Dothan, Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
As is, I rate this a 3. With quality homemade alfredo sauce, I rate this 5 stars. "Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce" from this site is the sauce recipe I use and it makes THIS recipe phenomenal. Dry alfredo mix, just doesn't cut it for me. Quality sauce takes this recipe to it's fullest potential! Don't skimp and get the packet stuff! This recipe is TO DIE FOR with a quality sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I love this alfredo recipe. It tastes like quality alfredo, contrary to what some have stated. The key to a good alfredo sauce is high quality ingredients. Use real butter, real milk (not skim), fresh grated parmesan (not canned), grate a bit of garlic (instead of powdered) and finally use Neufchatel cheese, rather than cream. All my ingredients were also organic, but that's not necessary. Heat it VERY slowly and keep the heat very low throughout and everything will blend just fine. Fresh, quality ingredients are key to this recipe yielding a quality sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Florentine Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. I made fresh bacon crumbles, and low-sodium mushroom soup. It was great. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Great quick meal for a weeknight. :D Filling, comfort food. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Seared Tuna

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great side item. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Turn out great! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Good. Nice and basic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Mine turned out more like a chicken pot pie than traditional dumplings, but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
It was a little salty for my taste, but I think it will be good next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe, only change i made was adding some semi-sweet chocolate chips. Used a 1 and 1/2 in. cookie scoop and got 6 dozen cookies. Other than that, these turned out great! Little on the sweet side but that is totally personal opinion. Next time I will probably cut out the 1/4c. of both sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I really liked it as is, but to make it even better, I added a little bit of flour (1 tsp) to it for thickening and 1/4 tsp of ground Coriander. After those edits, the finished product was definitely a 5-star for me! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a 4 or 4 1/2 star recipe. I follow the directions exactly, and while it was finishing cooking I realized, "This doesn't have any color." Having never made jambalaya before I didn't realize that it is supposed to have tomato something in it. Well, I added a 6oz. can of tomato paste, and tinkered around with the spices (personal preference) and it was AMAZING!! Adding that can of tomato paste brought it up to a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I followed other reviewers suggestions and added 1/4c. flour 1/2 tsp baking soda and used only 1/2 tsp salt. I also omitted the nuts. They turned out amazing!!! At twelve minutes they don't look fully cooked but resist the urge to let them go a few more minutes. Take them out and let them sit on the cookie sheet for a couple of minutes. They finish cooking and are soo good. Lightly crispy around the edges and chewy, soft on the inside, they were exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This beef stew recipe is a keeper! With a rich, peppery flavor, we were all begging for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Conners

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chappy's Garlic Cheeseburger Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great soup that tastes just like a cheeseburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made this yesterday because I had a bunch of leftover white rice from the night before! OMGosh.. This is AWESOME and just the right amount of everything! This is a keeper! Even my picky hubby loved it! Thanks for sharing!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe was delicious! The cheeses melded together beautifully and it didn't take long for the dish to be demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Conners

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Easy to make....I excluded the oil and vinegar, but added cilantro, lime, and bell pepper!! Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2one

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chappy's Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I put a little extra soy sauce. It turned out to be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States