Enterprise, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The calorie and fat content of this recipe was pretty high, and the nutritional value a bit low, so I made a few changes to make it more healthful: Substituted 98% fat free soups Used light sour cream instead of regular Substituted 6 oz Whole Wheat Penne pasta for the egg noodles Added 1/2 c steamed, chopped broccoli Reduced the butter for the topping to 1/3 c. To add a little more flavor, I added 1/2 tsp celery seed and threw a fresh bay leaf in with the chicken while it was cooking (removed later). Yummy. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Florentine Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I really like this, so does my husband! But I do make one major change. I use skim ricotta in place of the cottage cheese. I just can't bring myself to cook with cottage cheese! Otherwise very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rattlesnake Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I LOVED this. My husband would prefer a bit more heat but I though the flavor was amazing. I did use fire roasted diced tomatoes which were a great compliment to the cajun spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

1-Dish Taco Bake

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Definitely a keeper at our house! I used self rising cornbread mix as a short cut, otherwise followed the recipe as written and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Perfection. I was a little wary because other reviewers mentioned this tasting a little 'earthy' because of all of the spinach. I was also worried because once I blended mine all up the mixture only smelt of spinach. I had made this in the afternoon and stuck it in the fridge for a few hours. Once it came time for dinner it smelled much more like pesto. Actually one of the best pestos I've even had, this is one for the recipe books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These are okay but taste like they're really bad for you, like they have a lot of preservatives and are made in a huge factory - not my own kitchen! The cookie dough was completely inedible because of the shortening, and in the baked cookies you can still taste the shortening. Maybe with butter next time they'd taste better. I will admit that they are really soft and baked perfectly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This banana bread is delicious! I'm making all new recipes this month so when my bananas took a turn for the worse I knew I had to look up a new recipe. I didn't have any sour cream on hand so I used vanilla yogurt (and then halved the vanilla). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I'm on a kick of trying new recipes so I tried this one over my normal waffles. I'll stick to my normal recipe. These were easy to whip up, but lacked in the flavor department and for some reason took FOREVER to cook in my waffle iron. I also had to add more milk just to be able to pour them onto the iron. Next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Photo by misscarolb

Molten Chocolate Cakes With Sugar-Coated Raspberries

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Fool Proof! I've tried other 'lava' cake recipes and they all seemed a little difficult. This was super easy. I put mine in the fridge for almost 3 hours before baking. At first I thought I should put the batter in the muffin tins before the fridge, then second guessed myself after reading the directions again which said to refrigerate before separating into the muffin papers. Should have gone with my first instinct! I had to re-heat over a double boiler to get a consistency that would pour into my pans to bake. But that little miff aside - these were perfect! Will try a darker chocolate plus more sugar next time and maybe end up with a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Comforting and yummy! Every other time I've tried to make minestrone it seems to be lacking - this has everything you could want with wonderful full-body taste! I followed other reviewers and used white wine since we didn't have red. I also sauteed the onions in the olive oil before adding the garlic and veggies. One mistake a novice chef might make is accidently burning the garlic which can completely ruin this delicious soup! If you cook the onions through first then you won't risk burning your garlic. I also used garbanzo beans, and added about 1/2 the can on juice from my canned green beans (they're my fav). You cannot mess this up! Can't wait to make again once the weather cools down so I can thoroughly enjoy Jamie's Minestrone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
DELIGHTFUL! It was grocery day and I somehow planned meals for the entire week except tonight...it was time to get creative! I didn't use any olive oil, instead I sauteed the onions in the butter and then added in about a tsp. or so of flour, whisked it with the butter and added the cream (used 1/2 c. cream and about 1.4 c. milk) until there were no lumps. Then I added in all the other ingredients. Simmered for about 15 minutes to get a good consistency. Then I pureed everything in the blender! Wonderful! I also added about a tbsp of vodka, extra pepper and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper for a little kick! My fiance said it tasted just like the sauce on his seafood pasta at one of our favorite restaurant - he even said it tasted GOURMET. Score one for Allrecipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
It was clear that I needed a new Mac-n-Cheese recipe when I noticed my fiance melting Kraft Singles on top of leftovers of my Mom's recipe. I figured this one would be good, it already had the processed cheese in it! I used Velveeta Singles and Kraft Sharp Cheddar. I also used an entire box of elbow macaroni which was probably too much so mine wasn't as creamy as some of the pictures but still delicious! I added a little salt to the cheese mixture since I used unsalted butter. Might have to kick my Mom's recipe out for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I cut the recipe in half because I only had half a jar of peanut butter. I also cut the sugar a little as per reviews. The mixture was really crumbly but it pressed together into balls pretty easy so I wasn't too concerned. I pulled the cookies out at 10 minutes and let them cool for a few minutes on the sheets because they seemed soft. The final product is okay. I wish they were a little more peanut-buttery and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This marinade takes every good steak marniade I have ever eaten and kicks it up a notch. This is now the gold standard in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
So I had a few brown bananas but was missing the sour cream that my normal banana bread recipe calls for. I decided it was time to branch out. After reading other reviews I decided to change the sugar to 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar. I had also intended on adding a splash vanilla but completely forgot. I made some muffins with walnuts, some with chocolate chips and some plain. I definitely enjoyed the ones with nuts the most. These are very very moist muffins (I'm sure due to the fact that there are 3 bananas!) but I found then took a lot longer to bake. My mini muffins too almost 20 minutes and my regular muffins took almost 30. Will definitely make again in lieu of my sour cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Baked Ziti IV

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious! So I don't think I could name off all the things I changed or, rather, didn't follow in this recipe...but that's the beauty of it! I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and I completely forgot to add my italian sausage. I also used the sauce recipe from Linda's Lasagna (on this site) and with all those hiccups this was still amazing...and slightly easier to put together than lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Fresh Asparagus, Tomato, and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Made this as a side to last night's dinner and it's definetely a keeper. A delicious mix of flavors. I agree with most - to half the first 5 ingredients for the dressing - but no other changes are necessary. Deserves all 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim2none

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is unlike any other cornbread I've ever had! I usually don't have buttermilk on hand, so it was now or never. It was super quick to throw together and cooked up in exactly 30 minutes in my preheated cast iron. I always add butter and honey to my corn bread which was a mistake because this is really sweet by itself! Delicious though, but definitely using slightly less sugar next time. The buttermilk makes it a lot denser than regular corn bread and gives it a great depth of flavor. Adding this one to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Turkey Sausage Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was way better than I was expecting! I made it almost as is, but here are my changes... 1) I didn't crumble the sausage, I just sliced up the meat. This didn't affect the taste at all. 2) I added garlic powder, Italian seasoning, onion powder, and crushed red pepper to the mixture. 3) I also added shredded mozz cheese to the pie prior to putting it back into the oven.. 4) I used another reviewer's suggestion and brushed the top crust with olive oil and put a dash of garlic and onion powder on. Brought some extra flavor to the dish. There's a lot that can be done with this. Use your imagination and eat it up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Sausage Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was way better than I was expecting! I made it almost as is, but here are my changes... 1) I didn't crumble the sausage, I just sliced up the meat. This didn't affect the taste at all. 2) I added garlic powder, Italian seasoning, onion powder, and crushed red pepper to the mixture. 3) I also added shredded mozz cheese to the pie prior to putting it back into the oven.. 4) I used another reviewer's suggestion and brushed the top crust with olive oil and put a dash of garlic and onion powder on. Brought some extra flavor to the dish. There's a lot that can be done with this. Use your imagination and eat it up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States