Norfolk - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken and Summer Squash

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I am originally from the Middle East and we cook chicken with zucchinis all the time. In these recipes you must add a lot of chopped onion and garlic with the vegetables. Then put the seared chicken on top, and bake for 20-30 min. adding the onion makes the dish very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The color was unappetizing. It looked like tan/taupe paint with light brown bits in it. I might have liked it better without the cream because I love balsamic sauces/glazes. It tasted like acidic alfredo. I ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedarwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I accidentally left out the vanilla and this cake still turned out magnificently! It was moist and rich but not too sweet. I made a layer cake with whipped ganache frosting and a raspberry filling and my coworkers were raving about it. This is definitely a keeper. It was a little difficult to frost because it was so sticky and a little crumbly, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaonastick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Easy, fast and delicious! I always use this for "care connection" dinners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevalgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by genechristopher

Drunken Mussels

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Delicious! A little more sweet than I wanted. Perhaps I will try something other than a Chardonnay next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genechristopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Easy Peach Cobbler II

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
YUMMY,FAST,EASY I GIVE IT 2 THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawtyscancook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this recipe this morning with my toddler and it was a hit!! These are some of the best pancakes we have ever had!! I did add a little vanilla to mine. And the recipe does make 8 pancakes if you follow the directions and use 1/4 cup of batter. Though they are not as big as I normally make my pancakes they were satisfying enough (I had 3) and perfect for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msblkhoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding Poke Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I used 4 cups milk for 2 boxes pudding. good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made it exactly as written and even did the charring on the tortillas. It was nearly flavorless. It needed salt, spice, and vegetables - all of those. We also weren't a fan of the casserole form and will never again waver from traditional rolled enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedarwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Soup II

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I gave this four stars based on the originial recipe ... With this being a soup I was able to taste as I went and make a few changes. I know noone likes when someone rates a recipe but doesnt make it exactly but on the other hand I'm not going to waste a bunch of ingredients when I know what I can do to make it better for me and all recipes are all in the eye of the beholder (eater, lol). I followed all of the cooking directions exactly just added a couple of ingredients. I added quartered button mushrooms and a few cut up jalapeno slices to the veges to saute, I also added salt, pepper and a pinch of paprike to taste. After the veges were done I added the milk w/ flour, then I added the soup and used chicken broth instead of water and buillon (as many previous reviews did), when it was done it was really really good, just felt it was missing something... sooo I added a pound of Italian sausage, end result... AMAZING!!! Thank you for the great idea.. I'm going to put some shredded cheddar cheese on it and eat til its gone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Football Dip Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Second time I made this I added taco seasoning to the meat and the cream cheese and I used Ro-Tel tomatos but both times, sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I was looking for a brownie recipe, and I decided to give this recipe a try........Was SO easy to mix up, and I used only 1 bowl, no need to get out my HUGE Kitchen Aid Stand mixer. I used used the hand held mixer :-) I would make these again, that's for sure.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cake3242

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCouple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I finally found a recipe for Stroganoff that we both love! I think it's the lemon that gives it that extra little "zing" that I've been searching for. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Crisp Marinated Cucumbers

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Very good. Didn't wait for them to be cold. Will be better tomorrow. A little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made this tonight. Instead of chicken I used Turkey cutlets. I diced them upand seasoned with garlic & onion powder. I also used Mrs Dash table blend. I sauted the turkey in some olive oil. I weny ahead mixed the soup and mayo in small bowl and poured it in the pan with the turkey. I also mixed the broccoli and cheese in it too. I put it in a bake dish and topped it off with some cheese and the stuffing. Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toaster Cat

Quinoa, Beet, and Arugula Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this yesterday and substituted kale for the arugula and used canned beets because I already had them on hand. It was delicious! I think some reviews mentioned the arugula or spinach getting soggy when the leftovers were saved, but the kale is a hearty green and it was just as crisp the second day. Kale is also really cheap (I spent 43 cents on it!) so I recommend it. I also omitted the sugar from the dressing and added extra garlic. It was a quick, easy recipe. I took it to a picnic and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
We didn't really care for this. It didn't taste bad, but it really just tasted like pot roast. I would just make pot roast if I wanted this flavor. I am going to stick with my regular stroganoff recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Tasty! Just a little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe with a few changes. Added a clove of garlic, and 1 potato because I didn't have enough broccoli. I also cooked it in one pot. Sautéed onion/celery in butter, then added flour, then water/broccoli and cooked. Then added milk at the end. It was awesome!! My 3 kids loved it, and my 18 month old ate 2 bowls and then licked her bowl clean! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States