Williamsburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pasta Con Sarde (Pasta with Sardines)

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I guess I just don,t like canned sardines. Added a diced roma tomato and 2 tbsp of tomato powder. Added a sauce of 1 c. skim milk and 8 oz neufchatel cheese and made it palitable. Still, the flavor of canned sardines is fishy and no recipe I have ever found negates that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easter Meat Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. Made it for our annual Port and Pie Party and everyone loved it. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Yummy! I didn't have buttermilk or butter, so I just used regular milk and vegetable oil. I had to bake it a bit longer than 25 minutes but I'm at a high altitude so that could effect it. Overall it's a delicious muffin and even though 1 1/2 cups of sugar seems like a lot it doesn't make the muffin overly sweet. I'll make these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Soy Tilapia

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan of this because I thought there wasn't enough flavor/sauce on it, but my husband loved it so maybe I'm just picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
DELICIOUS. I still had trouble with the top cracking, but I can chalk that up to a combo of not greasing the sides enough, not letting set long enough, over mixing the batter, or high altitude. At the end of the day it was a THICK, RICH, DELICIOUS cheesecake. Only thing I wasn't sure about is the crust makes a very thick crust and I don't think I even used all of the graham cracker because my pan wasn't tall enough to hold that much crust plus the cheese part, but everything tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Labguy

Copycat Bang Bang Shrimp®

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I followed this recipe almost exactly. I decided to make bang bang shrimp soft tacos instead. For 1 serving Eyeball the amounts of each ingredient to taste. Added: chopped green onion cucumber rice vinegar (half a teaspoon) lime juice (a quarter of a lime squeezed) salt & pepper Combine lettuce, green onion, cucumber, rice vinegar, and lime juice. Add the shrimp to the tortilla (and extra sauce if you have it), add lettuce and the mixture you just combined on top. Then top with sesame seeds, salt and pepper. sesame seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Labguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Simple Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Hubby loved them, probably because of all the butter! I had trouble getting them to cook all the way in the middle without being too crispy on the outside. All in all it's nice to use up the rest of the sour cream but I think I will stick to regular biscuits from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was easy to make and tasted great!! I was a little nervous with how thick the batter was but it cooked up just right!!! I have to say to everyone thinking of making this - please make it as stated and review it as so. It is not fair to change up the ingredients/amounts and then rate the recipe according to your changes. Rate it for what it is and THEN give your suggested changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious! I made a few changes after looking at the reviews. I put in 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and it was still pretty sweet so I would maybe even only put in 1/2 cup of sugar total. I used regular milk instead of sour milk because that just sounded gross to me! And then I always add cinnamon to my banana bread. Then, I spooned the mix into a muffin tin and baked at 350 for 22 min and came out with 16 delicious banana bread muffins! Overall it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Funnel Cakes III

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These turned out great! I'm still in the process of making them with my best friend, but we're eating them as fast as they come out - DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OwlLuvR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Wow! Amazing flavor didn't change a thing, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pie Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe, omitting the sugar since I was making quiche & not a sweet pie, but it was really just okay. It wasn't flaky, but I kind of knew it wouldn't be since it wasn't with butter. Instead it ended up being kind of dry & really crumbly. It works in a pinch if you don't have the ingredients for a flaky crust, but definitely not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Good peanut butter cookie recipe. They didn't last long in my house or at work. Thanks Mrs. Sigg. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Buns

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Good flavor. Not too difficult. Can't wait to try a sandwich with these buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My-Hop Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
WOW, these are good! My daughter loved them, after turning her nose up at Cooks Illustrated's "Best Buttermilk Pancakes" (they are so right about so many things ... but not this). These My-Hops are soooo good even without any butter or syrup (as I like to eat mine sometimes). Fluffy and light ... easy and really delicious. The only thing I need to remember is to leave time to refrigerate the batter for 30-60 minutes =) I love that you only need one egg and that all of the other ingredients are ones I almost always have on hand. Thrilled to have finally found our go-to pancake recipe after trying many recipes and supposedly awesome (and expensive) mixes, including the one used at Disney Resorts. This recipe is simply wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyKidzMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

Oyster Stew for One or Two

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. Haven't had it in years. I ate the entire batch (over a few days mind you). It brought back some great memories of my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This has to be the closest to resturant quality I have made. Absolutely loved the flavor and texture. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent flavor, easy to make. I wasn't able to soak my beans overnight, so I put them in boiling water for 2 minutes then turned them off and let them sit for 1 hour, then continued with the recipe. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Easy to make, great taste. Excellent on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hungry Man's Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I didn't care for this. Maybe I did something wrong? The only change I made was that I used chicken tenderloins instead of the chicken the recipe calls for. It turned out very dry and my family didn't care for it too much. Maybe it works better with the chicken with bone in it. Might try it that way again but not with tenderloins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States