Virginia Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
BIG QUESTION! WHERE does one FIND 'boneless,skin-on chicken breasts'??? If it's a 'do-it-yourself' project, please provide instruction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This recipe is amazing! My pork chops were a thin cut so I had to reduce the cooking time to 5 minutes per side. So fast and easy, I will be making these more often-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I threw in a can of rotel, diced red onion, diced green pepper. I think you definitely have to blend half of the soup at the end or it's texture just isn't right. Also - I soaked the beans overnight, but I think a bit of boiling would have been better - like people said. I will make again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Fifteen Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Haha, whoops, I thought I was on a different recipe and hit submit. Not sure how to undo this. I gave it 5 stars though, but didn't make it. SORRY ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Simpler IS better! 'Respect the meat'! I was always a 'chuck-roast-with-2-soups' or 'throw-some-wine-in-it' kinda guy. The Mrs. (NE native) had just bought a 3.6 lb. chuck roast & said, "I just want a roast that tastes like meat!" I went on AR & found this one & followed the original recipe. HOLY SCHNIKES! This NAILED it for both me & the Mrs.!!! FOLLOW THE RECIPE VERBATIM!!! It's awesome AND you'll have really CLEAN meat for leftovers! Whether you want simple roast beef sandwiches or if you want to throw in soups or wine, noodles or veggies, you'll have the PERFECT starter-base BEEF for your leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Juicy Hamburgers made with Panko bread crumbs

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I tried this for the first time today 4/1/14 (I know it's April fools day) because I was in the mood for Hamburgers. I'm glad that I did! I did try some tips from others about the Olive Oil and using regular milk. I didn't have regular bread crumbs but I did have Kikkoman Panko bread crumbs and used those instead. Wow no tasteless dried out hamburgers! I may decrease the milk more because of the Olive Oil or leave it out all together. Will be adding this to my recipe box and the only other tip I would suggest is making sure you make the middle of your hamburgers lower than the edges so you don't have raw middles as the middle of your hamburger always "plumps up" while it cooks and the hamburger will cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needsomething2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I tried this for the first time today 4/1/14 (I know it's April fools day) because I was in the mood for Hamburgers. I'm glad that I did! I did try some tips from others about the Olive Oil and using regular milk. I didn't have regular bread crumbs but I did have Kikkoman Panko bread crumbs and used those instead. Wow no tasteless dried out hamburgers! I may decrease the milk more because of the Olive Oil or leave it out all together. Will be adding this to my recipe box and the only other tip I would suggest is making sure you make the middle of your hamburgers lower than the edges so you don't have raw middles as the middle of your hamburger always "plumps up" while it cooks and the hamburger will cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needsomething2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Love the recipe, was a total hit with the family especially with one son who very picky with what he will eat. Was asked how soon I would make it again, my oldest son said it was perfect the way it was as I had added 4 dashes of hot sauce. I love how I throw it in the slow cooker after the short time in the oven while I'm at work. No grilling during this severe heat wave! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needsomething2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Used Spicey Brown Mustard added an additional 2 TBSP honey and done on a foreman! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked_Game

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made it exactly as written and even did the charring on the tortillas. It was nearly flavorless. It needed salt, spice, and vegetables - all of those. We also weren't a fan of the casserole form and will never again waver from traditional rolled enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedarwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melody's Corn Maque Choux

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I really liked this! I used a yellow pepper vs. celery because I thought it would blend in with my Mardi Gras theme better!! I didn't use the bacon only because I have vegetarian friends. I know it will be that much better with the bacon though! I also used cajun seasoning vs. creole because I wanted more spice. Thanks Dumplin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Steakhouse Black Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
YUM!!!! I did the whole thing in the bread maker (probably won't do that again as it was pushing the top open!). You have to use really GOOD coffee in this though because that flavor really comes through. I thought it had the perfect amount of sweetness as well. It's a moist bread, perfect with a slathering of butter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Scallops with White Wine Sauce I

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend for Valentines Day and he LOVED it... I didn't want to toot my own horn at dinner but it was pretty freakin good. I had been looking for something to make with it and I ended up lightly steaming spinach with some butter, filled the bottom for the plate with spinach placed the scallops on top the poured the sauce over the whole thing. The sauce turned the spinach into creamed spinach and was sooooo delish and went perfectly with the scallops!! I will definitely be making this again, my boyfriend has requested it everyday but that could get pricy, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
i really liked this bread - I, like other reviewers, used half AP and half bread flour. The only thing I will do differently next time is to do the slice/cut before the final rise. After my bread had risen (and it was beautiful) I did the cut and lost all my beautiful rise. Oh and there was no reason to rise it on a cutting board and then move it to a baking sheet. Just rise it on the baking sheet. I also read a tip recently to use semolina flour vs. corn meal so you don't have the uncooked cornmeal on the bottom of the bread. (I haven't done this because I don't keep semolina flour in my cupboard!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Buffalo Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
delish!!! I didn't add the garlic or cayenne (didn't think it was necessary). this was a great sauce for my (first ever) fried chicken wings! will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I love this recipe! My hubby and kids love it too! They come out with a beautiful crusty outside and wonderful inside. I've made these multiple times, and like varying the recipe by adding a little garlic powder sometimes. As has been said in other reviews, do not overwork the dough or you will end up with hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilsgarden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gatesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was really good and really easy to make. I followed the receipe except I used shredded cheese and a mixture of greek yogurt and cream cheese because I did not have enough cream cheese. The chicken was moist. I would have liked the breading to brown a bit more, but I did not want the chicken to dry out. My boyfriend and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCherie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delish! I omit the bacon and it tastes just like the soup at Olive Garden, I don't think they put bacon in theirs. I also do not use chicken stock just use plain water there is enough flavor in the sausage and no need for extra sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Habanero Hellfire Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is really good chili but whoooeeee it is hot! I even put only 4 jalapeno/habanero chili's ... I couldnt' find anaheim chili's (don't know what kind they are - mild?) used new Mexico dried chili's (soaked and blended with some beef broth) - they're kinda fruity and mildly spicy. I used an orange pepper vs. a green bell pepper (like the flavor better). I also used beef broth vs. water and boullion. MY DH likes beans so added 2 cans of drained/rinsed kidney beans in addition to the chili beans. The next time I make this I will use the whole 6 OZ can of tomato paste vs just 3 OZ Very good flavor - the "boys" really liked this chili. Served it with toppings of cheddar, diced sweet onion and sour cream. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe never fails. It is a quick and easy way to make an excellent pizza. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States