Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lety23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Corned Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
The sweet glaze against the saltiness of the corned beef was delicious. My husband and I really enjoyed it! Typically, I go with the Guinness glaze/onions, etc, but I think I like this better. It's faster to prepare too. As most of the other reviewers recommend, I did modify the cooking method, and it turned out perfectly! I cooked in a crock pot with the seasoning packet and a cup of water for 8 hours. That evening, I glazed it and put it in the oven for 25min at 350. It was the perfect consistency. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Banana, Chocolate, and Almond Breakfast Oatmeal

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This oatmeal was really good, and an awesome source of potassium! I expected it to be bland, but it's great. I cut the recipe in half because I only wanted one serving, and it still worked out great. I also left out the almonds. If you don't like bananas, and you want to try to find a way to eat them to get that potassium in your tummy, this is a great thing to make! That's why I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
The smoothie isn't what it looks like in the picture, and it's really difficult to make it not chunky. It's a tad bitter, and I thought it would be sweeter. I've had worse smoothies, and I don't mean to give this one a hard time, but it let me down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Fried 'Rice'

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I'm giving this recipe a high rating because I think it is good, but I'll warn you (if you seriously hate cauliflower as I do) don't expect a miracle. The texture is spot on. The flavor of the other elements in the dish is fantastic, BUT I hate the residual flavor left in my mouth when I eat cauliflower (that earthy, almost dirt-like taste and that "green" aftertaste in the back of my throat that reminds me of the aftertaste of Brussels sprouts...) This is a good dish and the carb count is fantastic, BUT I still taste the cauliflower. The aftertaste is still there. The dish itself is good; I'm just weird. Bleh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Houck Fendlason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Peanut Butter-Filled Crepes with Warm Chocolate Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
So sweet they should be a dessert, not a breakfast item! I used spelt flour, which cooked up into nice crepes. The peanut butter mix was difficult to spread on the delicate crepes; I was concerned they would tear, it really needs to be thinner! The combination of the rich chocolate and the fat in the cream seemed to make the sauce extremely sweet; maybe a few drizzles would have been more appropriate than trying to cover the crepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Italiano

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made the recipe for two and didn't measure the ingredients. I sautéed the garlic, onion and mushrooms and steamed the broccoli. It's ok, felt like it all hadn't melded yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Honey-Ginger Grilled Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Pretty good. I marinated for an hour. I cooked and thickened the extra sauce but as I was stirring and tasting it, it was very salty. I didn't end up adding it to the finished salmon. The salmon that was baked in the sauce didn't taste salty, only the sauce that I cooked separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by sueb

Erin's Irish Creme Liqueur

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Easy to make. Just melt the chocolate chips and butter in a double boiler without a microwave. So smooth and creamy! This was definitely worth trying, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Chocolate Chip Softies

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I forgot the vanilla. I still liked them and thought hoe much better they'd be had i remembered lol! I think adding other kinds of sweeteners in sub for the brown sugar may taste good as well. Also almond extract would be even better I bet. Going to try that next time. This is the perfect recipe for that last almost overly ripe banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Too many ingrediants for one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Watch the video to make this recipe, it is a big help. Although it is an easy recipe, salting, washing, and drying the eggplant is time consuming. I also added the garlic and basil. I tried some pieces with lemon juice but prefer the eggplant without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Cream of Asparagus and Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
What a great soup and I love the fact that in the end you still have bits of Asparagus not pureed. It was also a nice touch having the bacon pieces on top. I did have to make one small sub but I don't think it changed it much. I only had 5 cups of chicken broth so I did use 1 cup of vegetable broth. The only reason I gave it a 4 was that I have had another Asparagus soup from this site that was better, but please try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by ahlastein0418

Cinnamon-Accented French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Was quick and tasted great. Just what I needed on mornings when baseball/softball games are early and we need a quick bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlastein0418

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Quaalude

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Delicious--I used half ounces of each instead and subbed 2% milk for cream. I also topped it off with a little coca cola as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Guinness® Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I used Raz-ber-rita as the ale in this bread that I spread into a 9"x13" pan. The baking time was 35 minutes in a 350 oven. I made frosting using butter, Raz-ber-rita,and powdered sugar. Fantastic recipe! I think this will be a snack rather than a coffee cake type of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New England Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This is really good. I fry up bacon and sautee the onions and celery in the bacon drippings. The bacon is crumbled and served as a garnish on top. I also use 2 cups of half n half and add milk as needed. I heat the half n half in the microwave and mix in the flour when warm. This helps dissolve the flour and the lumps. I normally do not add peas (kids don't like). I have made it with ham and without and both are really good. One more thing, I add a couple dashes of hot sauce to give it a little more flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Harvey Ham Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Kids said they were really sweet. And if the kids think they are sweet, than they must be. Nobody ate much of it. These looked so good, too. I will try again and work on toning down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I bring this to work for potlucks. I use chicken broth instead of water and the granules. I have also used canned green beans with great results. I throw everything in together, including potatoes (red potatoes) and let it go. It's a great taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Idaho Fry Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Giving it a 4 since it is much better than ketchup and mayo but I needed more spice myself. Made as directed but cut the sugar in half (enough in the ketchup). After using it a bit I then added more onion powder, paprika, salt and dry mustard but really looking for more of a kick. I did enjoy it though but next time, I think I'll try doubling the seasonings or add some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States