Washington, DC - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Skillet Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This is a very tasty and easy to prepare dish! I didn't think there was enough sauce, so I made more with canned diced tomatoes that I had on hand. I used less garlic only because hubby isn't big on garlic. This is a recipe that you can season to your own likeness. It's a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This came out great! The only changes I made were that I baked my fillets instead cooking them in a skillet and I did not use butter. I simply lined the pan with aluminum foil and applied a non-stick spray. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teflon Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Burrito Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Loved this recipe! I made mine layered, like a lasagna, with whole wheat flour tortillas, added black beans and cayenne pepper as well as extra jalapenos to spice it up a bit. I also completely ignored the measurements for the cumin and chili poweder and just loaded it in since we like our food spicy. It was a huge success and made a TON of food! Can't wait to have the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Iacovelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Artichoke Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I added some mushrooms.! Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I added 1 tsp. of paprika, 1/4 tsp. of cayenne, and a couple pinches of Italian seasoning to this recipe and we thought it was pretty good. Using savoy cabbage gives it a slightly different flavor profile that we liked as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is a recipe I've made quite a few times but never gave a review. I made this today but didn't have any lemon juice. It still turned out great, everyone loved it including my kid nephew who asked for seconds. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I made this recipe as written, using the optional pimentos but not the carrots (only because I didn't have carrots on hand). I think the salad would have been even better with the orange color and crunchy texture of carrots, although it was very crunchy and textured without them. It was delicious as written, but adding some Jane's Krazy Mixed-Up Salt improved it and added an extra layer of flavor. This is a perfect easy potluck dish and tastes just like the macaroni salad you get from the deli. Edit: It's even better on day two! Let it sit in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nantru

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
My absolute favorite "healthy" meal. Easy to make, flavor-packed, filling, cruelty-free and totally satisfying. One of the best recipes on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I'm gluten and dairy free, so I used a GF protein flour, water instead of milk (next time I'll used almond milk), and vegan butter for the crumb topping. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is one of the best sloppy joe recipes I've tried. The only adjustments I made are used avocado oil instead of butter and added a little minced garlic. My husband and I both love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Very good. A little too salty so I'd cut down on the amount in the recipe. The addition of garlic is interesting. I think adding fresh jalapeno instead of cayenne pepper is a no brainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Chicken with Potatoes and Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
From Cooking Light. Best Quick Easy Recipes. Dec. 2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Grape and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This dish deserves more visibility! I was searching for a way to use radishes, lettuce, & carrots from this week's crop share box and found this under-appreciated gem. Agree that toasting the nuts is a must! Used one head of (red leaf) lettuce, skipped the broccoli. Almost left out tomatoes because didn't have any Roma, but went with about 4 Tbsp. diced from a can - and glad I did. Very satisfying, full of complimentary flavors, great crunchy textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pie Crust II

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I feel like the best cook ever when I make this pie crust. I used to use the unroll kind and now I would NEVER do anything but this homemade version. I did not get four pie crusts out of it. I prefer to make it into three, that way I know I'll have enough. I have a little left over but not enough for another pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurabarmby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Really delicious. I made it as described in the recipe. Even though I love my previous cranberry recipe my kids would never eat it. This one got raves reviews and I didn't have a ton left over. It is good warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurabarmby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I felt like this was a lot of work. I don't eat gravy and pulling it together at the last minute is always a challenge so we made this the night before. My daughter in law who loves gravy said it was great. We doubled it at Thanksgiving and saved half for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurabarmby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I love the recipe. However I did not prepare it the way the recipe suggests. I freeze and grate the butter then I used the technique in Chef John's buttermilk biscuit recipe of minimal mixing and then folding into thirds on the cutting board, refolding, and then refolding again before cutting. I used the ingredients from this recipe because I like it just a little bit better; I think it's the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurabarmby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cumin Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Wow, one of the best recipes I've tried off allrecipes. I can't rave about this dish enough! I served it with cilantro-lime rice (Texmati rice, butter, fresh lime juice, chopped cilantro) and the combination of flavors and textures was out of this world. The avocado salsa MAKES this dish. I seeded both the tomato and the cucumber and it turned out perfectly. This salsa would also be good by itself just eaten with tortilla chips or as a burrito with some black beans and cilantro-lime rice wrapped in a flour tortilla. Just amazing flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I had to add a little more milk to the batter because the first pancakes were so small and thick. The batter didn't spread in the pan at all. The flavor was just ok. They were a little salty if you ate them plain but once you poured maple syrup over them they tasted fine. They were just slightly too thick and puffy for my pancake preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Wow, this was totally delicious, easy and elegant. The best part, though, was the gravy!! OMG this gravy is fantastic. If there were ever a chicken gravy competition, this would win hands down. I added a little chopped fresh basil at the end, though it wasn't needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States