Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Beef Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Mmmmmm! Very good! I subbed milk for half half and I used 2 tbs if coffee creamer to make it creamier. I also subbed a tsp rice vinegar for the sherry. I also used red onions. I puréed the mixture a little too much but was still very good. The flavors balanced very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Healthy Sweet Potato Wraps

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used chopped garlic, and omitted the BBQ sauce. I served tomato slices on the side. This is great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Whole Wheat Pita Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Even though I didn't care for the smell of the soy flour, these taste great! These burn quickly at the very high temperature! This is the first time I''ve made pita bread, and I think it went well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Seasoning Mix II

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Excellent!!! I will not buy package mix again. Omit flour add 2tbs cornstarch for gluten free. Less spicy decrease red pepper to 1/2 to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Love it!! Very versatile to adapt to sweet or savory filling. I added about 1tbs sugar as I was planning on lightly sweetened strawberries. Yum! Perfect wrapper for lots of fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Fillets Italiano

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I 3 tilapia fillets and a can of italian stewed tomatoes. Also included greek seasoning, 2 tsp italian seasoning. No salt though because I figured the olives were enough. I included cornstarch to make the sauce less watery. My husband liked it better than I did. I served it with couscous and spinach, could have used some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Rice Elena

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I didn't add chillies--added crabmeat, cut spinach, cooked egg and grated carrots. I also used Mexican cheese which had Monterey Jack. Also a difference in the rice --I used the typical rice vinegar, sugar and salt recipe for sushi since I had left over sushi rice. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Broccoli

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Great recipe! I used powdered garlic and it was still good :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Focaccia di Recco

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Fun, simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Jane Rist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
If you think this is vinegary, you are using the wrong balsamic vinegar. You can't get the $5 bottle and think it will work. Added garlic to this and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My stepdaughter, who loves crab cakes, but does not like fish, loved this recipe. It's a winner and very easy to make. I browned them for 6 minutes each side and they came out perfect. I used regular yellow mustard in place of dijon mustard and it was fine. This will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. This did not stay around very long. My family loved it. Highly recommend. I made it in the pressure cooker and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I liked this, but I can't get my breadcrumbs crispy. I tried it on pork chops, and maybe that's my problem. Must try again on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnn Williams Jones

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is one of my favorite soup recipes! I have made it several times and my family loves it! I would definitely recommend that you double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Williams Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I found these bland. Doubt if I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Amazing Chocolate Quinoa Cake!

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I cut the recipe in half, and used 1/4 cup butter instead of 3/8 cup, and 1/2 cup honey in place of the sugar. I completely omitted the chocolate chips. It took 40 minutes to bake in a 9" pie pan. This fantastic gluten free recipe was sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Peanut Butter and Amaranth Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I cut the recipe in half, using only whole wheat flour, but keeping the egg whole. I must have made mine smaller than yours (my yield with half a recipe was 3 dozen!), because they were done in the 375 oven in 8 minutes! I love the taste, texture and smell of these wonderful cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I've made substitutions in the recipe and those are what "make it" for me! Instead of the fresh herbs, I used 1 tsp. each of the dried rosemary, sage and thyme. If you decide to use the fresh, increase the amounts, "to taste". I also seasoned with salt & pepper which the recipe doesn't call for. Sometimes it's hard to find a small red chili pepper (which is very hot and you should wear gloves when chopping)and so I found a "chili pepper paste in a tube in the cold section where they keep the fresh herbs etc. and I use a tsp. of that. Making it in this way I get rave reviews and everyone wants the recipe! I love this soup! I loved it the first time I made it but I also remember "making it my own" by seasoning it up to my liking. Most recipes are not going to come out "perfect". They are going to have to be adjusted to each ones individual tastes and that means more or less seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Photo by sueb

Gracie's Amazing Vegetarian Burritos

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Spicy and filling! Easy to make! I kept the onions, garlic, beans,and spices in one pan, while the rice and corn were in another pan. Then, I layered the bean mixture and the rice mixture onto the tortilla shells. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Vegan Sweet Potato Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is spicy and sweet! It's a great combination! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States