Williamsburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made the recipe as written but doubled the beer gravy. That was my first lamb dish and I was pleased with how it turned out. my son on the other hand is not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Rounds

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haysi, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Pinwheels

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this wrap for my teenage son for school and he loved it. Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haysi, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Family loved this recipe. My husband said this was one of the best pot roasts he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haysi, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Apple Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My family was not crazy about this combination of sweet elements with cheese and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haysi, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
My babies love these. I always include 4 Tbsp of liquid Glucosamine, my guys are older. The pumpkin is perfect for my Boxer who has arthritis in is hips. He has a sensitive stomach and even with the added meds he is just fine. I did add about 3 tbsp more pumpkin and I did mix by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanAnne D Luchenta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

Pasta Con Sarde (Pasta with Sardines)

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I guess I just don,t like canned sardines. Added a diced roma tomato and 2 tbsp of tomato powder. Added a sauce of 1 c. skim milk and 8 oz neufchatel cheese and made it palitable. Still, the flavor of canned sardines is fishy and no recipe I have ever found negates that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easter Meat Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. Made it for our annual Port and Pie Party and everyone loved it. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Yummy! I didn't have buttermilk or butter, so I just used regular milk and vegetable oil. I had to bake it a bit longer than 25 minutes but I'm at a high altitude so that could effect it. Overall it's a delicious muffin and even though 1 1/2 cups of sugar seems like a lot it doesn't make the muffin overly sweet. I'll make these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Soy Tilapia

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan of this because I thought there wasn't enough flavor/sauce on it, but my husband loved it so maybe I'm just picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
DELICIOUS. I still had trouble with the top cracking, but I can chalk that up to a combo of not greasing the sides enough, not letting set long enough, over mixing the batter, or high altitude. At the end of the day it was a THICK, RICH, DELICIOUS cheesecake. Only thing I wasn't sure about is the crust makes a very thick crust and I don't think I even used all of the graham cracker because my pan wasn't tall enough to hold that much crust plus the cheese part, but everything tasted GREAT! UPDATE: Making this again... what did I do wrong?! I should have followed a different recipe for the crust since 15 crackers is WAY too much. Also, now my cheesecake is overflowing ... I'm using the same pan as last time so what went wrong?! I'm sure it will taste great, it's just ugly as heck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Labguy

Copycat Bang Bang Shrimp®

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I followed this recipe almost exactly. I decided to make bang bang shrimp soft tacos instead. For 1 serving Eyeball the amounts of each ingredient to taste. Added: chopped green onion cucumber rice vinegar (half a teaspoon) lime juice (a quarter of a lime squeezed) salt & pepper Combine lettuce, green onion, cucumber, rice vinegar, and lime juice. Add the shrimp to the tortilla (and extra sauce if you have it), add lettuce and the mixture you just combined on top. Then top with sesame seeds, salt and pepper. sesame seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Labguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Simple Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Hubby loved them, probably because of all the butter! I had trouble getting them to cook all the way in the middle without being too crispy on the outside. All in all it's nice to use up the rest of the sour cream but I think I will stick to regular biscuits from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was easy to make and tasted great!! I was a little nervous with how thick the batter was but it cooked up just right!!! I have to say to everyone thinking of making this - please make it as stated and review it as so. It is not fair to change up the ingredients/amounts and then rate the recipe according to your changes. Rate it for what it is and THEN give your suggested changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious! I made a few changes after looking at the reviews. I put in 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and it was still pretty sweet so I would maybe even only put in 1/2 cup of sugar total. I used regular milk instead of sour milk because that just sounded gross to me! And then I always add cinnamon to my banana bread. Then, I spooned the mix into a muffin tin and baked at 350 for 22 min and came out with 16 delicious banana bread muffins! Overall it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Funnel Cakes III

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These turned out great! I'm still in the process of making them with my best friend, but we're eating them as fast as they come out - DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OwlLuvR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Wow! Amazing flavor didn't change a thing, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pie Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe, omitting the sugar since I was making quiche & not a sweet pie, but it was really just okay. It wasn't flaky, but I kind of knew it wouldn't be since it wasn't with butter. Instead it ended up being kind of dry & really crumbly. It works in a pinch if you don't have the ingredients for a flaky crust, but definitely not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Good peanut butter cookie recipe. They didn't last long in my house or at work. Thanks Mrs. Sigg. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Buns

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Good flavor. Not too difficult. Can't wait to try a sandwich with these buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States