Birmingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My cheesecake turned out completely awful. Okay, that's a half truth. The cheesecake itself tasted heavenly, but it wont be winning any beauty pageants anytime soon. I'll accent Morena's statement---the destruction of my cheesecake was my own doing. This was my very first attempt at making cheesecake that didn't come from a box (I hate those so very much, but it was what I had been accustomed to). That alone makes it special. I lacked the springform pan (again, all my fault), but all hope wasn't completely lost. There were cracks and at first it seemed mushy in the middle, but after placing it in the freezer for a few hours, it pulled together and tastes amazing. It was thicker than I imagined it would be, and my family loved it. This was only a prototype---one that will be made again and again. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this on a whim and don't regret a second of it. It was easy to make, and came out flawlessly. I don't like tweaking recipes on the first try, but I added a few chopped jalapeno peppers because I had a taste for some heat. Still very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wow! What a great find! I didn't change a thing in the recipe. Sure, my biscuits came out flat and less appealing than the ones featured, but that's entirely my fault since I always seem to make them uneven. Go figure. Despite my kitchen blunders, the biscuits were still light and flaky. They were a big hit with the family too. In fact, they ate them up---literally! Definitely making again (hopefully making it perfect the next go around).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Sweet Cornbread Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This I the BEST cornbread recipe I've found! My kids LOVE it. I don't make as often as I used to because whenever I do, they eat the cornbread first and then don't eat anything else! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Loved it! Grilled boneless chicken breasts were excellent and so juicy, I'll be keeping this one! I only made 1/4 of the recipe for 6 boneless breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Rolled Dumplings

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Delicious dumplings. I recommend rolling them out as thin as possible (around 1/8" or less) before cutting, or they will be too heavy. Rolling them out 1/16"-1/8" gives you a light, noodle-like dumpling. These are NOT the puffy, biscuit dumplings. These are dense and taste more like homemade pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Wow! Delicious and easy...killer combination! I made it according to the recipe except that I added a small can of drained diced green chilies. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. It was one of those breakfast-for-dinner meals, and I served it with fresh fruit. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband said that this was the best thing I had ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Feta and Hot Banana Pepper Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Not bad- needs some more seasoning though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is my go to meatloaf recipe. Delicious!!! I would suggest to also add a lot of ketchup to the meat mixture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I just made this tonight for dinner. It was delicious!! Definitely going into my meal plan rotation. The mixture of teriyaki and ranch really go well together. Intead of bacon bits, though, (yuck) I cooked up some real bacon slices and laid them on the chicken and then covered with the cheese. Mmmmm so good, and my hard working hubby was pleased, as well. Served it with rice and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
AMAZING brownies!!!!! However, I suggest doubling the recipe as the single recipe batter didnt even cover a 8x8 pan. I also used coconut oil instead of vegetable, soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Boston Iced Tea

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made some on Monday and it was very different than what i'm use to, traditional sweet tea. will keep this receipe on hand and make more of it for the summer time. love it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Spinach and Turkey Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Was okay, but not great. Doubt if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Pesto Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Not bad. The chicken needed more flavor. Will try again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Excellent! I kept 3/4 of the strawberries fresh and mashed 1/4. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Will not make again. Soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Lobster Tails

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I've followed this recipe twice and the lobster tails were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Easy Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was good but not great. Doubt if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States