Birmingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the best cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious! My husband said they were possibly the best pancakes he's ever had. I added half a teaspoon of vanilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Bowl Bites

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
They're messy making them difficult finger food, but they are oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Wonderful. Throw in some protein and this is a meal by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent! Not dry like others......as long as you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've been thinking about making coq au vin for a while and finally settled on this recipe after watching the video. Perfection!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent. Less dry than others, if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pancake Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
My husband and I thought this was pretty good, but certainly not a 5-star. There was something about it that is a little off. It is basically a cake with some cheese and bacon on top. The word "casserole" in the name threw me off a little. It is not what I consider a casserole. If I were to make it again, I would leave the cheese off of the top. The crumbled bacon is a good flavor with maple syrup, but cheese is just weird with syrup. This was a trial run to decide whether to make this in the cabin for Thanksgiving breakfast with our family, and I am not feeling real confident about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I do tweak this recipe, but the basics are the same. I make a paste using 1T olive oil, 1T kosher salt, 1/4tsp black pepper, 1/2t rosemary, 1/2t dried thyme. Cover the roast with the paste (top, bottom, both ends) and I cook just as directed. I have never had a bad roast using this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Cornbread Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe. If you add chicken thighs to the pot with your chicken breasts (and increase the water accordingly) the liquid you reserve will be much more rich and flavorful. (You can skin the chicken thighs after cooking and use them in giblet gravy, for chicken salad, or for BBQ chicken sandwiches on a different day. (The meat freezes well to be reheated for sandwiches later.) Doing this made the dressing MUCH more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Houck Fendlason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this as a change of pace last Christmas and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out bland and almost inedible. In fact, the family had PB&J that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Maybe not the healthiest of recipes, but DELISH!! Used 1can of golden mushroom and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Everything else was by the original recipe and it was wonderful. A perfect fall entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Ice Cream Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because the grandchildren loved it. But, honestly, to me it just tasted like a dish full of ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This recipe was very easy, but the taste was just average to me. Sort of meh. The ranch made it tangy/almost sour tasting (next time I think I will try HVR Fiesta Ranch mix) and overall, I thought it tasted too greasy. I'm not a serious hot wings lover, however, so that might have shaped my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Houck Fendlason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was very yummy! My kids enjoyed licking the leftovers out of the bowl and frosting the cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Creamy Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Oh I am in love with this recipe. On the night I prepared it, there was a big storm coming through which killed the power as I was cutting the mushrooms. But instead of placing this on the back burner, I followed through it with estimated measurements and the backlight of my cellphone to guide me. Originally I wanted the soup to be creamier, but without power, blenders and mixers were out of the question (there wasn't sufficient lighting to cut the mushrooms and I for one love my fingers). Even through it all, this soup came out as a smash hit. There weren't any major changes added here except chicken broth being replaced with beef, and both white and portabella mushrooms being used in the place of shiitake. A few more spices were added, but that's neither here nor there. A friend of mine try this soup reheated yesterday (she's my food guinea pig ---always up to taste my concoctions). Not only did she fall in love with this, but she has even asked that I make a larger batch this weekend. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I have made this twice and loved it. Instead of a jar of enchilada sauce I used a recipe from this site and made my own. Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas and that is what I used. Followed recipe exact except to add a little Cumin to the skillet while cooking the chicken. Really good stuff here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Green Tomato and Bell Pepper Delight

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Thought it was great. Easy, and a great way to use up those green tomatoes before frost. I usually fry the last of the green tomatoes, but no more, this is just good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States