Hampton, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Minute Steaks with Barbeque Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Can you say yum? My family can't because their mouths are so full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious just the way it is written.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These are amazing. Light, fluffy, melt in your mouth! I followed the recipe exactly - i just added vanilla and cinnamon. A definite recipe we will keep and use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
YUM! This was delicious. First of all, to the poster who recommended poking holes with a fork and microwaving the squash for 3 minutes, you are a genius of the highest order whom I shall worship for the remainder of my cooking life. I was trying to explain to my boyfriend how hard it is to peel butternut squash, and I equated it to cutting down a tree with a butter knife - this tip made the job SOOOO easy. I love you, wonderful poster. This recipe was so easy and so good. I made three small changes - I added petite red skinned potatoes to the mix (cut the same size as the squash), added some fresh thyme and roasted the veggies just a bit longer - 40 minutes instead of 25. I couldn't stop drooling and neither could my BF. Definitely a keeper recipe! Oh, and it tasted great the next day, too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mushroom Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great dish! ...but let's make this easier! We had fresh mushrooms to use up and I found this recipe. I cooked the onion, peppers & mushrooms as directed, but added 1 Tablespoon of minced garlic (mine was from a jar) from other suggestions. Then, I stirred in the same measurements of water and rice... BUT, I used YELLOW RICE ("Par Excellence with Saffron" from BJs'). I just knew it wouldn't need: salt, pepper, garlic powder, bullion, broth or ANYTHING ELSE! I also knew that I was taking a chance & warned Wifey that she would be a 'test subject' Happy to report that the experiment was successful! The YELLOW RICE filled out ALL of the other flavors beautifully & took out all of the guesswork! This was our main dish and we both loved it! This will be a regular veggie-night dish, for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
YUM! I tried this recipe this morning and loved it! I omitted the red and cayenne pepper and the cream, reduced the salt and used jarred sauce (Classico Tomato and Basil) and thought it was still too much spice for an egg dish. I'll probably try crushed tomatoes with basil next time. I baked it for exactly 10 minutes, in the toaster/oven and let them set up, on the counter, while I made my toast and they came out perfect! I wish I'd remembered to buy English muffins... I think they'd be great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Pasta Primavera Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was great! Like others I sauteed the veggies; minced garlic, carrot, onion, 2x green pepper(didn't have red), zucchini & yellow squash. I also saved the broccoli & fresh basil for the last 10 minutes of simmering, after adding the broth, tomatoes & paste. I did NOT add the bay leaf or sugar & didn't miss them at all! I just eyeball measured all of the dry spices & it came out 'just-right' spicy & well balanced. Served it over Angel-Hair pasta & it worked very well together. Wifey loved it! We have plenty of leftovers, for the week but I WILL be making again! Thank you, April!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic. The servings count was a little low - no serving size mentioned, so we used 1 cup. It was absolutely delicious. We'll be doubling the recipe for our next go around. This served 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Grammy's Clam Fritters

