Birmingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Reduced Fat Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Quick and easy- will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made it just like the recipe and my family all loved it! I made 3 pies - one for home and two for church potluck tomorrow! Can't wait to show it off tomorrow! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYFLUZIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Im a relatively new bread maker so I wanted something tried and tested by the Allrecipes family! :) I found this recipe and got to work. I did the recipe exactly as stated, though I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I put the ingredients in the bread machine to kneed the dough but then I put it in a bread pan to rise for 30 mins and then cooked at 375 for 30 mins, as was suggested here. AMAZING! It's melt in your mouth good. Slightly crispy crust and soft inside. I've since made it several times. Favorite recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hilaryhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Filling

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Since I had just bought a 1/2 bushel of fresh Granny Smith apples from the orchards up in N. Georgia Mountains. I followed the advice of a couple of different ladies, because of the juice in the fresh apples. I reduced the water to only 5 cups and went with 24 cups of sliced apples and decreased the amount of cornstarch by 1/3 cup. I have to say that was BRILLIANT. It came out perfect. I used 3 tsp. of Apple Pie Seasonings, and 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 reg. sugar. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Cut the recipe in half and cook it in a bread machine! Just add the yeast last on top of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is STILL one of my favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Absolutely a great recipe. I could not find a red jalapeno pepper so I used two large red chili peppers. I increased the chili powder and cumin to 3 tablespoons each because I like mine a bit more spicy. I always use Conecuh Sausage in my chili recipes so I added 3/4 pound of that, fried and cut into small pieces. I did not have fire roasted tomatoes so I used 1 can of regular Rotel instead. I could not find a Anaheim pepper so I used a Poblano pepper instead. I cooked this in my Crock Pot for 6 hours. Other than these modifications I followed the recipe as written. I considered my personal recipe to be the best out there but this one beat me hands down. It will become my new recipe from now on. Simply a blue ribbon recipe for chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaRed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Rockin' Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
We are still loving it! Got 7 pints yield. This is an awesome recipe!! I'll just add that doing this alone, as I did, the prep time is much longer than 45 mins. I spent about 6 hours total from blanching tomatoes to dropping jars full of salsa into the water bath. I might be a little slow though. Whatever the case, it is worth the effort ... DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmh221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Baked Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Not a winner here. The combo of sugar, syrup and squash flavors just didn't work for our tastes. Going to try some variations with less sweetness added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmh221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I made this salmon recipe tonight, almost exactly as stated. Used the same ingredients and measurements. I did NOT let it marinate because I found it last minute so didnt have time, but it didnt matter. It was delicious! Definitely will be making again. *Hint for baking salmon: Place pan of salmon in a cold oven. Turn oven on to 425 and bake 25 mins. Makes perfect salmon every time, no need to wait for oven to preheat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hilaryhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Five Spice Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Honestly this tasted pretty good but it was not worth the amount of prep time required in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Jalapeno Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was great. Just a little sweet with a hot kick. It was moist and had the perfect density. I accidentally bought cornmeal mix at the store so I had to adjust the recipe for that. I used 3 cups of the mix so I just left out the flour, baking powder and salt. I think I could have used about 1/2 cup more because it took longer to cook. Loved it. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ingrid's Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious! I will never buy bottled Caesar again. I followed the recipe other than I left out the blue cheese dressing because I don't keep it and, honestly, I don't see the point of adding it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Wendy's Whole Wheat Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I submitted this recipe years ago, and it is finally published! Please try it and rate it for me! Thanks! ~Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My husband was skeptical at first, however, this recipe was a hit. I omitted the olives, but otherwise made it exactly as recipe is written. It was my intention to bake it and let it sit overnight (things like this are so much better the next day). However, when I came down to put it in the fridge, my DH had already gotten some of it!! LOL!! We had the rest for dinner the next night and he even took some to work. His co-worker (who is a bachelor) thought it looked so good that he asked if he could have some if any was left. He loved it as well. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Excellent and great flavor. Easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tips and Noodles

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very good recipe. I continue to make this about once a month for the family. The only difference in my recipe is that I put this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Wontons

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Not the easiest app to make, but it is very tasty. Get ready for a mess then enjoy some good finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ranch Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I used the recommendations and left out the eggs and crackers as well as used one package of Ranch dressing per pound of meat-2 in this case because my husband likes a ground beef/ground sirloin mix. I added 2tsp of Worcestershire and 1 capful of Dale's seasoning sauce and this was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Icebox Pie III

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
So easy and always a family pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bugosh Clan
Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States