Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by sueb

Cucumber Ice Cream Sorbet

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Easy to make! Good taste, but next time I will add a few mint leaves for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Mango Ginger Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is good, but will try to dry my own mango. I think the sugared dried mango didn't allow the full flavor to develop. I heated the leftover rice with soy milk and sprinkled on cinnamon for a delightful breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

7-Up® Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Theses were a very good alternative to traditional biscuits (which I make every weekend for breakfast). They are non traditional in the fact that the soda has sugar which is not part of a traditional biscuit. They are very light and nice with butter and jam. I also have added grated cheddar before putting in a muffin tin and then right when they come out of the over I brush liberally with melted butter that has been simmered with a couple of smashed cloves of garlic. Taste just like those you get at a famous seafood chain. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crunchy Curry Tuna Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Start by using less curry powder! I ended up feeling comfortable with 1 1/2 tsp. curry powder. I also like my tuna salad to bind together a bit more, so added extra mayonnaise. The addition of peanuts and raisins made this quite interesting! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
My daughter said, they deserve a 10 out of 5, lol. I agree they are Great, but I would cut back on the cayenne just a bit. My homemade tarter sauce and my Southwestern Bean Salad did help the heat, so I did really enjoy them. Looks like I'm making them again on her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by sueb

Energy Oatmeal Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I used Nutella instead of peanut butter, and added sunflower seeds for the crunch the chips would have had. I had to add extra Nutella to make the mix hold together. Very rich, delightful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Pineapple Carrot Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
So thick you had to eat this, not drink it! This was a success with the fruit and carrot together! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Fasolakia

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I used the right ingredients, but mine were fresh except for the tomatoes. I sauteed the onions and potatoes together, so when the other ingredients were added, everything only cooked a few more minutes. My chocolate mint really came out in this, and I loved it! DH didn't notice there was mint in the dish! Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kiwi Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This was nice on grilled fish but Very Spicy!!!! I had to add extra honey just to cool it down and I had only added half of the onion that it called for. Not sure if we would have enjoyed with chips, but the fish is a yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I'm not the biggest fan of peanut butter, but these were delightful! I followed the recipe as is and found nothing wrong with them, although I haven't taken more than two or three bites of a small square since I made them. They are so incredibly rich, but good for company. Originally it was my coworker who asked me to make these for her, and for me it was something new to try out in the kitchen. Not only did she thoroughly enjoy these (she says that her family finished all twelve of them in less than a 24-hour period), but when I made these again for my very own family, I nearly had to beat them off with a stick just to get a piece for myself. I wouldn't make any modifications to this recipe except for maybe that's only personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by sueb

Nutella® Coffee Shake

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Refreshing on a hot day! I love the combination of flavors! Thanks for this addictive recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Corn and Cashew Hummus

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Good and sweet! I added chopped onion instead of the powder. We enjoyed it as a vegetable dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Oh WOW! really good! Made this 3 times. Ended up using lime juice, more mushrooms, 1-1/2 cup bread crumbs with 1 cup shredded parmesan. This remaining crumb mixture just sprinkled over chicken once in pan. But there is nothing wrong with this as is. Just tweeked a bit to our preference. So yummy! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Semmes, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I like having the option to make seasoning packs myself as i already have all this on hand. This is good. Made per the recipe. However, seems like too much sugar and needed more hot stuff. Next time, I'm going to try a teaspoon of sugar and 1-1/2 tablespoons each of chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Semmes, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Portobello Rollups

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
this is delicious and so easy I made on a large george forman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Great dish! I made this exactly to spec, except i used broccoli slaw for the raw veg matchsticks Bc I'm lazy. :) dish has great flavor and was easy to whip up. The hubby loves it, too. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
We went berry picking over the weekend, and this is the recipe that I chose to make my berry cobbler. I followed the directions while taking the opinions of all of the other reviewers. I added a dash of cinnamon to both the berry mixture, and the dough, I decreased the sugar by half, and I doubled the dough recipe. It was actually quite bread-like,so if that's what you like, then double it. If you like more berries, than I wouldn't mess with it. I had two family members tell me that they wish I hadn't reduced the sugar in the dough because they would have preferred that it be sweeter. Overall, it's a nice cobbler recipe with these modifications, and I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by sueb

Rum Glazed Raisin Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I used gluten free flour for this. When making the glaze, i added 2 T extra powdered sugar so the butter could blend in. These are great tasting bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Black Bean Salad with Peaches

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I added garlic and ginger. The avocado and peaches tone down the heat of the jalapeno. This is a great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Spicy Vegetarian Black Beans (Fusion)

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I had to make this without the tomatoes or tomato sauce, but found it to be very tasty. I served it on millet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States