Virginia Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I give it a 4 but DH gives it a 2 thus the 3 star rating. DH likes things with LOTS of flavor and this meat has a mild flavor. Not bland, just mild. I made it specifically to make cheese steaks so the mild flavor was perfect for me with caramelized onions, mushrooms, and cooper sharp cheese! YUM - but if you want lots of flavor you should probably look for another recipe or maybe add some hot peppers and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Honey-Mustard Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Perfect recipe! Don't be afraid to add the milk. It will look watery at first, but as it sits in the fridge it will soak up all the dressing. Great tasting basic recipe. It makes a boatload, so for a healthy eating family of 4-5, half the recipe :) I myself left out the bell pepper and didn't miss it at all. Also, instead of honey mustard (since I didn't have any on hand), I made my own by adding a tablespoon of honey to regular old yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNRAY9177

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Just made these, amazing! I added 2 C of walnut pieces because I love them. These were fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

White Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was easy to prepare and delicious! My husband and (picky) kids loved it! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have made this salad twice now this summer. Both were hits. I have to admit, I hate it when writers say how wonderful a recipe was only to say they made all these changes but here I go. I love the addition of bacon to the salad but I really like to add fruit to give a sweetness and a variety of textures. I added sliced green olives, sliced red grapes, pineapple and walnuts. The lemon and Worcestershire sauce gives a nice zing. My Bunco and Beach friends were very complimentary. Thanks Brit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The color was unappetizing. I might have liked it better without the cream because I love balsamic sauces/glazes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedarwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
i can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet!!! I LOVE this sloppy Joe recipe. It's rich and sweet and tangy and SO much better than Manwich. I think I'll make them this weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had 2 leftover 3/4" grilled pork loin chops to come up with something for Wednesday night dinner. I saw this recipe & said, "SHAZZAM"! I sautéed some onion & quartered baby-bellos with EVOO. Added some Golden Sherry (I saw 'Stroganoff' referenced in another post & it just sounded right.) & let it bubble a bit. Went to cabinet for mushroom soup... NONE! But... 'Wifey' had bought an 18 oz can of Progresso 'Creamy Portobello, Recipe Starter, cooking sauce' (must have been on sale). Threw most of it in & it looked too thin. Cooked it down 15-20 min, before adding S&P, Worcestershire. Added some sour cream, accumulated pork juices, frozen peas, stirred & buried the chops. Heated @ med-low for about 20 min & served over X-wide egg noodles. YUM!!! We snarfed it! BTW... Wifey made me save all the leftover sauce & peas, for her to take to work. So... I guess I did OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used 4 & ¾ lbs boneless-skinless thighs (they were on sale). Mixed 1 packet of ‘Herb-Ox Sodium-Free Chicken Bullion’ dissolved in 1c of water, dumped it in the Crock Pot, and then dumped in the thighs. I set the Crock Pot for Hi, for 4 hours. Poured off most of the broth it created (LOTS!) I made some changes to the sauce, according to posted suggestions. I used ½ ketchup & ½ crushed tomatoes (had some leftover), Worcestershire instead of steak sauce & Dijon mustard (it was all I had on hand). Don’t be too concerned that the sauce tastes strong. I was, so I added it to the chicken a bit at a time, wound up using it all and it came out great! Lots of flavor, good moisture and lots of compliments from guests! Don't forget to serve it with cole slaw! I suggest bagged, Dole cole slaw with whatever dressing you like, instead of the soggy stuff you buy in a tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The idea of eating turkey burgers sounded horrible, but with such high reviews I decided to try it. My family LOVED them and didn't believe me when I said it wasn't beef! I used OSKRWILDE's idea to add smoke seasoning, soy sauce & Worcestershire. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsMiller

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as described, however, I skipped greasing the cookie sheets in favor of parchment paper, and I baked them for precisely 9 minutes. Don't be afraid of a stiff dough that doesn't want to stay together, and don't squeeze the dough balls; let them stay "light" as you gently roll them. Quite honestly the BEST sugar cookie I have ever had. I immediately made a second batch :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsMiller

Mini Key Lime Pies

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I cut the recipe in half and just made 6. I followed the recipe exactly, and they came out great! If you like your pie super limey, add more lime. I don't like an overpowering lime flavor in my key lime pie, or I feel like it starts to taste fake. This flavor was refreshing and perfect. They don't expand in the oven so go ahead and fill them all the way to the top like it says. I baked them for 6 minutes, cooled slightly, then chilled them. They were ready within an hour of being put into the fridge, but I left them overnight anyway. To fancy them up, I added some lime zest to the top along with a couple lemon balm leaves from my garden. Cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsMiller

Banana Cake Cookies

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am pretty obsessive about reading reviews of recipes for alterations before trying one. I didn't really alter much here. I did sub cinnamon for the cloves (as that is what I had) and I probably ended up with about 1 and 1/4 cup banana as I went ahead and just mashed three. I omitted the nuts and added dark chocolate chips. I did need extra milk for the icing as the recipe suggested (and I didn't measure here... but it was 3 "splashes") and I poured it into a bag, clipped the edge, and drizzled it over the cookies. They came out great and are really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Very easy and my husband and coworkers inhaled the whole batch instantly! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
i haven't tried this yet, but just reading the recipe I know I will love it. I just wanted to point out that this isn't bruschetta, Bruschetta is the tomato topping that goes on crostini. this should be called Strawberry Goat cheese Crostini - just my 2 cents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Super Easy Rosemary Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
this was a great bread. I used mostly bread flour vs. AP. I sautéed a half large sweet onion in 1 T butter with 2 minced garlic cloves. Reduced the EVOO to 2 T. Used 1tsp each of thyme and rosemary. I also added about 1/2C of parmesan. it was YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Monkey Bread I

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I have made this and used a bundt pan. They turned out amazing. I would suggest putting a baking sheet under it so it does not boil over and go to the bottom of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked_Game

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mac and Cheese II

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great, easy recipe - no more blue box ! I did follow some suggestions with added onion and mustard powder. Saving leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANABANANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This recipe is amazing! My pork chops were a thin cut so I had to reduce the cooking time to 5 minutes per side. So fast and easy, I will be making these more often-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I threw in a can of rotel, diced red onion, diced green pepper. I think you definitely have to blend half of the soup at the end or it's texture just isn't right. Also - I soaked the beans overnight, but I think a bit of boiling would have been better - like people said. I will make again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States