Richmond - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Springtime Spaghetti

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I thought this was okay. It was a little heavy for my taste. It didnt seem to have much flavor. I added a little garlic salt and Adobo seasoning which improved it. I also added extra zucchini and carrots and added cooked chicken sausage, at the end, to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I liked this. I dont cook with canned soup much anymore, but this made for an easy sauce compared to my scratch recipe. I used Trader Joes Homemade tortillas, their 12 oz salsa verde, and sharp cheddar. I had 2 large chicken breasts, instead of 3, but it was 1 1/3 lbs. I sprinkled them lightly with garlic salt and onion powder and broiled them on a foil lined sheet. They were done in the time it took me to mix up the rest of the ingredients. I used all the ingredients, but the green chilis as the salsa verde already included them and was 12 oz. I covered and baked as suggested, but didnt do the second bake uncovered. I baked the after preparing instead of 12 hours later. I am glad, because the bottoms were already slightly soggy. That wouldnt have been good. I think these taste similar to the pulled chicken enchiladas at Chuys. They are a little salty, but not unexpected with the soup. I would make these again when wanting to save time. I recalculated the calories, as made above, and it came to 216 calories each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker

Layered Pea Salad

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I liked this. I only had fresh English peas I bought from Trader Joes which came in a 14oz bag. As a result, I made 1/4 of the recipe and layered the salad in 4 small glass dishes creating mini arranged salads. I cooked the peas in the microwave for 10 minutes in some salted water. I used regular mayo and sugar in the raw. I like something crunchy in my salad. I didn't have any croutons, but added some corn chips. This really did work well. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Ranchy Fruit and Nut Salad

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Jason, your salad has potential but there is a major error on the lettuce amount! I think it should be closer to at least 8 cups of lettuce. A typical salad has 2 cups of lettuce per person. 1/4 cup of dressing, 3/4 cup of dried fruit, and 1/2 cup of nuts is incredible for the amount of lettuce. As a result, I kept the lettuce the same, maybe adding a little more, and did about 1 tblsp of each topping. Still 4 Tblsp of dressing was a bit much. I used a lighter yogurt ranch. Unless, this is supposed to mainly be fruits and nuts mixed with ranch dressing? With the added garlic and parmesan, it reminded me of a ceasar salad with added nuts and fruit. Add more lettuce and add the other ingredients to taste and this is not too bad, if one loves ranch dressing. I also would only make this right before serving. The lettuce starts to break down from the dressing as most lettuce salads with the dressing mixed directly in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Easy Turkey Chili

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I thought this tasted good. The chili powder taste is a little strong. I also didnt find it quite as thick as most chilis. I added extra flavorings with some garlic and onion powdered seasonings. I also used white meat ground turkey. It yielded 6 servings at 375 each when calculated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Peanut Butter

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I thought this was pretty good. It had a grown up taste to choc pb. It also didnt have that waxy after taste like the store bought stuff. I used dark choc chips and natural pb with honey. With the honey already in the pb, I cut it back to a 1/3 of the amount suggested. I used the change servings button to make 8 servings, or 1/4 of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Scrambled Egg Muffins

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I had unexpected over night guests and was looking for a simple breakfast I could feed several people who were waking at different times. This recipe was the perfect fit! Not having breakfast sausage on hand, I substituted two links of chorizo, cooking it as you suggested the bulk sausage. Instead of cheedar (which I was also out of!!), I substituted pepper jack. They were a hit! The second time around I made the recipe as written, using hot breakfast sausage since we like a little spice in our eggs. Again, a huge hit! I love a recipe that is adaptable, which can only be done when the "bones" of the recipe is dependable. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Well, I thought they were great, but I didn't love the boxed mix I chose. I went with Betty Crocker bc Box Tops for Education, but I wish I'd gone with Duncan Hines. Sorry Betty Crocker, but it's true: You come in dead last even after Pillsbury. But anyway, I thought these were great. They made exactly 24 with quite a bit more frosting than I needed, but I didn't pipe. I do think it'd have made enough to pipe and maybe even core and fill them, which would've been super tasty too. I added a sprinkle of cayenne to the tops for decoration. These are show-stoppers and conversation pieces, for sure. Can't wait to hear what DH's coworkers think! P.S. I added quite a bit more cinnamon to the frosting just because it seemed like a tasty idea. Go with that if you love cinnamon, it doesn't override the pepper or the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I made it almost as stated, except that I doubled it, used turkey sausage, and added a pound of baby spinach leaves at the end instead of arugula; it was deeelish! Thank you for a simple, yet tasty, one-pan meal. Also, the recipe call for 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth and my box had 4 cups, so since I certainly wasn't about to refrigerate 1/2 cup of broth, I just added it and threw in another cup of pasta and it turned out perfect ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I could not have used the full 4.5 cups of flour without ruining it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Apple Muffins

