Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I live in Chicagoland and had to introduce my Midwestern coworkers to pimento cheese - they loved it! My husband and I discovered this recipe & make it at least once a month. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Mexican Inspired Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Used orange peppers, but stuck to the recipe otherwise - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
We loved this! Husband was skeptical, but ended up eating almost all of the half-batch that I made. A great Meatless Monday option added to our menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Adding flour & seasonings directly to the meat in the crock pot and skipping the whole pre-browning step resulted in an amazing broth - only other difference: I didn't have beef broth, so I added a packet of brown gravy mix. Superb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Easy & delicious - the fresh jalapeño peppers were very mild, so use a spicier sausage if you want extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Chocolate Plum Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I soaked the raisins in wine, then used the same wine to make a wine sauce to serve over the top. Instead of baking, I steamed my pudding cake for about 1/2 hour in antique Jell-o tin molds (they hold just a bit more than a poaching cup does). Steaming needs to be done in 2 batches (making 12 servings in all). The pudding cake was fine, but my idea of the wine sauce made it extra sweet! I am used to very spicy plum puddings, so will add more spices like allspice, ginger, and orange peel next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This is my go-to method for prime rib! I have a son with Asperger's who is very, very particular about what he will and won't eat, and he absolutely LOVES prime rib. The only thing I do different is I use 2tsp crushed garlic rather than herbes de Provence. I mix the garlic with butter and kosher salt, and spread over the roast before cooking. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russell's Fish Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This was delicious! I used some frozen haddock, which was perfect for this soup because it is a firm, flavorful fish that melds perfectly with the other flavors of this stew. I also substituted two cans of minced clams with the juice for the clam juice for added texture and flavor. My husband and I enjoyed every drop of this delicious, perfectly balanced soup. I toasted french bread in the oven to a very crisp, crouton-like state and floated it in the soup. Will make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Lemon Cream Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I loved this recipe, though I did make one change. I added the juice and zest of a whole lemon to the cake batter. It turned out like a giant lemon bar. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Haynes
Living In: Dutton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Spiced Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I didn't have black mustard seed, so just used the jar labelled mustard seed. Because of no microwave, I steamed the cauliflower and added it to the onion mixture. This is a great tasting way to serve cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Healthy Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I subbed cauliflower for the broccoli. I guess I like "crunch" in a salad, so next time I might add some chopped onion. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

10-Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I used 1 T less sugar, and that was plenty sweet enough for us! Because of no microwave, I steamed this for 15 minutes each brownie. Wonderful idea when you don't want to be tempted by a pan full of brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Michelle's Honeybun Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Didn't change a thing and it's WONDERFUL! Tastes like the very best honeybun in the world. I'm trying not to eat the whole thing before the kids get home. Mine only took 30 minutes to bake. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Ranch Chicken Casserole III

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
First I cut the recipe in half. Just my hubby and I.replaced diced toms for same amount of salsa, Used left over Costco chicken. This is the 3rd time I made it and hubby wants me to prepare it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA

Grammy's Easy Blackberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I was looking for something easy, delicious and quick. This was perfect.Did not change anything. Too good to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA

Stir-Fried Sweet and Sour Vegetables

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is very savory. I made quite a few changes because of what I had available. Used agar instead of palm sugar, broccoli instead of cauliflower, orange juice instead of lime, chicken broth instead of fish sauce, no cucumber, corn, peas, or tomato. Squeezed 1/2 tsp lemon on veggies at very end before serving. Super savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Reed-Harris

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a great recipe! I love the fact they have you proof the yeast first. This is a step left out of many recipes. I added about 1/2 tsp more of yeast. I also have made this recipe with more sugar. All versions have been delicious so far. I make this recipe without a mixer or bread machine. It is SO easy to do by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Reed-Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Taco Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My family raved about this sauce. I served it on blackened fish tacos. My husband said it was better than any he had ever had. I substituted 1/2 cup sour cream for 1/2 cup of the heavy cream. I did not have Serrano chili peppers so I substituted about a tsp of some sauce from a can of adobe peppers I had in my pantry. This is an excellent base recipe and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My family raved about this sauce. I served it on blackened fish tacos. My husband said it was better than any he had ever had. I substituted 1/2 cup sour cream for 1/2 cup of the heavy cream. I did not have Serrano chili peppers so I substituted about a tsp of some sauce from a can of adobe peppers I had in my pantry. This is an excellent base recipe and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Great cookies !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States