Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Couple tips I can give is to (1) dry the meat after marinating between paper towels. This will help the process, since you are trying to dry the meat. The flavor is already absorbed from marinating. Mine marinated for about 36 hours. (2) I sprinkled the dry seasonings on the meat first and then poured the wet ingredients on. I found this easier to incorporate. (3)I used the oven at 170 degrees F instead of a dehydrator. I bought a sirloin roast and sliced it super thin. It took about 2-3 hours. I turned them after an hour and about every 20-30 minutes after that. This is my first time making jerky and I can't believe how good it is. Oh, I also added a 1/4 cup water to the mix to cut back on the salt from the other reviewers complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the best cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Three stars because it actually tasted good, but the whole cooking process was just strange. In all my years of cooking, I have never seen instructions like that. All you really gotta do is brown your butter, add the other veggies along with the broth, simmer til the vegetables are done. Then add your thickener - in this case, flour and melted butter. Then you add the milk and the cheese. It turned out great this way, and only took me and my daughter about a half hour to make it. Simmering the already thickened broth/milk for 20 minutes? Then adding the vegetables and cooking them for another 20 minutes? Seems to me that the recipe instructions are actually written in reverse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Fried Asparagus

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Simple, quick and very good. Love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by MommySmith

Applesauce Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
The streusel ingredients threw me off because I'm use to cutting in cold butter for streusel toppings. I prepared as instructed and it's worth 3 stars as it because it was okay. I added 2 more slices of bread to the recipe to thicken it up, changed the brown sugar amount to 2/3 cups, and added 3 tbsp melted butter to the bread mixture. I cut in 2 tbsp cold butter with the streusel ingredient which made a beautiful and thick topping. The Mott's in this recipe was a really nice flavor add and I think with the changes its a 4-5 star recipe. It taste better also when reheated after the flavors had a chance to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Chicken Chile Spaghetti

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was so delicious! I got two rotisserie chickens and pulled the meat from them. I sautéed the onion, bell pepper, and celery with about 4 tbsp of butter and then added it to the rest in my crock pot. I cooked it on low for two hours. I then cooked the pasta, al dente, and added it in for the last hour. The flavor in this dish is amazing. I topped it with mozzarella cheese. This stuff is pure comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious! My husband said they were possibly the best pancakes he's ever had. I added half a teaspoon of vanilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This came out really think. More like mashed potatoes than soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Bowl Bites

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
They're messy making them difficult finger food, but they are oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Wonderful. Throw in some protein and this is a meal by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent! Not dry like others......as long as you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've been thinking about making coq au vin for a while and finally settled on this recipe after watching the video. Perfection!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made at 2014 Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetGafneaBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
We make this every year at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetGafneaBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Excellent. Less dry than others, if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Wow! This recipe tastes absolutely wonderful! I suggest using the cooking vanilla pudding to make sure the cream cheese and sweetened condensed milk get fully incorporated with one another. This is a recipe I will use again and again. Got rave reviews from everyone AND it's nice to say, "Just make your banana pudding recipe and whip in softened cream cheese and sweetened condensed milk" when everyone's asking for the recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken with Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I'd give it an ok so so rating. The taste... after (taking several suggestions from comments and ideas of other cooks) incorporating them into this dish made it better. Appearance wise I give it minus one... The stuffing turns to something that looks like dog couldn't keep down. I have an idea of how to resurrect this dish that may be a hit by replacing the stuffing with pasta and other alterations? If feedback from my critics is positive I will share it; the dish has potential but the gooy gluey stuffing needs a replacement and go somewhere else, not in a crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyson (Ty) Maltby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

Creamy Zucchini and Spinach Rigatoni

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was yummy, yes, a little cheesy but hey. The zucchini and spinach really added a great taste. Not sure how a couple of the comments said it was bland. I didn't think so at all. They must have left something out or added something extra. I used Veggie Rotini and my zucchini were a bit small so I used 2. Can't wait to taste it tomorrow after hearing how it tasted as leftovers. I will say if you're worried about so much cheese you could leave out the 1/2 cup mozz or even cut back some on the parm inside the dish and you'll still have enough cheese on top for the taste. Make sure you cook out the flour some or you'll have a floury taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I can't wait to try this on chicken breasts. I made it last night for the kids using chicken tenderloins (hubby and I were having fajitas and they don't like them). I cooked them at 400 for 20-25 minutes. Other than that, I followed the recipe with one exception. I melted the butter and drizzled it over the chicken. Once before putting it in the oven, and again halfway through the cook time. I let them rest for a minute on a wire rack after cooking. They came out quite crisp and the kids loved them. My husband and I were eating their leftovers wishing we had this chicken instead of fajitas! Thanks for a kid approved recipe that is simple, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States