Birmingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this as a change of pace last Christmas and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out bland and almost inedible. In fact, the family had PB&J that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Maybe not the healthiest of recipes, but DELISH!! Used 1can of golden mushroom and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Everything else was by the original recipe and it was wonderful. A perfect fall entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Ice Cream Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because the grandchildren loved it. But, honestly, to me it just tasted like a dish full of ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This recipe was very easy, but the taste was just average to me. Sort of meh. The ranch made it tangy/almost sour tasting (next time I think I will try HVR Fiesta Ranch mix) and overall, I thought it tasted too greasy. I'm not a serious hot wings lover, however, so that might have shaped my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Houck Fendlason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was very yummy! My kids enjoyed licking the leftovers out of the bowl and frosting the cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Creamy Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Oh I am in love with this recipe. On the night I prepared it, there was a big storm coming through which killed the power as I was cutting the mushrooms. But instead of placing this on the back burner, I followed through it with estimated measurements and the backlight of my cellphone to guide me. Originally I wanted the soup to be creamier, but without power, blenders and mixers were out of the question (there wasn't sufficient lighting to cut the mushrooms and I for one love my fingers). Even through it all, this soup came out as a smash hit. There weren't any major changes added here except chicken broth being replaced with beef, and both white and portabella mushrooms being used in the place of shiitake. A few more spices were added, but that's neither here nor there. A friend of mine try this soup reheated yesterday (she's my food guinea pig ---always up to taste my concoctions). Not only did she fall in love with this, but she has even asked that I make a larger batch this weekend. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I have made this twice and loved it. Instead of a jar of enchilada sauce I used a recipe from this site and made my own. Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas and that is what I used. Followed recipe exact except to add a little Cumin to the skillet while cooking the chicken. Really good stuff here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaRed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Green Tomato and Bell Pepper Delight

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Thought it was great. Easy, and a great way to use up those green tomatoes before frost. I usually fry the last of the green tomatoes, but no more, this is just good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Dipped Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
If you want really crispy fried chicken, here it is. It works on whole cut up chicken, boneless skinless breasts, or boneless skinless thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
As for the debate on corn or flour tortillas in this recipe, if you go to any Mexican restaurant and order an enchilada, it will be made with a corn tortilla. The thing to remember is this is just a recipe, not a statement against or for any ethnicity. I for one favor the corn tortilla when I make my enchiladas. I found this version to be very good with my own addition of spices to Mex it up a little bit. I also added the sliced tomato on top as per the picture provided. It did make this recipe unique and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaRed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
86 the margarine. Use 2/3 c melted butter instead. Granny Smith apples or Fuji apples usually work best. Place apples in greased pan. In a bowl mix dry ingredients with egg to make crumbly topping, pour over apples evenly. Add melted butter, drizzled over top. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Best if NOT refrigerated a after cooking, even if it sits overnight (makes crumbles chewy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The first time I made this was on New Years Eve. I was pretty skeptical since I'm not big on blue cheese, but figured it would taste better than ranch of all things *blech*. A few people in my group shared their skepticism as well. Most either hate hot foods or just don't care for the taste of blue cheese either. Even so, I'm someone who likes to be adventurous, and the finished product in the video looked so amazing that I couldn't ignore this recipe any longer. The end result was perfect. In fact, every single person who shared their doubts about it (myself included) wound up coming back for seconds and then thirds. By New Years day the bowl was literally picked clean. I have made this again during the Super Bowl season, and will be making it in the near future. Highly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
So easy and SO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Ice Cream IV

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was very good. I switched the mayo for sour cream. Sauteed(low medium heat) the onion (1 medium) with the chicken(cut into bite size pieces) in olive oil. Used two cloves of garlic instead of the powder, also sauteed with the chicken and onion. Everything else was done as the recipe called for. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaRed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Garden Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Too much salad dressing, way too much, I try to try every recipe as written, and this was over powering with salad dressing. My biggest gripe is with measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love this recipe, I used leftover cinnamon crunch and blueberry bagels. I had enough bagels to make two recipes, one to serve, one for the freezer! Served with the Vanilla Sauce and my guest were impressed! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Wafer Cookies That Are Better Than Storebought

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was an amazing recipe for me, was just looking for an easy basic cookie for the family. This was prefect and easy. Tastes just a little sweet in my opinion but just like a nilla wafer except tastes WAY better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States