Washington, DC - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cake tasted much too artificial. I followed recipe except for separating egg yolks and beat whites into peaks and added separately as recommended. Cake did not turn out dense and texture was fine BUT the Jello dominates the flavor, that i may as well have baked a box cake! I also tried a second run with much less Jello flavoring and it was slightly better but I still would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baymoah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Turkey Tetrazzini II

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was the bomb.com!!!! This dish did not last long, in fact is disappeared within an hour. I basically stuck with the original recipe, but I did make a couple of changes, ONLY because I had some of the ingredients leftover from Thanksgiving cooking and I didn't want them to go to waste. (1) I used: 1 cup of half-n-half , 1 cup of milk and for more flavor, I used have 2 cup of chicken broth (I had leftover, (whatever was left in the box)). (2) I added 2 can of cream of chicken. (3) I took the advice of others, and sautéed 1 cup of onions, 2 cloves of garlic, and 1 cup of celery. Oh, and since I am gluten free, I used gluten free spaghetti, instead of the regular spaghetti noodles (no one could tell the difference). It came out perfert, with all of the liquids that were used, it DIDN'T come out too liquidly or soggy. My family and neighbor wanted me to make another pan, but I was all out of leftover Thanksgiving Turkey. LOL!!! I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is beyond good! The dressing makes the salad! I was addicted to it for awhile and then I had to give it a break. LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Creamy and sweeter than most Pumpkin pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Pumpkin Custard Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I used mini graham cracker shells. First time I did 350 for 20-25 min nd seasoned wth fall spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves) to taste. I baked a fresh pumpkin and mixed with an immersion blender. Since baking the pumpkin Carmelites it I omitted the brown sugar on the second run. Turned out great! I even forgot about the flour the second run and no problems for any gluten people.. Actually more custard like without the flour. Point being, great versatile pumpkin custard base that gives you that creamy sweet pumpkin filling. Easy to make it with your own flare... I top it with a little brown sugar burbon whip cream (1/2c whipping cream, 2 tbsp brown sugar 1-2 tsp honey whiskey and a dash of cinnamon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Amazingly delicious dessert for not a lot of effort. Appreciated the comments for coating the apple in cinnamon sugar before wrapping in pastry; using 2 parts white sugar to 1 part brown; and the tip to let the butter and sugars simmer until it pulls from the sides of the pan before adding cinnamon and vanilla. Next time I plan on using ginger beer in place of Mountain Dew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heath® Bar Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Tried recipe and things came out fine. Even tried the mix with butterfinger candy bars as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granpabutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Stuffed Peppers with Turkey and Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It is a good basic recipe and just needs some rice to absorb the extra water from the veggie mix. You need to spice generously otherwise it can be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This has been one of my favorite recipes from the site, which shocked me because my expectations were low. It was just totally delicious and satisfying. It really did taste like pizza. I did the half ground beef/half hot Italian sausage and used rotini instead of egg noodles, but otherwise made as directed. When serving I added a little drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and some freshly grated parm. When I make this again I may add a small can of Italian-style crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Chocolate Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
used regular rice flour...recipe came perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granpabutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by Nantru

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
These were so much better than I expected. Glorious, delicious, scrumptious. The sauce mixture was so tasty. I served them with Spanish rice and refried beans. Made exactly as directed. Garnished with seeded and diced plum tomatoes and a dollop of sour cream (or you could use Mexican crema). They freeze well and taste great reheated for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nantru

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was totally delicious and easy made exactly like the recipe. If I were to make it again and tweak anything I might add fewer peas and maybe a little sage or thyme or even cajun seasoning. It really needs nothing and is perfect as it, though. Totally disagree with the reviewer who said it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is a tasty and quick way to prepare fish. Catfish could be used in place of tilapia as the flavor and texture are similar. Would be a good dish for the first time fish cook to make since it's hard to mess up. Also, this recipe pleases the palates of people who don't normally like fish. Tilapia should have a light, fresh taste, not fishy and strong. Most of the time when fish is fishy tasting it's from overcooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Leek Soup III

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This one is a keeper in our house. Only change: I subsituted half and half for heavy cream. We can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe. I added some cinnamon and I used white rice leftover from a Chinese take out. It was too tasty for words!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mzspell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Was looking for a way to use up a bunch of extra hot dog buns from a BBQ and came across this recipe- turned out great! One trick I used was to pop the torn up buns into the oven for 5 minutes to crisp them up a bit which made for great texture in the end. Also, I threw in dried cranberries instead of raisins which worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Delmonico Steaks

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I doubled the ingredients but stayed with the same numbers for the dressing and, at first taste, found it excellent. I'll be curious how it is after some hours in the fridge but, just as is, I'd make it again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GELOGENIC

Collard Greens and Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Partner said this actually let him enjoy collard greens. I was absolutely gobsmacked that I enjoyed it! Per reviews, used chicken broth in place of water and added sausage along with the beans to make it more of a main dish. What really added some umph! was mixing the red pepper flakes, sugar, and cider vinegar at the very start. The vinegar was infused with the spiciness by the time it went in to the pot. I've tried various ways to like collard greens and end up throwing away most of a yucky recipe. Thanks to this recipe, we won't be struggling over what to do with the collard greens that appear so often in our weekly CSA box. We didn't just tolerate it - we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States