Virginia Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grecian Green Beans in Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made these for Thanksgiving to be healthier and because they have a lot of flavor. I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic, 28 oz chopped tomato with the juice, and a pinch of cinnamon and cayenne pepper, cooked 40 min with lid on and 5 without so the sauce would be thicker. There was just my husband and myself and I plan to make Alton Brown's baked brown rice to go with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My husband said this was the best Turkey he ever ate in his life. It smelled so good as it was baking. I did not deviate from the recipe at all but did not make the gravy to make the dinner healthier. I also made Chef John's Mango Cranberry sauce, other recipes from All Recipes: Grecian green beans, green salad with cranberry vinaigrette and pumpkin pots de creme, and Ina's sausage stuffed mushrooms and her glazed carrots. Here is the recipe for the herb butter: 1 stick of softened butter, 3 cloves chopped garlic, 1 teaspoon of- lemon zest, poultry seasoning, black pepper, rosemary and 1.5 teaspoon of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have a lemon tree in my yard so I've had to search for as many delicious ways to use them as possible. This recipe is one of my favorites. Normally, I'm not a fan of lemony desserts but I decided to give this one a try because I have hundreds of lemons and my boyfriend also loves lemon bars. Once I made this, I was hooked! Absolutely perfect combo of the lemon and crust. I'm a huge crust lover so I did increase the crust by a third to make it a bit thicker but other than that there are no complaints. Very fresh and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is a fantastic pancake recipe that is not only quick but pretty simple to make. I might try the buttermilk version but I make this one all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken and Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Ended up being a little too spicy for our taste but next time I will just use Cream of Chicken soup and leave out the Cream of Celery soup. That may help. Also, the stuffing mix has quite a bit of seasonings in it anyway. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I would not change a thing, I did put just a bit more water but I think original amount is fine too. I did add 5 fresh leaves of sage and thought it worked great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by Lisa Rippe Moore

Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Very easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rippe Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Fantastic! I have made the other hi-rated Roasted Red Pepper Hummus on this site, and this is FAR superior. I was looking for a replacement to the Trader Joe's version that they no longer sell, and this was exactly it. I love it! Oh, I did add a tablespoon of oil to get the consistency that I wanted, but that is my only modification. I've made it twice now, and it's about 1 juiced lemon and one big scoop of tahini... that makes it even easier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My kids loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
While I wouldn't call this healthy, it is certainly delicious and a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

2-Step Inside-Out Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was quick and a hit with the family. I will add more vegetables next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My husband loved this and has added it to the list of recipes he feels comfortable making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I used the full amount of olive oil when I made these, but next time I will use less. Regardless, they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bakes

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I loved it but not sure if family will like steel-cut oatmean, it is more chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I am adding this to my Thanksgiving menu. I chose Chef John's cranberry recipe over others because of the complexity of flavors he uses with the mangos and spices. I agree with adding hot sauce at the end and the amount of sugar he uses. I will update my review after I make it but if you want something more sophisticated give this a try. I plan to make it the day before. I would definitely make it again. It was perfect with the entire meal with the right amount of sweet, tart, hot, and complex blend of flavors. I used Tabasco brand habanero sauce because habanero pairs perfect with fruit. You can make this two days ahead. A little goes a long way we have tons left over and I am going to make crostini and top with goat cheese and the cranberry sauce as an appetizer tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fondant Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was good. It looked like it should, crispy bottoms, creamy insides. It's just not something that I would make again. It was fun making it though! Someone mentioned cutting the slices 1/2 inch thick and using this method (with adjusted cooking times of course) and that may be something worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Jo's Rosemary Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is delicious bread! I made a couple of changes based on reviews. I used fresh rosemary (the whole little package from the grocery store), a 1/4 t dried thyme, a 1/4 t freeze dried basil a couple shakes of garlic and onion powder. I used 1/4 C half & half and 3/4 C of water and only 1 t kosher salt. I set my bread maker to 1 1/2 pound loaf on the French bread setting - YUM! The texture is like an artisan bread, crunchy crust and chewy interior!! Thanks Jo for a wonderful bread machine bread recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Grandma's Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is wonderful rice - full of flavor!!! I used chicken stock instead of the water and I only used 1/2 stick of butter. It was YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Sun Dried Tomato and Asiago Cheese Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
this is YUMMY bread - I used milk instead of water, wheat flour instead of amaranth (whatever that is) I used a whole packet of yeast vs. the 1 tsp. used the 1 pound setting on my bread maker and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States