Birmingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great meatloaf; I saute the onions and green pepper first and use a little more steak sauce than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was fabulous! Made the first batch exactly as written and loved it. The second batch I doubled - the only change was (based on other reviews), was that I added tomato sauce and diced tomatoes. It is now one of our favorite soups! Served with crusty baguette for dipping. I really can't express how well these flavors blend together sand compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Toll House® Blonde Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Good recipe, not too sweet, but in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Garlic Parmesan Breadsticks

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made these and they were heavenly, but I made so many changes it's an entirely different recipe that I will submit later. A hint though would be to just take some of the tips from the few other breadstick recipes here to make the kind of breadstick you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy White Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very good! I ended up cooking mine in a crock pot. Cooked the chicken in the broth for a few hours. Shredded the chicken and Then added everything else. I took a short cut and used dried minced onions and garlic powder. Also added another can of beans and shredded cheddar on top of each bowl. This is a very good recipe. I think you could add extra sour cream instead of the heavy cream if you didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Preacher Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Make 'em all the time. They're a great, quick way to whip up a tasty treat. Eat 'em warm and gooey or let them cool and firm up; either way they're a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delish! If you do not have the plain yogurt on hand, the same amount of sour cream also works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
As others stated, this recipe needs to be doubled to feed a family. I also added a little vanilla, only 2 tablespoons of vinegar for a doubled recipe (I usually use 1 T vinegar per 1 cup of milk), and a little extra milk because I thought the batter was too thick. These were much better than a box mix, and I always have these ingredients on hand. They were a great Sunday evening breakfast for supper, with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Oh I loved this recipe! It was all around fun for me, the ingredients were easy to gather and everything pulled together nicely in the end. My friends couldn't keep their sticky little fingers out of the cheesecake and needless to say, I didn't even get a big slice for myself. Obviously I'll be making TWO of them the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I will follow the advise of others and increase the brown sugar, If not for the chocolate chips, they wouldn't be very sweet. I think more brown sugar would make it decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Easy Swedish Apple Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Worked fine, I chopped all my apples up small and sifted them with sugar and cinnamon. Just make sure the top spreads, edge to edge. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I left out the ginger and will try this again. It was a spicy sugar cookie at best. Texture was nice but I wanted a more cracked top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These were great! Very good Peanut butter taste. The only thing I didn't do is, use the milk. After other reviews about the dough not being easy to work with, I opted to leave it out. I dip my fork into water to stop it from sticking to make the marks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
It got eaten, fast, and this was much easier than the more complicated ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Crumb Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Pretty good. I would put in a smaller pan next time probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this cake, with all of the substitutions suggested by the user wilddaycare which included adding 1 cup of sour cream, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup of water, 1/3 cup of veg oil, 1tsp of vanilla flavor, and I used 1/2 bottle of red food coloring and it was the perfect tint. I give the cake 3 stars because based on the revisions I made, the cake was very, very moist and good, however, it tasted NOTHING like a red velvet cake. I honestly don't think it would have been anything compared to this without the revisions. My husband said it tasted like a chocolate cake that so happen to be red lol. The texture of the cake was different. I will try the recipe again, but will try other substitutions suggested by other users such as using buttermilk instead of water, possibly adding coa coa and a little vinegar. Oh I made cream cheese frosting fro scratch so this made the cake even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a great recipe but it definitely takes longer than 10 minutes for the cranberries to 'pop'. The end result is worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I rated this 4 stars because of my alterations. I used a 16oz bag of frozen mixed vegetables. I added 1/2 onion (chopped fine), 1 clove of garlic (minced) and 3 jalapeno peppers (diced and de-veined). Saute'd the onion, garlic and peppers in olive oil. Added salt and pepper to taste. The next time I do this I plan to use 1/2 cup of chicken broth to moisten a little more. Oh, and I added 1 tablespoon of crushed chicken bouillon cube. I could not stop eating this. WARNING! If you are on a diet, do not make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaRed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I bake mine in a Pampered Chef's Bundt Pan! a great coffee/cake type of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States