Birmingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
We make this every Halloween before going trick or treating. It's really good and festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Perfect. Just... perfect. Like others stated I was put off by the thin batter. I'm such a kitchen klutz (and a regular klutz) that I figured I had missed a step or ingredient somewhere. Convinced that the cake was ruined, I took the loss and put it into the stove anyway. What came out after nearly 55 minutes (40 minnutes wasn't enough. The cake was still really wet) was pure bliss. It was chocolaty. It was moist. My mom thoroughly enjoyed it, though initially she wanted nothing to do with the cake out of fear that it would taste like coffee (but who doesn't like coffee? Weird). I couldn't find a single hint of it in the cake. Just a rich chocolate flavor. Too bad in my hurry I opted for frosting-in-a-can. Nothing wrong with it, but I'd love to make a frosting that pairs with it. Definitely my new go-to chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Double Chocolate Brownie Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Just baked this cake to take for thanksgiving dinner and it looks wonderful. I tasted the batter and it was awesome good and I tasted a few crumbs from the cake and it was rich and moist and chocolatey. Mind you, I'm not a girl crazy about chocolate cake. I did this at my family's request. These are the adjustments I made based on the suggestions from the reviews: 1. Duncan Hines devil's food cake mix 2. Exact amount of pudding mix and eggs 3. Light sour cream 4. 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup melted pure butter 5. Chocolate milk (whole milk) instead of water 6. 1 cup of mini chocolate chips instead of 2 cups 7. 1/2 tsp almond flavor 8. Stir chips in a little bit of the cake mix to prevent chips from sinking 9. Dust cocoa powder in pan 10. Since I only had a small bundt pan, I used part of the batter to make 5 cupcakes and the rest of the batter in the bundt pan so that the batter would not spill over. 11. Cupcakes were done in about 20 minutes 12. Cake was done in about 50 minutes 13. I cooked in a 325 degree oven The house smells like the holidays and I can't wait to slice it up after dinner. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Crenshaw Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the best cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious! My husband said they were possibly the best pancakes he's ever had. I added half a teaspoon of vanilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Bowl Bites

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
They're messy making them difficult finger food, but they are oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Wonderful. Throw in some protein and this is a meal by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent! Not dry like others......as long as you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've been thinking about making coq au vin for a while and finally settled on this recipe after watching the video. Perfection!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent. Less dry than others, if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pancake Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
My husband and I thought this was pretty good, but certainly not a 5-star. There was something about it that is a little off. It is basically a cake with some cheese and bacon on top. The word "casserole" in the name threw me off a little. It is not what I consider a casserole. If I were to make it again, I would leave the cheese off of the top. The crumbled bacon is a good flavor with maple syrup, but cheese is just weird with syrup. This was a trial run to decide whether to make this in the cabin for Thanksgiving breakfast with our family, and I am not feeling real confident about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I do tweak this recipe, but the basics are the same. I make a paste using 1T olive oil, 1T kosher salt, 1/4tsp black pepper, 1/2t rosemary, 1/2t dried thyme. Cover the roast with the paste (top, bottom, both ends) and I cook just as directed. I have never had a bad roast using this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Cornbread Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe. If you add chicken thighs to the pot with your chicken breasts (and increase the water accordingly) the liquid you reserve will be much more rich and flavorful. (You can skin the chicken thighs after cooking and use them in giblet gravy, for chicken salad, or for BBQ chicken sandwiches on a different day. (The meat freezes well to be reheated for sandwiches later.) Doing this made the dressing MUCH more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Houck Fendlason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this as a change of pace last Christmas and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out bland and almost inedible. In fact, the family had PB&J that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Maybe not the healthiest of recipes, but DELISH!! Used 1can of golden mushroom and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Everything else was by the original recipe and it was wonderful. A perfect fall entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Ice Cream Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because the grandchildren loved it. But, honestly, to me it just tasted like a dish full of ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This recipe was very easy, but the taste was just average to me. Sort of meh. The ranch made it tangy/almost sour tasting (next time I think I will try HVR Fiesta Ranch mix) and overall, I thought it tasted too greasy. I'm not a serious hot wings lover, however, so that might have shaped my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Houck Fendlason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was very yummy! My kids enjoyed licking the leftovers out of the bowl and frosting the cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States