Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hot Crab Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I would say that this would be a good base, but something is missing. I kept to the recipe, I used Sea Fare Claw Crab Meat and Sargento Chef Blend 4 Cheese Cheddar. I've tasted better and after heating and tasting I added some Old Bay on top, but still missing something. One could use and add to it. Some of the other comments mentioned some great additions, but I always like to stick to the recipe the first time. Maybe adding some garlic and onion would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was my first time making Homemade Hamburger Buns. I can't say enough good about them ! They were nice and soft, GREAT flavor. I liked that I could taste the salt in them. I never realized how bland hamburger buns were until I ate one of these. To say I'll make them again is an understatement. It takes quite a while but boy it is worth it ! EXCEPTIONAL ! Looking forward to making them for sandwiches as well ! ************* Deserves ten stars !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Tried this tonight, and it was fabulous. I changed it a little, using cream of chicken soup and adding some salt, garlic, and onion powder in the bread crumbs. I also pan-cooked the chicken in grapeseed oil with salt and pepper. Just the two of us almost demolished the entire thing, and we most decidedly WILL be eating this again. VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mountain Apple Cobbler

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These things are so delicious, and they are devoured whenever I make them. I followed other suggestions and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. The last time I made them, I added 1/2 tsp ground ginger to the cinnamon/butter mixture, and everyone said it tasted even better. I might go as high as 1 tsp ginger next time, but will definitely add ginger to them in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this for my wife, paired with roasted potatoes and pan-cooked tilapia filets, and she loved the stuff. She ate two helpings, and only stopped because she was stuffed. Personally, I think it needed more salt, and maybe a bit more seasoning in general. For me it was a 3 recipe, while my wife thought it was a 5.. hence the 4 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Bean and Veggie Pitas

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
When I copied this to make, I omitted writing down the beans! Next time, theyu will be in with the veggies! All of the veggies make a great salad to put in the pita breads. Very colorful! The family loved this, so will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made them for the first time in the wee hours of the morning as a surprise for my other half. This batch was definitely a learning curve. I know what I did wrong and I'll fix it and do it right next time including not getting the milk so hot it ruins the yeast. I know better, I just messed up. Even though I did a few things wrong, they came out great anyway ! The taste is fantastic and I'm looking forward to making my next batch and doing it RIGHT ! They are to die for !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesiest Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe, I thought, was too thin and bland the first time I tried following the recipe exactly. The second time I made this, I changed a couple of things: added 1/2 C of Baked honey ham cubed, 1 10.5 Oz can of Cream of Chicken instead if the chicken broth, and another 1/2 tsp of salt. My kids and husband agreed that it tasted better and was creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

No-Bake Energy Bites

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Easy to make, but way too sweet! Maybe if I cut the honey to 1/4th the amount (I had used only 1/2 the amount)? Maybe if I had used something less sweet than chocolate chips? I'll make these again, but will need to change the recipe up a bit. I really like the idea of flax seed meal in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Good consistency. I followed the recipe exactly and put on the non-stick foil on a cookie sheet in the oven. A fresh slice of tomato and avocado on a Publix deli wheat bun was the crowning glory. Served it with homemade white queso dip - a winning combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Noble Ethridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is awesome. It's light & delicious. I like the tip for buttermilk substitute. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayette, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Healthy Sweet Potato Wraps

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used chopped garlic, and omitted the BBQ sauce. I served tomato slices on the side. This is great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Whole Wheat Pita Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Even though I didn't care for the smell of the soy flour, these taste great! These burn quickly at the very high temperature! This is the first time I''ve made pita bread, and I think it went well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Seasoning Mix II

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Excellent!!! I will not buy package mix again. Omit flour add 2tbs cornstarch for gluten free. Less spicy decrease red pepper to 1/2 to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Love it!! Very versatile to adapt to sweet or savory filling. I added about 1tbs sugar as I was planning on lightly sweetened strawberries. Yum! Perfect wrapper for lots of fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Fillets Italiano

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I 3 tilapia fillets and a can of italian stewed tomatoes. Also included greek seasoning, 2 tsp italian seasoning. No salt though because I figured the olives were enough. I included cornstarch to make the sauce less watery. My husband liked it better than I did. I served it with couscous and spinach, could have used some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Focaccia di Recco

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Fun, simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Jane Rist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
If you think this is vinegary, you are using the wrong balsamic vinegar. You can't get the $5 bottle and think it will work. Added garlic to this and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My stepdaughter, who loves crab cakes, but does not like fish, loved this recipe. It's a winner and very easy to make. I browned them for 6 minutes each side and they came out perfect. I used regular yellow mustard in place of dijon mustard and it was fine. This will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. This did not stay around very long. My family loved it. Highly recommend. I made it in the pressure cooker and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States