Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I stuck to the recipe and the broth of this soup is Amazing! The only reason I gave it a four was I would next time put some of the veggies in a little later so they have some texture left or not cook as long. Also the bean mixture I had was mixed with split peas and I think that next time I'll try with only whole beans. I did use left over ham but it was honey cured and I think I would prefer not having the sweetness and no spiral cut next time, I'd rather have chunks. The long time of cooking just melted most things too much together. This takes a lot of time but with the right beans and ham this would be a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Chocolate Bean Muffins

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I changed this up a bit! I used 1 cup of dry pinto beans and cooked them in 2 cups of water until tender, then mashed them. Using the pan as my bowl, I added soy milk instead of yogurt, the eggs and molasses. For dry ingredient, I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, baking powder and 1/3 cup cocoa. These muffins are excellent! Thanks for the suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was so good, I am very picky when it comes to pot pie and this one was a huge hit. I loved the ease of it and the creaminess of the insides. I also played around and put different shapes on the crust and even a heart and my husband initials the first time i made it. He wants me to make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was so yummy. The Sour Cream makes it so moist but you can't taste the sour cream or i couldn't. It s easy and did not last long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast with Gravy

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this just like the recipe except I used " Better then Bouillon" with less salt and I used a slow cooker after browning it first, very good, the coffee really made the difference. Very tender, made a great gravy. I served it with sweet peas, mashed potato's and biscuits, talk about comfort food. I will make it again and again, would be a perfect meal for a cold winter's night. Thank you for posting it Laura. If you like shrimp try my "Kevin's Seashells" let me know what you think by reviewing it, but please use fresh shrimp, not canned. Kevin P.S This Roast makes great leftovers... Open Faced roast beef sandwich with Swiss Cheese, Roast and Gravy Noodles, Roast & Gravy Rice. Serve with Pillsbury Corn Biscuits, Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin McRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This came out very well. Wet with Worcestershire and dry rubbed and let it sit overnight beforehand. I made it in the oven and baked it for 1.5 hours at 350 until it reached about 138 degrees, then took it out and let it rest for 15 minutes. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Wine Broccoli Casserole

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Jalapeno Chicken Sausage with Mango, Pineapple Salsa

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
SOOO YUMMY!!! made a few alterations due solely to personal preference. will be making again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuscan Bean, Chicken, and Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
my hubby and I LOVED this!! made to spec except no squash bc I'm not a huge fan. definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie Mexicana

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Excellent. Like another reviewer, I used can corn and cumin and chili powder instead of taco seasoning. I also added cayenne pepper and used turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I made this almost exactly as written with one or two small changes here or there. Firstly, I seasoned the batter with a little garlic powder and a smidge of parsley. And for some reason the sauce refused to thicken no matter how much of the cornstarch mixture I added to it, so I swapped it for a little flour and water until it thickened up.. possibly more than called for, but it still worked out fine for my family. The last change was that I added finely diced pineapple and a pinch of cayenne pepper to the sauce so to bring out the sweetness. Aside from that, the recipe was basically the same. The family gave it rave reviews... so much so that I didn't even get to properly taste any of it because it was gone in a matter of hours (I started making it late in the evening so I could take it to work for lunch the very next day). This recipe is hands down a keeper! Very, very awesome! Just as good as any Chinese restaurant I've been to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

New England Clam Chowder II

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I'm giving it a 3 as is for chowder, maybe a 4 as a base and you can add your own extras, like I did after I finished cooking it. After tasting it I added some onion salt, celery salt, thyme and a dash of savory. I also mashed up some of the potatoes after they softened to thicken the chowder up, it worked great. I did use the clam juice from the cans and I'm glad I did, it helped the taste. I did forget the parsley at the end. I'll make again, using this as a base and add my own seasonings. Might even add another can of clams. Make sure you don't use large potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Sweet Potato Hummus

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I used sesame seeds, I didn't want to take the time to make the tahini! Great, smooth taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
The recipe looked good and easy so I decided to give it a try. It was DELICIOUS!!! I made enough sauce for two casseroles. I'm going to make the second casserole this weekend. It was really easy to put together. We had guests over who are not big eaters and they even asked for a second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Arenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cream Cheese Passion Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Delicious! I used to make one like this years ago using cherry pie filling. You can use any flavor of pie filling if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyJem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Chicken or Turkey Tetrazzini Deluxe

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Kept right with the recipe, except I halved it. You need to take note that the original is for 12 people. I used leftover Rotisserie Chicken for mine and it was great! Luckily the water had already been taken away from the recipe. That's why so many comments talked about it being watery, so no need to cut back on any liquid anymore. I loved the sherry flavor and I'm glad I stuck to the cream of mushroom, they mixed nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My family loves this recipe! Some of our family members have celiac disease, so I serve this over baked potatoes with grated cheddar cheese. The recipe is very versatile and easy. After the chicken is done, I always shred it and put it back into the sauce to cook for another 30-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daylily

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Excellent. made per recipe except 4 fresh minced garlic cloves, and 2tsp of powdered onion. doubled because of large size of tenderloins. cooked on gas grill. YUM. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daylily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
love this!!! super easy and yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vera Cruz Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
These were wonderful. I used Romas and they worked great! I too put the cheese into the mixture and it made it cheesy throughout. No need to change anything, but after eating one I added some garlic salt to the second and it gave it something extra. Ate with a Blackened Ribeye. Keep the same as written or make your own. Next time, I think I might even use blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States