Central South - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Oven Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
The bbq sauce for this recipe wasn't as pungent as I like my bbq sauces to be. It was missing key ingredients such as chili powder, molasses, a little cinnamon, celery seed, cayenne, paprika, brown sugar, etc. There just wasn't enough kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Baked Stuffed Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I've made these several times for Jason and myself as a light lunch or dinner. I've made them by Anita's original recipe, and I've also made the following changes: I've added shredded swiss cheese and chopped onions and red and yellow peppers as well as green. I've added a chopped, seeded jalapeno pepper to the mix. I've substituted cubed cooked ham and also cubes of kielbasa instead of bacon. And I've replaced the Parmesan with Ricotta for a richer filling. I'm convinced that there is no way to mess this recipe up-it turns out perfect every time. Thanks Anita-your recipe is great as is, but serves VERY well as a foundation for changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
There was either too much dill or too much lemon for us. It was better in the thicker sections. My husband does not want me to make it again, but it's not that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Excellent! I made a few minor changes: I used Knorr Vegetables (dried) and instead of water chestnuts I added a can of artichoke hearts. Really, really good and friends and family were so impressed! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Magic Cookie Bars II

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Nice! I followed another reviewer's recommendation to use Quick Oats in place of the graham cracker crumbs and it worked beautifully! My only issue was that the butterscotch chips were a tiny bit overpowering. I may try this again and use peanut butter chips in place of the butterscotch. The Significant Other, who is an abnormally vocal non-fan of both butterscotch and coconut was impressed but agreed that next time I should try it with peanut butter chips. Will do! Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cauliflower Steaks

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Not bad but seemed to need something; I'm not sure what. Flavor was lacking. Also the steaks were a little mushy. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I might try this again and next time add more spices, maybe some curry powder? It's a good idea but IMO it needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Am I the only one that found this way too strong?? I used a burgundy wine like suggested and the drink was beautiful but no one could stomach the strength! Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ovando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Harrodsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
It tastes pretty good, but was watery, despite all precautions taken to prevent it being watery. Overall, it's not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian White Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is good, although I did not let my rice brown long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Ham and Pineapple Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent!! Definitely worth a five star rating! Made as directed but doubled everything except the pineapple. These cooked up perfectly on the grill. Used Kentucky Legend ham which was just delicious. The ham and pineapple caramelized suprisingly well. A hot grill is a must! Will make these again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Healthy Turkey Loaf

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Like others, doubled it, and it was easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Slow Cooker Italian Beef Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Simple to make and leftovers make great sandwiches and soup base. Definitely will be added to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamera Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Made with 1 bunch of fresh Asparagus and Habanero cheese. We really enjoyed this pie. Loved the cheesy crust. Great meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseanne Harder

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice Baked Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made this for a family brunch and it went over great! I left out the bacon to make it vegetarian and boiled my potatoes (I don't have a microwave.) I actually boiled the potatoes the day before and put this together in the morning and popped it in the oven. I added a dash of garlic powder and this was gone! Easy recipe that's a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Delicious. I love recipes with cream of tartar. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Recipe: Skinny Slow Cooker Creamy Chicken | Skinny Mom | Where Moms Get the Skinny on Healthy Living

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
It was pretty good. A little plain on its own. Rushed the cooking of the broccoli, so it was a little crisp. Worked well for leftovers with cheese and chopped jalapenos or Srichia (sp) sauce on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monterey Chicken with Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Eh. I was excited about this dish, but wasn't thrilled with how it turned out. I had to cook the potatoes WAY longer than the recipe said, and they still didn't get as cooked as I would like. I added some spices to the lime juice and butter mixture for the chicken but it still was kind of bland. Hubby liked it all, but said it was too much cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dandelion Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
When I was in my late teens, I remember my mother used to take a green plastic colander out into the back yard and come back with it full of the dandelion greens. And, with the simple addition of some tomato, cucumber, and onion, she made a top grade salad. She made her own sweet and sour type dressing for it and it was delicious. And so I have tried this recipe. And it is also delicious, and brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

No-Bake Protein Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
tried this one. the whole family loved it. I used 2.5 cups of oats. 3/4 cup pb. 1/2 cup honey 1/2 maple syrup 1/2 cup brown sugar. We loaded it with sun flower seeds, chocolate chips, cinnamon chips. It was good. Its a great base recipe. I am thinking of other ways to experiment with this recipe. Only way daughter will touch oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. Close to one I use but mine didn't call for bell pepper. I found the bell pepper really added to the taste. Too, I use a can of diced tomato/chile pepper (Rotel) rather than tomato sauce. Next time I make this I'll go back to that simply because I like the heat. This is a very adaptable recipe where one can add or reduce the ingredient portions depending on their taste. If you don't have a go to salsa recipe this is a very good place to start. Many thanks for a fine recipe, Big Nanc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States