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
AWFUL !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandi griffin
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had 2 leftover 3/4" grilled pork loin chops to come up with something for Wednesday night dinner. I saw this recipe & said, "SHAZZAM"! I sautéed some onion & quartered baby-bellos with EVOO. Added some Golden Sherry (I saw 'Stroganoff' referenced in another post & it just sounded right.) & let it bubble a bit. Went to cabinet for mushroom soup... NONE! But... 'Wifey' had bought an 18 oz can of Progresso 'Creamy Portobello, Recipe Starter, cooking sauce' (must have been on sale). Threw most of it in & it looked too thin. Cooked it down 15-20 min, before adding S&P, Worcestershire. Added some sour cream, accumulated pork juices, frozen peas, stirred & buried the chops. Heated @ med-low for about 20 min & served over X-wide egg noodles. YUM!!! We snarfed it! BTW... Wifey made me save all the leftover sauce & peas, for her to take to work. So... I guess I did OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used 4 & ¾ lbs boneless-skinless thighs (they were on sale). Mixed 1 packet of ‘Herb-Ox Sodium-Free Chicken Bullion’ dissolved in 1c of water, dumped it in the Crock Pot, and then dumped in the thighs. I set the Crock Pot for Hi, for 4 hours. Poured off most of the broth it created (LOTS!) I made some changes to the sauce, according to posted suggestions. I used ½ ketchup & ½ crushed tomatoes (had some leftover), Worcestershire instead of steak sauce & Dijon mustard (it was all I had on hand). Don’t be too concerned that the sauce tastes strong. I was, so I added it to the chicken a bit at a time, wound up using it all and it came out great! Lots of flavor, good moisture and lots of compliments from guests! Don't forget to serve it with cole slaw! I suggest bagged, Dole cole slaw with whatever dressing you like, instead of the soggy stuff you buy in a tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Red and Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Simpler IS better! 'Respect the meat'! I was always a 'chuck-roast-with-2-soups' or 'throw-some-wine-in-it' kinda guy. The Mrs. (NE native) had just bought a 3.6 lb. chuck roast & said, "I just want a roast that tastes like meat!" I went on AR & found this one & followed the original recipe. HOLY SCHNIKES! This NAILED it for both me & the Mrs.!!! FOLLOW THE RECIPE VERBATIM!!! It's awesome AND you'll have really CLEAN meat for leftovers! Whether you want simple roast beef sandwiches or if you want to throw in soups or wine, noodles or veggies, you'll have the PERFECT starter-base BEEF for your leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Juicy Hamburgers made with Panko bread crumbs

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I tried this for the first time today 4/1/14 (I know it's April fools day) because I was in the mood for Hamburgers. I'm glad that I did! I did try some tips from others about the Olive Oil and using regular milk. I didn't have regular bread crumbs but I did have Kikkoman Panko bread crumbs and used those instead. Wow no tasteless dried out hamburgers! I may decrease the milk more because of the Olive Oil or leave it out all together. Will be adding this to my recipe box and the only other tip I would suggest is making sure you make the middle of your hamburgers lower than the edges so you don't have raw middles as the middle of your hamburger always "plumps up" while it cooks and the hamburger will cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needsomething2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I tried this for the first time today 4/1/14 (I know it's April fools day) because I was in the mood for Hamburgers. I'm glad that I did! I did try some tips from others about the Olive Oil and using regular milk. I didn't have regular bread crumbs but I did have Kikkoman Panko bread crumbs and used those instead. Wow no tasteless dried out hamburgers! I may decrease the milk more because of the Olive Oil or leave it out all together. Will be adding this to my recipe box and the only other tip I would suggest is making sure you make the middle of your hamburgers lower than the edges so you don't have raw middles as the middle of your hamburger always "plumps up" while it cooks and the hamburger will cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needsomething2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Beef and Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
blah mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Buckingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Love the recipe, was a total hit with the family especially with one son who very picky with what he will eat. Was asked how soon I would make it again, my oldest son said it was perfect the way it was as I had added 4 dashes of hot sauce. I love how I throw it in the slow cooker after the short time in the oven while I'm at work. No grilling during this severe heat wave! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needsomething2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The best homemade cinnamon rolls I ever had! Nice and thorough instructions too! I used a cinnamon icing to cost the yummy goodness. I'm saving this recipe and may even call it my own!! Lol jk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilylibra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cor135

Chicken Chow Mein (West Indian Style)

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I enjoyed the taste of the fresh ginger root although I used a standard potato peeler to peel it into really thin strips that get absorbed really well during cooking. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the first time I made it I felt that it needed a little something more. Then someone recommended I add 3 tablespoons of "Iron Chef" General Tso's sauce - I added this when stir frying the chicken and the veggies together and it was divine! You can find the Iron Chef sauce series at any grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
this was fine. It is a great way to make boneless skinless chicken breasts more flavorable. If I make it again, I will brown the chicken first before the onions. I will cut down on the balsamic and add chicken broth. Be sure to serve over pasta or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States