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I thought these were okay. I did like that they were not too sweet. My only change was subbing 1/2 the flour with white whole wheat. I think these might be better with some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Pizza Spaghetti Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I thought this was okay. I also got 8 servings, but 582 calories per serving is crazy high. I was able to bring it down to 415, but still not a lite dish obviously. I used all reduced fat dairy products, leaner beef, and turkey pepperoni. I also sautéed green pepper, onion, and mushrooms (per suggestion that additional pizza toppings can be added) before cooking the ground beef. The flavor was okay, but it was just a bit to salty to me. I don't know if it was the pepperoni, cheese, and other canned or jarred items in combination. Not something I would make again, but it was interesting to try a different baked spaghetti recipe. I might just not prefer spaghetti this way as I have always felt it made it a little on this dry side. This one had just enough sauce, but the top got rather dry in the oven. I will see if others like this combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Naan Bread Margherita Pizza with Prosciutto

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This was wonderful! We have also made this using pesto as a "sauce" with grilled chicken, artichoke hearts, sundried tomatoes, fresh basil and mozzarella...The oven takes longer to preheat than this does to make...so many options...We like naan bread for pizza because of the portion control and everyone can pick/choose what they want...Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just JM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Minestrone Soup I

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I thought this was okay. I followed the recipe exactly, except for not having the small amount of cabbage. I ended up having to add a cup of water. It was still rather thick for this type of soup as it cooled down. Some people may like that though. I had recently made this type of soup from another Italian recipe, and think I may have been spoiled. This didn't have quite that same fresh taste. I am sure it will be eaten, but it is just a little salty and slightly canned soup tasting, to me, for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Goulash Supreme

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I made this recipe today after seeing it in the Allrecipe's magazine. I almost had trouble finding it. The magazine titled it: Cheryle's Goulash. I noticed they also added 1 cup chopped green pepper. I think that was a good addition. This made a quick and easy meal. Being more familiar with the classic goulash recipe on the site, I did let it cook for about 30 minutes after the noodles were added. I just covered it with a lid and turned it to low half way through. I sauteed the vegetables, until softened, in a tblsp of oil. I then cooked the meat and once done, added the rest of the ingredients. There was a suggestion, in the magazine, that the tomato paste was too strong. As a result, I used a half sized can of tomato sauce. The pasta also required an additional 1 1/2 cup of water. For the tomatoes I used 2 cans of stewes sliced tomatoes. I also used 96% lean ground beef, Barilla vegetable elbows, and added a sprinkle of onion powder and garlic salt . The recipe yielded 6 servings, at 240 calories, plus the grated parmesan added as a garnish from another reviewer. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker

CHOCOLATE CHIP OATMEAL COCONUT COOKIES

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This is a really good cookie. I always tweak recipes, but this one I pretty much followed completely. As others said it does make a chewy, yet just slightly soft too. The taste and texture, still slightly warm, reminds me of a mall cookie. My only changes, if they can be called that, were cutting the recipe in half, using sugar in the raw (what I had on hand), and finely mincing the coconut being so little (using Tj's brand). For the chocolate chips I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips (1 cup for half the recipe). Half the recipe, using a cookie scoop, yielded 26 cookies. I am putting this one in the recipe box. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Rice and Lentils from a Rice Cooker

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I like all of these ingredients, but I just didnt love them together. The lentils fell apart, almost acting like a binding to the rice and bulgar. I had to add so many seasonings and flavorings to get this to work. Not a repeat dish, but interesting to try the rice cooker beyond brown or white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I didn't really notice anything special from the root beer but I liked it anyway. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker

Sandy's Simple Spring Lettuce Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I really liked this dressing. We made a salad with what we like with butter lettuce and ridichio. I was not familiar with shallots and I liked the way they flavored the dressing without being over-powering like raw onion or garlic. My only changes to dressing were using a different oil, not having olive oil. Also, believe I used white wine vinegar instead of rice. Unfamiliar with shallots, I just minced about 2 tsp. When done, I also added a sprinkle of garlic salt. Already planning this dressing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker

Quick Taco Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was yummy, I have not had a taco salad in forever. I only had 1 lb of beef and so I made 1/2 recipe. I am not a fan of raw onions, so I decided to chop the 1/2 onion and sautee it in 1 Tblsp of safflower oil until transluscent. I then added the beef and an addition of 2 minced garlic cloves and a dash of garlic salt and black pepper. For the taco seasoning I used Penzeys Brand. It is more natural and less sodium than the packets. I used 96% lean ground beef from Trader Joes. I layered the bowls with torn lettuce from a bag of butter lettuce and radicchio mix also from TJ's. Then added about 5 broken ranch flavored tostado rolls chips, 1/4 chopped tomato, a tblsp or so of lite sour cream, 2-3 sliced olives, about 2 Tblsp of sharp cheddar cheese, 2-3 tblsp of medium Chi Chis brand bottled thick and chunky salsa. After that I layered 1/6 of the cooked meat and onion mixture, then topped that with about a tblsp more sharp cheddar and 2 tblsp more med salsa. This was so delicious. I did have to write down all of the precise measurements because I calculate calories currently. Made as is 1 bowl came to about 305 calories. That is fantastic. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States