Virginia Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Tried it today and it is delicious. Added 1 can of drained peas, and only used 1 can of Grands. Excellent and my hubby said not to loose this recipe. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is a keeper per hubby. I hadn't fixed stuffed peppers in a while and these were very good. Next time I will use mozzarella cheese instead of mild cheddar. Leftover filling looks promising for hard/soft taco filling plus sour cream or burritos. Will definitely make again. 5/1/2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Quivering Tenderloins

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
WOW - is this good!!! I added a little sesame oil but other than stayed true and it was awesome! Sweet, Spicy, Yummy!! I marinated for about 6 hours and then drained the marinade into a saucepan. Cooked covered at 350 for 20 minutes then uncovered, poured the pan juices into the saucepan and raised the temp to 450 for another 10 minutes. The meat was so tender and juicy!! I only had one tenderloin but used all the marinade ingredients. If I had two tenderloins I would double the marinade to make sure I had enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Fajita Quesadillas

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I used fresh chuck tender steak which I marinated in a blend of 1/4 c veg oil, 1 Tbsp vinegar and a few tablespoons of fajitas seasoning (in ziplock bag for several hours.). We grilled the steak and sliced it into very thin strips. I sautéed the onions,and peppers until half way cooked then added a cup of sliced mushrooms and continued to sauté the veggies. After cooking the quesadillas as suggested, I sieved them with sides of sour cream, avocado and salsa verde as options. I used the large flour tortillas which were too large and not as easy to flip over. I will remember to used the smaller 8 inch tortillas. This made two large quesadilla. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamiest Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I used the crockpot and it was wonderful.I added a vanilla bean during cooking.And added an extra 1/3 cup sugar and the last milk I used cream.It tasted just like my grandmother's. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie Bars I

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I buttered my pan then lined it going both directions with parchment paper.Then buttered my paper.Easy to make and taste wonderful.I just had to lift my paper out and set off to cool.Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cream Cheese Danish

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I took the advice of another reviewer and sliced the dough,then brushed with egg. Then sprinkled with sugar.I made only half the filling and had more than enough! They were great just what I was looking for,Thanks for the recipe and the helpful hints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made this icing to top sugar cookies,it spreads nice and has a good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Loved it,we used rum extract and they were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdave363

Fire Roasted Tomato and Feta Pasta with Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Very quick and easy recipe with tons of flavor. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdave363

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is going in my dinner rotation! I made the following alterations because of my likes and what I had on hand: added 1 small diced onion, garlic, shredded cheddar cheese, cajun seasoning, and I mixed BBQ sauce with the ketchup. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made this last night and my husband loved it!And he is not a fan of anything pasta so this was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Noodles Alfredo

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This was so easy to make and taste so good. My family are very finicky but they cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. McCraw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Boston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by V. McCraw

Delicious Spaghetti Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
My family just loved this! I love the end pieces because I can eat them like a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. McCraw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Boston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Chicken Walnut Cheese Wrapped in Bacon

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was delicious - as others have said! I added a caramelized onion to the mix Yum! I didn't add any seasoning as I didn't really think it would need it since the cheese and the bacon are salty. I did this wrong though, instead of spreading the filling I just put put the filling in the middle of the breast. Next time I'll do it right so I get the pinwheel effect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I used ‘Herb-Ox Sodium Free’ packets, for the broth and half the salt and pepper directed (I'm on a low-sodium diet). It still had plenty of flavor. I boiled 3 small chicken breasts and cubed them and used 2 bags of frozen mixed vegetables. I made 'drop biscuits' with Bisquick Heart Smart mix & almond milk because that's what I had on hand. I cooked as directed, then just left it all in the skillet, dropped the biscuits in and put it in the oven... one less dish to wash! I didn't bother with the foil at the end because the 'drop biscuits' didn't really need it. DELISH!!! I may try some mushrooms and sherry next time, but what a terrific comfort dish... I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Grandma's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe! I used the whole pound of bacon and fried the potatoes and onions in all the drippings. I then added 2 cans creamed corn and 1 bag frozen to a crock pot, adding the potatoes. Cooked on low for several hours. I sauteed some crab meat, shrimp and bay scallops in butter on the side for the adults. Just before serving, a made a roux with butter, flour and evaporated milk and added that to the soup. I placed the seafood in a bowl and topped it with the corn chowder. The kids enjoyed just the chowder. It was a huge hit. Next time I will serve in bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaWicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Dave's Coleslaw

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Amazing! This is the best coleslaw recipe. 1 head of cabbage is about 2 bags of shredded (15 0z bags). I used half the amount of buttermilk. The addition of 1 apple finely cubed mixed with 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice made this even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very Simple Recipe for what I needed it for. I topped it with Diced Roma Tomatoes, 1 Cup Crumbled Bacon and Italian Bread Crumbs and made it a BLT Mac N Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked_Twyst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States