Birmingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Lynn

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love this recipe, I used leftover cinnamon crunch and blueberry bagels. I had enough bagels to make two recipes, one to serve, one for the freezer! Served with the Vanilla Sauce and my guest were impressed! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Wafer Cookies That Are Better Than Storebought

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was an amazing recipe for me, was just looking for an easy basic cookie for the family. This was prefect and easy. Tastes just a little sweet in my opinion but just like a nilla wafer except tastes WAY better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tried this as written....Outstanding! This is a very, very, good dish. You could change it fifty different ways, but why???? It's great as written. The cumin makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
My entire family loves this recipe as-is. It is basic (which my kids like), but could easily be added to or enhanced, as many reviewers here have done. However, at some point, it's not even the same recipe, so one or two tips for readers are great, but if you've added or changed tons of ingredients, then just submit your own recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe! The changes would make: 1) Use the traditional Sunbeam dinner rolls--the sauce absorbs better into the bread, and you can bake them in the pan provided too! 2) Use less butter--I think 1/2 Cup would be plenty so it's not so oily/greasy 3) Possibly? Pour 1/2 of sauce over sandwiches before adding the top bread, then pour the rest over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Serve cashews on the side. They get soggy if eaten leftover if they are mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
As written this is a very quick, good tasting recipe.Perfect for two, four or sixty. Chicken breasts has no flavor, but this topping makes it taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING! Please do not omit the beer because you don't think you like beer. The beer adds a totally deeper taste to this soup! I used Corona and cooked it in the soup on the stove top since I didn't have time to slow cook this. I also used Taco Seasoning 1 recipe by Bill Echols on this site which was delightful! Overall, this is my new go to Mexican Soup recipe I'll use from now on! My husband LOVED this and now calls it Corona Soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I will never buy taco seasoning again! :) i used this in Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup a recipe by RaisinKane aka Patti from this website and it was the best seasoning for the best Mexican soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is delicious! So easy and I couldn't believe how moist the chicken came out! My kids ate every bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Summer Pasta

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This needed too many modifications and it was still somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Parmesan Monkey Bread

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This is a great way to keep from making bread all day, with proofing several times, and the taste is really good. Nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is a favorite in my house every winter. My daughter absolutely loves it, and she's a very picky eater. Changes I made per reviewers-I always use a rotisserie chicken from Walmart or Publix. I put the whole chicken in the pot with all of the ingredients and then once I have a good boil going, I take the chicken out and debone it and remove the skin. Saves a lot of time and adds a lot of flavor. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cadillac Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It was just ok. I've only had pimento cheese twice before in my life so I don't have a lot to draw from, but this seemed a bit bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margaritas

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have been looking for a simple margarita recipe and this is the one!! It is absolutely delicious. The change I made, per reviewers suggestions, is I used Grand Marinier instead of triple sec. My daughter is training to be a bartender and she said it was as good as the one they make at the Country Club where she is working for summer. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made this dish for a party at work. I have never had a seven layer salad before so I had no idea how it was suppose to taste. The changes I made based on the other reviewers--I added 1 pound of ground beef as the second layer (after the beans), I added 1/2 pack of taco seasonings to the sour cream, use thick and chunky salsa and I left out the lettuce. The party started at 11:00. I went to get food at 11:15 and the salad was already half gone and one co-worker was just hanging out by the bowl. By 11:45 there was nothing left. Everyone raved on how great this was!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Absolutely the best chicken ever. Seemed like a strange combo to me at first but I'm SO glad we tried this. I use the "real" bacon bits in a jar and mix honey with honey dijon mustard and it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Veggies

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Wonderful. I took the advice and added honey and then marinaded in fridge for 2 hours in a ziploc bag. I didn't add any other seasoning. Next time I will use low sodium soy sauce but otherwise this was great and the flavor of the veggies was not overwhelmed. I have a 12 year old who will not eat ANY veggies (sigh) and she said this was "ok" which is a five star rating coming from her, since she spits out most veggies!! Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My cheesecake turned out completely awful. Okay, that's a half truth. The cheesecake itself tasted heavenly, but it wont be winning any beauty pageants anytime soon. I'll accent Morena's statement---the destruction of my cheesecake was my own doing. This was my very first attempt at making cheesecake that didn't come from a box (I hate those so very much, but it was what I had been accustomed to). That alone makes it special. I lacked the springform pan (again, all my fault), but all hope wasn't completely lost. There were cracks and at first it seemed mushy in the middle, but after placing it in the freezer for a few hours, it pulled together and tastes amazing. It was thicker than I imagined it would be, and my family loved it. This was only a prototype---one that will be made again and again. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this on a whim and don't regret a second of it. It was easy to make, and came out flawlessly. I don't like tweaking recipes on the first try, but I added a few chopped jalapeno peppers because I had a taste for some heat. Still very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States