Virginia Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My husband loved this and has added it to the list of recipes he feels comfortable making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I used the full amount of olive oil when I made these, but next time I will use less. Regardless, they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bakes

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I loved it but not sure if family will like steel-cut oatmean, it is more chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I am adding this to my Thanksgiving menu. I chose Chef John's cranberry recipe over others because of the complexity of flavors he uses with the mangos and spices. I agree with adding hot sauce at the end and the amount of sugar he uses. I will update my review after I make it but if you want something more sophisticated give this a try. I plan to make it the day before. I would definitely make it again. It was perfect with the entire meal with the right amount of sweet, tart, hot, and complex blend of flavors. I used Tabasco brand habanero sauce because habanero pairs perfect with fruit. You can make this two days ahead. A little goes a long way we have tons left over and I am going to make crostini and top with goat cheese and the cranberry sauce as an appetizer tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fondant Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was good. It looked like it should, crispy bottoms, creamy insides. It's just not something that I would make again. It was fun making it though! Someone mentioned cutting the slices 1/2 inch thick and using this method (with adjusted cooking times of course) and that may be something worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Jo's Rosemary Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is delicious bread! I made a couple of changes based on reviews. I used fresh rosemary (the whole little package from the grocery store), a 1/4 t dried thyme, a 1/4 t freeze dried basil a couple shakes of garlic and onion powder. I used 1/4 C half & half and 3/4 C of water and only 1 t kosher salt. I set my bread maker to 1 1/2 pound loaf on the French bread setting - YUM! The texture is like an artisan bread, crunchy crust and chewy interior!! Thanks Jo for a wonderful bread machine bread recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Grandma's Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is wonderful rice - full of flavor!!! I used chicken stock instead of the water and I only used 1/2 stick of butter. It was YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Sun Dried Tomato and Asiago Cheese Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
this is YUMMY bread - I used milk instead of water, wheat flour instead of amaranth (whatever that is) I used a whole packet of yeast vs. the 1 tsp. used the 1 pound setting on my bread maker and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Fresh Mushroom Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great dish! ...but let's make this easier! We had fresh mushrooms to use up and I found this recipe. I cooked the onion, peppers & mushrooms as directed, but added 1 Tablespoon of minced garlic (mine was from a jar) from other suggestions. Then, I stirred in the same measurements of water and rice... BUT, I used YELLOW RICE ("Par Excellence with Saffron" from BJs'). I just knew it wouldn't need: salt, pepper, garlic powder, bullion, broth or ANYTHING ELSE! I also knew that I was taking a chance & warned Wifey that she would be a 'test subject' Happy to report that the experiment was successful! The YELLOW RICE filled out ALL of the other flavors beautifully & took out all of the guesswork! This was our main dish and we both loved it! This will be a regular veggie-night dish, for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Presidential Debate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This chili is OK as a starting point. I had to add a whole bunch more spices for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is so delicious and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Caesar salad. I used the exact measurements and made it a mini food processor. Next time I would make the croutons in the oven vs frying fan to get them crispier. We had it with French onion soup and a glass of red Italian wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The technique of baking the onions and finishing them on the stove is genius and gave me time to get other things done. Layering the flavors intensifies the deliciousness (deglazing the pan with vinegar and wine). The consistency of the soup was perfect. I used balsamic vinegar and red wine in place of the sherry and asiago and gruyere in place of the sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack I used more thyme and a bay leaf in the stock. We had Caesar salad with it and a glass of Italian red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
My husband said it was the best gumbo he ever tasted in his life. I made it last Sunday and it took from 10:30am to 1 pm to have everything in the pot. I rated it 4 stars because I changed the spices so much to add more flavor. Here are comments and changes: 1. Used 5 skin on chicken thighs vs duck legs and took skin off after browning 2. Used 1.75 lbs andouille sausage because I did not use cray fish 3. Cooked roux in oblong cast iron pan so only took 20 min 4. I did not add 2 more TB of flour because we wanted soup bowls not plates 5. I used a lot more stock 2.5 32 oz boxes( for Roux I used his amount of stock and added extra in soup pot) 6. I used Chef John's thyme and cayenne but added a large sprinkle of garlic powder and 2T of Emerl's Bayou blast and file powder in the end 7. I strained off a lot more fat and used 2T in the rice instead of butter 8. Chopped green onion and parsley sprinkled on rice 9. Loved John's tips of using some fat from meat for roux and using pickled okra 10. Only make this when you have a day off and for friend's and family who appreciate gumbo I made this last Sunday and making Chef John's American onion soup this Sunday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darth Rogue (Crystal)

Tuna Fish Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Very good. I didn't have any lemons so I added a quarter slice of fresh squeezed lime juice instead, and also hard boiled eggs (because I have never had tuna salad without that) and it was great. The lime (or lemon) juice really gave it a unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darth Rogue (Crystal)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I started making soup every Sunday for football season so I am standing in front of a TV watching the Red Zone instead of sitting in front of a TV. I made this soup last Sunday and will make it many times again in the future. The only thing I changed was adding twice the red chili paste like other reviewers, sliced shiitake mushrooms, more broth, and cooked longer because I wanted the red onions softer. It was a challenge trimming the fat off the chicken thighs but worth the flavor and moistness breasts do not give. I appreciated Chef John's tip straining out the ginger, lemon grass, garlic cooking in chunks and using the lite and regular coconut milk. I served it with 1/4 cup basmati rice. This was so tasty it was gone in two days. I am making Chef John's gumbo today. Go Colts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have recently become obsessed with Chef John's recipes, videos, and reviews. My husband made this chili on Friday night and did not change anything. The flavor and consistency were excellent. Last night I took the left overs and made a pasta bake with 8 oz Campanella pasta and shredded Vermont white cheddar in an 8x8 pan covered @ 350 for 30 min and uncovered for another 15 min. The chili had such wonderful intense flavor that I did not need to add anymore spice. This is very spicy and not for kids as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I love this recipe!! It gives me the start to a basic chili recipe. I do mine in the crock pot for about 8 hrs on low. I use 3 lbs of ground beef or if I feel like splurging, we use buffalo burger!! I add in 2 28oz. cans of tomato sauce, 3 cans of fire roasted tomatoes and jalepenos fresh from the garden. I don't like beans, so I omit them & it still tastes amazing!! I even entered it in a cook off & it didn't win, but everyone complimented me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, Michigan, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Chicken Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My first foray into the pot pie - this was very good! I made my own crust (allrecipes 'pot pie crust') and this filled a 11x7 dish perfectly. I think that the cream of celery flavor (I have never really used it in anything) came through a bit too strongly for me... I did use the Healthy Request version. I don't think it was the thyme, though I did reduce it a bit. I'll use this as a template for sure, but I don't care much for the full fat (+MSG) cream of potato that I used. Considering the amount of prep time and quality of product, this was a solid four stars and a great beginning. What more could you ask for in a recipe really, other than a full tummy and a great place to start tinkering. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Crust for Veggie Pot Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Easy, simple. Came out flaky, just like I wanted. I did prick the bottom with a fork and throw it in the oven for 5 min (425) by itself before loading with pot pie. I can't say how much it helped, but the bottom wasn't the least bit soggy. (Once I filled it, I brought the heat down to 400 and cooked for 30 min with foil on the edges, 30 min without). THANKS! I will use this instead of buying for sure. EDIT: I've used this a second time, prebaking the bottom, and then just putting the top on without foil for 30 min, watching until it browned up. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States