Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Taco Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I make this a lot but I use the tortillas, I really don't like the taste of those canned biscuits. It is much more tasty with the tortillas.And despite "neo" worrying about the "food police", I for one am grateful for the reviews and helpful hints! Thanks to all who take the time to add their own tweaks! I used the taco seasoning packet and added refried beans as one of the layers and lots os cheese and lots of sour cream....YUMMMMM...DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Centre, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tyrokavteri

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Quick, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made these for a special dinner with good friends and we loved them! I took the advice of others and used 1 part brown sugar to 2 parts white sugar and cooked it until a little thick before pouring it over the bundles. (I think just white sugar would have been fine.) I also tossed the apple slices with cinnamon sugar and some nutmeg before wrapping them. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise White Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
love love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Alabama, USA

Pasta e Olio

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this exactly as written but already had left over spaghetti noodles in the fridge. I took enough for two servings and poured some of the sauce over those noodles, warmed the noodles up in the same skillet, and then sprinkled parmesan cheese over it. YUM! I put the rest of the sauce in a mason jar in the fridge. Can't wait to make more pasta and have it again for lunch tomorrow! Did I already say, "Yum!"???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise White Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good recipe. Family liked it. We will make again, maybe with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Oatmeal Bread II

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good recipe...it took about a total of 6 cups of flour, not 4. Maybe next time, I'll decrease the water. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Soup Without Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I like to stick to the recipe the first time and then make changes. So glad I did, this was so good and so easy. I didn't have the "optional" leeks but hope next time to add them. I had organic chicken broth and for the mushrooms, I used 1/2lb baby bellas and 1-1/2lb white buttons. At the end I did use a hand mixer to smooth out about half of it. I thought this was very flavorful. Didn't even have to add the rice mix as noted in the footnotes as a possible addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I have made this twice and loved it. Instead of a jar of enchilada sauce I used a recipe from this site and made my own. Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas and that is what I used. Followed recipe exact except to add a little Cumin to the skillet while cooking the chicken. Really good stuff here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlabamaRed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by JoAnn Williams Jones

Grilled Potatoes and Onion

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love these but I toss mine with olive oil and add fresh rosemary! I also prefer white onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Williams Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is so easy and so good! I first cooked just as stated, but it's just me so I had a lot to play with. So I decided to try it a couple of other ways as per some other comments. 1st way I did as called for, great. 2nd way I added Dijon mustard(others called for spicy but I went with this). It did add a nice touch. 3rd way I added the Dijon and then sprinkled parm on top. Great also. Any of these ways are great so go as you like. I will add, I had baby brussel sprouts so I just cut in half but if yours are bigger, maybe you should quarter. You could also cover for the last 10 mins if you need the sprouts softer, your preference. Loved all 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I made it as is, and it was great! 6 out of 5 stars! I served with asparagus and brown rice. However, you NEED to love Balsamic Vinegar to like this dish... obviously. Those who are saying it's too much Balsamic, might be served better by an entirely different dish. Balsamic is a strong, bold flavor, and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was super easy and very good. It's a great weekday meal by itself with leftover baked potatoes from the weekend. I left the skins on and mashed half of one of the potatoes to thicken it up. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely Delish! Best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

Green Tomato and Bell Pepper Delight

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Thought it was great. Easy, and a great way to use up those green tomatoes before frost. I usually fry the last of the green tomatoes, but no more, this is just good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gilbert's Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
PLEASE! Never use margarine! There's no place for that yucky stuff! Use real butter. Don't think you're saving calories; there's the same amount of calories in margarine as in butter. The only difference is in the cholesterol. And American cheese? Another big yuck. That stuff tastes like plastic. Use a good melting cheese like Monterey Jack or Queso Quesadilla mixed with a stronger flavored good Cheddar. And don't even start on artificial bacon bits. OMG, how on earth could anyone eat those things. Fry up some bacon for heaven's sake! Or do it the easy way; put some strips of bacon on an open rack (like you would cool cookies or cakes) overlying a half-sheet pan (or cookie sheet)in a pre-heated 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes or until crisp. That way you don't have a bunch of grease splashed all over your stove top (and you). You can even save the grease in the bottom of the pan if you're Southern, and you use it in a lot of ways for cooking as opposed to other types of cuisines. If you don't want to fool with cooking the bacon there actually is one Brand-Name of actual bacon bits in a jar, but they are NOT artificial. They are not a perfect substitute for real bacon, but certainly better than the artificial ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Eufaula, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joe's Apple Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious cake but I'll do better next time after learning how to avoid pitfalls my first time. Batter was impossible to mix apples without adding a few tbsp. of milk. Some things I did different. Used Gala apples with skin on. Didn't use lemon or orange to keep them from browning. Used Splenda and brown sugar half and half in place of white. Added chopped pecans and split recipe into two smaller loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOE SIRMON

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Theodore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adam's Apple Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious cake but I'll do better next time after learning how to avoid pitfalls my first time. Batter was impossible to mix apples without adding a few tbsp. of milk. Some things I did different. Used Gala apples with skin on. Didn't use lemon or orange to keep them from browning. Used Splenda and brown sugar half and half in place of white. Added chopped pecans and split recipe into two smaller loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOE SIRMON

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Theodore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Dipped Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
If you want really crispy fried chicken, here it is. It works on whole cut up chicken, boneless skinless breasts, or boneless skinless thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Winner every time, as is. No changes needed! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States