Virginia Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandma's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe! I used the whole pound of bacon and fried the potatoes and onions in all the drippings. I then added 2 cans creamed corn and 1 bag frozen to a crock pot, adding the potatoes. Cooked on low for several hours. I sauteed some crab meat, shrimp and bay scallops in butter on the side for the adults. Just before serving, a made a roux with butter, flour and evaporated milk and added that to the soup. I placed the seafood in a bowl and topped it with the corn chowder. The kids enjoyed just the chowder. It was a huge hit. Next time I will serve in bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaWicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Dave's Coleslaw

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Amazing! This is the best coleslaw recipe. 1 head of cabbage is about 2 bags of shredded (15 0z bags). I used half the amount of buttermilk. The addition of 1 apple finely cubed mixed with 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice made this even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very Simple Recipe for what I needed it for. I topped it with Diced Roma Tomatoes, 1 Cup Crumbled Bacon and Italian Bread Crumbs and made it a BLT Mac N Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked_Twyst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Turnovers

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have been making this recipe for awhile now, but am just getting around to reviewing it. My family loves these but we find ourselves fighting over them and they never last a full day. I have it down to a science now so they are really quite quick and easy. I find that by actually cutting the apple mixture recipe in half, it is enough filling for 8 of the turnovers, but extra never hurts either! The only thing I do extra is add a dash of nutmeg or sometimes allspice. The eggwash before baking is a must for a beautiful golden color. I skip the glaze also because I find they are sweet enough with the egg wash and a sprinkle of sugar on top. This recipe stays bookmarked for me and you must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Pretty good! I made my own stock by boiling the hambone and veggie ends for an hour + in the water. I was leery of the mustard, but it was subtle and quite nice. I liked this dish quite a bit, but I was the only one in the family to get seconds of it, hence the 4 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Bacon Wrapped Hamburgers

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Loved it,since it is 10 degrees outside I baked them and they turned out soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chip Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Easy to make,and turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've tried this recipe BOTH ways. It's delicious either way, but the skillet method is MUCH better, both for looks (browned) & taste (much more developed)! It's just a total PAIN!!! Trying to follow a recipe, written for the oven style, with only vague footnotes & reviews for the skillet style is INSANE! The original poster really should post her skillet method as an entirely NEW recipe! If she won't I will! BTW... I'm making it again, right now (Yes... it's THAT GOOD!), hence my present frustration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Candied Kielbasa

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I substituted sweet and sour in place of the horseradish and ketchup. My kids loved it! Served mine with fried sweet potato's fried with butter and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I followed the recipe as close as I could. I always try to, at least the first time. However, I don't use or keep onion salt or garlic salt, so I used onion & garlic POWDERS + a little table salt. (I did add a bit of cumin, from a review, to the spice mix, but Dear Wifey picked it up right away & said, "It was awesome, but leave the cumin out, next time.") We both found ourselves pulling the awesome, crispy skin off & treating it like another side-dish! This was, BY FAR, the best, most honest & simple chicken thigh recipe we've ever tasted! I may never even attempt to GRILL thighs again... no matter the weather!!! We're already on the hunt for more $.99/lb thighs! Thank you so much, Nicole!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Unbelievably easy. I had a recipe for Tropical Grilled Pork Chops. (See Allrecipe....so delicious!) but did not have any canned applesauce so made some with Sarah's Recipe. Perfect and obviously a lot healthier. I did drain off most of the water used to cook the apples before mashing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hatch Chile Enchilada Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is the best Enchilada Pie recipe out there! So good! I couldn't find Hatch Chilis so I used Pablonos instead but still turned out delicious and not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Muchetti
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mock Champagne

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made for the kids for New Years Eve and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Muchetti
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lemon Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We made this for New Years Eve this year and it turned out pretty good, was a bit heavy and rich but everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Muchetti
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Green Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These are the best Greek Green Beans (Fasolakia). The secret is to give them plenty of time to simmer to really fuse the flavors. I cook them for at least 60 minutes. I used i large onion (diced), a bit more garlic (3 cloves, diced) and 1 can of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil. A good tip is to add a good glug (maybe 1/3 cup or so) of red wine the last 20 minutes of simmering. I serve them with roasted lamb from the grill and crispy oven roasted potato wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The beef was very tender. I tasted an oily taste when eating it. Oil too much or too hot in my wok? I cooked the beef first, removed it and cooked the onions and peppers then added the beef back to the wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
quadrupled the recipe and served it at a church social. Many compliments! The pot was empty. I will be making this again. Be careful with the pasta though, as it acts like a sponge and absorbs all the broth. I used mini bow-tie (mini farfalle) pasta instead of tortellinii to save $. Next time, I will bring the cooked pasta lightly tossed with olive oil and add it to the soup right before serving. Wondrful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I've made this several times and everyone requests extras to take home with them. The only alterations I've ever made: I've used plain yogurt instead of cream, which worked out OK but I like the cream better, and I always add a little more curry powder :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
My Filipina friend at work LOVES cream cheese fruit salad so I found this recipe to make it for her. She loved it!! The variety of fruit and addition of pecans really made this recipe pop. I used all the listed ingredients and didn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kerri's Holiday Punch

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
We've made this for Thanksgiving the past two years and it was a huge success. I don't know why I don't make it more often... Made it with all the listed ingredients except for the food coloring. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States