Alabama - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mushrooms with a Soy Sauce Glaze

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe was easy and fabulous!!! The only change I made to it was to saute about 1/3 of a chopped Vidalia onion in the pan with the butter before adding the mushrooms. My husband couldn't get enough of these to eat with our steaks and sweet potatoes for dinner! Will make again. Took so little time to whip this up, this recipe is sure to be in heavy rotation in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My hubby and I really enjoyed this recipe! It was so moist and so tasty! ...and easy! Thanks for sharing! Will definitely be making again.... and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peacock
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

Black Forest Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Hubby loves cheesecake, so I made these for his birthday dinner. I doubled the recipe and I got 30 cupcakes out of it.Instead of the canned filling I used fresh sliced strawberries( hubby's favorite). This was by far the easiest cheesecake-type recipe that I have come across and would recommend this for anyone looking for an easy cheesecake-type dessert. I will definitely be making these again, and maybe try with half the cocoa for the next double batch to make marble cupcakes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rainbow City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Bean Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I added some cumin to it also. Gave it a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Perfect Cinnamon Roll Icing

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe and love the results! It has the right balance of flavors and the right consistency. It soaks in all the cracks and crevices to make an ooey gooey breakfast treat. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love this recipe, I used leftover cinnamon crunch and blueberry bagels. I had enough bagels to make two recipes, one to serve, one for the freezer! Served with the Vanilla Sauce and my guest were impressed! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pound Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
this pound cake had a good texture and taste but was a tad dry. i had used 2 teaspoons of vanilla but had no lemon so i added a tablespoon of orange juice. next time will add a little more juice or some sour cream. it was all eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Garner Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Why would anyone want to add strawberry extract to anything?! Thank goodness this recipe doesn't need it. It was full of strawberry flavor. We made it last night and followed the recipe to the letter. No additives are needed. No red food coloring, no nonsensical strawberry extract. Nothing. It's the perfect easy recipe. Many thanks for sharing Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Similar to pasta, salami, & peas recipe. This is good, I also added Garlic with the onions. This dish is somewhat healthy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made as directed, and wouldn't change a thing. The only problem was that we ran out of vanilla ice cream. Definitely will make this one again. And again. And again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Coker Wedgewood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This mac & cheese was Delicious! Starting with a rue makes for a creamy sauce. I used the suggested 1 & 1/2 cups of panko on top. Next time, I will reduce the amount to 1 cup. I took a pole of my 6 guests as we were eating. Everyone gave this recipe "two thumbs up".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerredithG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adamsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Added 1/2 tsp salt, finished off with chives and sprinkle of parmesan cheese. Good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
My mother made a similar dessert using strong coffee in place of the water. Try it, it makes a lovely mocha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Wafer Cookies That Are Better Than Storebought

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was an amazing recipe for me, was just looking for an easy basic cookie for the family. This was prefect and easy. Tastes just a little sweet in my opinion but just like a nilla wafer except tastes WAY better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I have been making this for years and my family loves it so much they beg for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

Tortellini and Artichoke Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Just made it and it very good I did add a little onion..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

Cube Steak Parmesan

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Doubled Up All Ingredients And It Turned Out Fantastic. I Used Milk Instead Of Water And Whole Grain Crackers Instead Of Plain. Served With A Bottle Of Wine, Chilled, And It Made For A Wonderful Meal. The Key Was To Double Up Everything Unless You Cook Only 1 Steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplynewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Titus, Alabama, USA

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I don't know why I keep trying my hand at making anything with white meat chicken. I am not a fan of white meat chicken, Whenever I make a chicken dish , I always use dark meat. But, I tried this recipe. The marinade was great especially with the tweaks I made thanks to the other reviewers, the sauce not so much...but I'll keep trying with it. Thanks to all who reviewed and made suggestions! It helped a lot....I made chicken salad with the leftovers and the mayo helped with the dried out white meat chicken. Next time I'm sticking with lamb for this marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Centre, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was delicious! I made the recipe as written with the addition of salt and lemon pepper sprinkled over the chicken before cooking. I had, pre-portioned, 4oz chicken breasts so I ended up making six of these. Because my chicken breasts were so small, I worried about them popping open and losing all the yummy filling. To fix this, I tooth picked the bacon on one end of the breast and wrapped it around and down the length of the breast and then used another toothpick to secure the other end. It held the breast together nicely. I saw in the reviews that the chicken was dry. I felt that the cooking time was a little long so I did change the way I cooked it. Instead of simply baking the chicken for a specified amount of time, I used my cooking probe to cook the chicken to 165 degrees. Once it reached that temp, I removed the foil and turned on the broiler for about 8 minutes to darken up the tops. It was beautiful! This is a great recipe that also looks very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tried this as written....Outstanding! This is a very, very, good dish. You could change it fifty different ways, but why???? It's great as written. The cumin makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States