Central South - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
The reason for the complaints of tough meat is because the recipe calls for sirloin. This is the wrong cut of meat for a stew. Stew should be cooked low and slow using a fattier and cheaper cut of meat such as chuck. Cook for a couple of hours, and the meat will fall apart with a fork as well as have a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Eufaula, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Potato Candy

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I've made Potato Candy in the past, and since have lost that recipe. This recipe looked right, so I gave it a shot. Like many others here, my mixture was nothing but soup and completely unusable…then I evaluated the situation and realized why. Here's what's wrong with this recipe: The recipe calls for 1 (16 ounce/1 pound) package of Confectioners Sugar…THIS is nowhere near enough. If you shop at Wal-Mart, you'll notice that their bag is (32 ounce/2 pounds), this entire bag is what you should be using, not half of it, or your typical 1 pound "box". In addition, a little adjustment to the directions- 1. After mashing your potato with vanilla and milk, refrigerate it then, not after it's dough- the cold dough is too hard to work with. 2. After your mashed potatoes have cooled off, mix in half of the sugar all at once. (it's ok if it's soupy at this point) Then, after that is mixed, dump in the rest of the sugar all at once, and mix. (this time it should make dough) 3. Do Not refrigerate your dough before you try to roll it, your dough should be workable right out of the bowl. Chilling the dough will just make it harder to work with. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
We really liked this! Great and different way to use asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Tastes great as is. Very happy with it! I'll have to try it next time with some of the other users' suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made these for the first time at our July 4th cookout, and my family raved about them all day! I have some very picky eaters, and both of them absolutely loved the buns and asked me to make them every time we have burgers. I made them exactly as written except I made 10 buns and they were still large, easily holding a third-pound burger. Thank you Chef John for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

Tyrokavteri

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Quick, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmurphy74

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I added a Kroger's meatloaf seasoning mix, Italian seasoning, pepper, and I only used one egg instead of two. This is my first time making the meatloaf. I gave myself 3 stars because of the presentation. It tastes ok. Oh, I used 2 pounds of ground beef instead of 1 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
We were not fans of this. The chocolate was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda!!

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My family loves this chili!! I use my homemade salsa and serve with cheese biscuits and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula

Apple Pie Spice Mix

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I love allrecipes because I know I can trust homecooks to help me prepare great meals. But I also love it because I know I can always find a substitute for when I'm out of certain ingredients. This apple pie spice is an example. I needed a teaspoon for some overnight apple pie oats but didn't have the spice can in my rack. So, allrecipes to the rescue. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made these for a special dinner with good friends and we loved them! I took the advice of others and used 1 part brown sugar to 2 parts white sugar and cooked it until a little thick before pouring it over the bundles. (I think just white sugar would have been fine.) I also tossed the apple slices with cinnamon sugar and some nutmeg before wrapping them. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise White Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf in a Mug

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
5 stars for taste, simplicity, single-serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Paula

Low-Carb Fauxtato Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is a delicious recipe to add to your menu even if you're not on a low-carb diet! I will admit, I was serving only 2 people, so I made only half the "sauce" and used only 2 eggs, but I did use more than half my cauliflower. (What's the standard size of a cauliflower anyway?) I used the "taste as you go" policy. Definitely a keeper and a recipe I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
love love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Alabama, USA
Photo by Paula

Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
From the beginning I knew I was going to add hot sausage to this soup. I had never had pumpkin soup, so I tasted it before adding the sausage. Then I tasted it after adding the sausage and liked it so much better! This will be a great fall and winter soup for my husband and me. (I did use dried thyme.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Kylie Nicole

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Note: I see a lot of "it's tastes too much like flour/biscuits" reviews, mostly from those of us without a cookies press that end up rolling them out. This should help: Instead of rolling your dough out on a floured surface, which puts more flour than needed into the dough, simply place the dough between waxed paper. This not only eliminates the excess flour, it also makes the dough easier to work with since it doesn't stick to anything. I used this method, rolled mine out to about 1/4 inch thickness, and they turned out perfectly! I also think that some of the reviewers are confusing these with Sugar Cookies, which are much sweeter, since I saw a lot of "these are so bland" reviews. Shortbread cookies are not meant to be super-sweet, they are meant to be subtle, and in my opinion, this recipe nailed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is the first dish my boyfriend has ever described to me as "Terrible." He couldn't eat it. I ate it, but I felt uncomfortable the whole time. I had that anxiety you get when you eat something after the expiration date. I can't explain quite why it was so bad. The flavor was ... musty. It tasted like something old. I could imagine it coming out of a nursing home cafeteria, and the old people spending hours gumming it down. I blame President Ford.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta e Olio

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this exactly as written but already had left over spaghetti noodles in the fridge. I took enough for two servings and poured some of the sauce over those noodles, warmed the noodles up in the same skillet, and then sprinkled parmesan cheese over it. YUM! I put the rest of the sauce in a mason jar in the fridge. Can't wait to make more pasta and have it again for lunch tomorrow! Did I already say, "Yum!"???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise White Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Butternut Squash Soup with Lime Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't do the lime cream exactly because my fiance doesn't like sour cream and it was just for the two of us. Instead I added a random amount of lime juice directly to the soup, and just added plain sour cream to my bowl-- it was great. I did add more garlic than the recipe called for, and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States