cocoa powder. I took Renee's suggestion and didn't use all of the sugar - I ended up using almost 2 cups and it's still very sweet and a great consistency. This is my new go-to chocolate frosting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Barbeque Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was wonderful! I followed some other reviewer's advice to doubled the recipe (not the water) and used 6 boneless skinless chicken thighs. I also added a tablespoon of honey and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I turned the temp down to 375 instead of 300 and only let them cook covered for about 20 mins at that temp. They were perfect. My fiance LOVED them and was baffled as to how I made my own BBQ sauce. This one is going in my recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Blonde Brownies I

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These were okay, however I won't make them again. They are very sweet and very rich but since they are neither a brownie nor a cookie they leave you wanting something more. Edible, but definitely not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Fabulous!! Instead of three 7 X 3 pans, I divided it between two 9 X 5 loaf pans and cooked it for 1 hour and 10 min. at 350 degrees. It came out perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Vinemont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Cranberry Chutney

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was delicious and it smelled amazing while it was cooking. It was a perfect Thanksgiving appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The calorie and fat content of this recipe was pretty high, and the nutritional value a bit low, so I made a few changes to make it more healthful: Substituted 98% fat free soups Used light sour cream instead of regular Substituted 6 oz Whole Wheat Penne pasta for the egg noodles Added 1/2 c steamed, chopped broccoli Reduced the butter for the topping to 1/3 c. To add a little more flavor, I added 1/2 tsp celery seed and threw a fresh bay leaf in with the chicken while it was cooking (removed later). Yummy. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Florentine Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I really like this, so does my husband! But I do make one major change. I use skim ricotta in place of the cottage cheese. I just can't bring myself to cook with cottage cheese! Otherwise very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rattlesnake Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I LOVED this. My husband would prefer a bit more heat but I though the flavor was amazing. I did use fire roasted diced tomatoes which were a great compliment to the cajun spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

1-Dish Taco Bake

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Definitely a keeper at our house! I used self rising cornbread mix as a short cut, otherwise followed the recipe as written and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Perfection. I was a little wary because other reviewers mentioned this tasting a little 'earthy' because of all of the spinach. I was also worried because once I blended mine all up the mixture only smelt of spinach. I had made this in the afternoon and stuck it in the fridge for a few hours. Once it came time for dinner it smelled much more like pesto. Actually one of the best pestos I've even had, this is one for the recipe books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These are okay but taste like they're really bad for you, like they have a lot of preservatives and are made in a huge factory - not my own kitchen! The cookie dough was completely inedible because of the shortening, and in the baked cookies you can still taste the shortening. Maybe with butter next time they'd taste better. I will admit that they are really soft and baked perfectly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This banana bread is delicious! I'm making all new recipes this month so when my bananas took a turn for the worse I knew I had to look up a new recipe. I didn't have any sour cream on hand so I used vanilla yogurt (and then halved the vanilla). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I'm on a kick of trying new recipes so I tried this one over my normal waffles. I'll stick to my normal recipe. These were easy to whip up, but lacked in the flavor department and for some reason took FOREVER to cook in my waffle iron. I also had to add more milk just to be able to pour them onto the iron. Next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Photo by misscarolb

Molten Chocolate Cakes With Sugar-Coated Raspberries

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Fool Proof! I've tried other 'lava' cake recipes and they all seemed a little difficult. This was super easy. I put mine in the fridge for almost 3 hours before baking. At first I thought I should put the batter in the muffin tins before the fridge, then second guessed myself after reading the directions again which said to refrigerate before separating into the muffin papers. Should have gone with my first instinct! I had to re-heat over a double boiler to get a consistency that would pour into my pans to bake. But that little miff aside - these were perfect! Will try a darker chocolate plus more sugar next time and maybe end up with a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Comforting and yummy! Every other time I've tried to make minestrone it seems to be lacking - this has everything you could want with wonderful full-body taste! I followed other reviewers and used white wine since we didn't have red. I also sauteed the onions in the olive oil before adding the garlic and veggies. One mistake a novice chef might make is accidently burning the garlic which can completely ruin this delicious soup! If you cook the onions through first then you won't risk burning your garlic. I also used garbanzo beans, and added about 1/2 the can on juice from my canned green beans (they're my fav). You cannot mess this up! Can't wait to make again once the weather cools down so I can thoroughly enjoy Jamie's Minestrone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
DELIGHTFUL! It was grocery day and I somehow planned meals for the entire week except tonight...it was time to get creative! I didn't use any olive oil, instead I sauteed the onions in the butter and then added in about a tsp. or so of flour, whisked it with the butter and added the cream (used 1/2 c. cream and about 1.4 c. milk) until there were no lumps. Then I added in all the other ingredients. Simmered for about 15 minutes to get a good consistency. Then I pureed everything in the blender! Wonderful! I also added about a tbsp of vodka, extra pepper and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper for a little kick! My fiance said it tasted just like the sauce on his seafood pasta at one of our favorite restaurant - he even said it tasted GOURMET. Score one for Allrecipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
It was clear that I needed a new Mac-n-Cheese recipe when I noticed my fiance melting Kraft Singles on top of leftovers of my Mom's recipe. I figured this one would be good, it already had the processed cheese in it! I used Velveeta Singles and Kraft Sharp Cheddar. I also used an entire box of elbow macaroni which was probably too much so mine wasn't as creamy as some of the pictures but still delicious! I added a little salt to the cheese mixture since I used unsalted butter. Might have to kick my Mom's recipe out for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I cut the recipe in half because I only had half a jar of peanut butter. I also cut the sugar a little as per reviews. The mixture was really crumbly but it pressed together into balls pretty easy so I wasn't too concerned. I pulled the cookies out at 10 minutes and let them cool for a few minutes on the sheets because they seemed soft. The final product is okay. I wish they were a little more peanut-buttery and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This marinade takes every good steak marniade I have ever eaten and kicks it up a notch. This is now the gold standard in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States