Harrisonburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Pudding Cake II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My partner and I whipped this up when we were craving a chocolatey treat one night, and we were very impressed at how easy it was to make. The fact that it is mixed together in the pan that it bakes makes cleanup a cinch. I reduced the flour slightly and and added an extra tablespoon of cocoa to the cake to give it a little more flavor, since several people felt it was bland. Because the cake is so basic, it leaves a lot of room for modifications to personal taste. Overall, we found it to be a simple, delicious recipe that took less than 15 minutes to prepare and made almost no mess. It tasted great warm or cold. Definitely will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesofStone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Hummus

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
So easy and delicious! Hubby loves it and so does our toddler. I will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crprice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday and am very pleased with the results! Followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh pineapple and fresh pineapple juice. Will definitely be making this again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crprice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Quinoa

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very easy and flavorful. Definitely serves 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abrueckner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Lasagna III

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I loved this recipe. It turned out tasty and also had a lightness to it. I also grilled up some chicken strips, diced the chicken and added to the cheese/spinach mixture. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abrueckner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
My family RAVED over this! I think I'm going to make it at Christmas and use raspberry jam as filling between the layers and put raspberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Chinese Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS! We loved this! Did it in the crock pot instead of the oven and I almost couldn't take it out because it was so tender and falling apart! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delish! I cooked the salmon with all the marinade in a large cast iron skillet instead of grilling and it sort of made a glaze. It was so yummy! I can't think of a meat this wouldn't be good on. My family and I were discussing it and we're going to try using it as the sauce for a shrimp stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10

Sour Cherry Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Best cherry pie recipe I've ever used. I omitted the almond extract because I am allergic to nuts but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10

Limehouse Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Delicious!!!!! And very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Oh my word! Best tilapia recipe I have ever had! Tilapia is a boring fish, no way around it, but this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10

Raspberry-Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This wasn't exactly what I expected when I made it. My family didn't love it. It wasn't bad at all, just not something I'd be likely choose to make again. Not bad but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Made exactly as said and these are DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Massaman Curry

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Too much PB! I put 2 cans of coco milk to stabilize it. It's not as good as the restaurant but in a fix and to save money...why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Totally yummy cake. Not a difficult recipe to follow (and I am NOT a baker). My 9 yr old son and I made this and took it to a holiday gathering- it was a hit! Moist and mmmm. Of note: ton of batter, as has been mentioned, so definitely messy; we sprinkled the choc chips in a layer in the middle of the batter (very thick batter) instead of incorporating and it was an awesome 'extra'. We used a bundt pan and dusted it w powdered sugar to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artistforhire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Absolutely amazing. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
On first sight, it looks like the casserole is all mush. But with the first bite, the stuffing mix works it's magic. The dry stuffing is definitely the greatest addition, I don't think cooked stuffing would work. The flavors were amazing together, and it's kid friendly! My 6 year old is very picky and he loved it! Great for a quick, filling meal any time of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrysRobey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wardsboro, Vermont, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good recipe! I did chill the dough in the refrigerator overnight and then made a batch for church with pumpkin and leaf cookie cutters. Held their shape well and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Makeover Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
very good and lower fat than the original that my grandma made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Mojo Grilling Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I recently went to a Cuban restaurant in NC and it was the first time I ever had Cuban food. I used this recipe to try to recreate the wonderful Mojo Shrimp I had there. It was delicious. I reserved a little bit of the mojo to pour over the dish. Marinate some shrimp, cook in a skillet, and serve with black beans and rice! Deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 53) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States