Hampton, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Orange Cream Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Very tasty. I did add orange zest and extra powdered sugar to it to get the consistency right for icing cookies. The extra powdered sugar DID NOT change the flavor any though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giraffe30082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Square Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I am a rookie baker and these came out great. I followed the original recipe in addition to the feedback provided by "CareBear". I used Minute Main real frozen lemon juice and I increased everything in the crust by 25% to make a thicker bar. I greased the glass baking pan with Crisco spray on Butter and nothing stuck! The crust will be firm, so use a firm knife for cutting. I will def make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I used ‘Herb-Ox Sodium Free’ packets, for the broth and half the salt and pepper directed (I'm on a low-sodium diet). It still had plenty of flavor. I boiled 3 small chicken breasts and cubed them and used 2 bags of frozen mixed vegetables. I made 'drop biscuits' with Bisquick Heart Smart mix & almond milk because that's what I had on hand. I cooked as directed, then just left it all in the skillet, dropped the biscuits in and put it in the oven... one less dish to wash! I didn't bother with the foil at the end because the 'drop biscuits' didn't really need it. DELISH!!! I may try some mushrooms and sherry next time, but what a terrific comfort dish... I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I was craving buttermilk pancakes and had some leftover buttermilk from making cornbread, and so I tried this recipe. The pancakes were perfect. I wouldn't change a thing!! My new go-to recipe for the pancakes that I remember as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've tried this recipe BOTH ways. It's delicious either way, but the skillet method is MUCH better, both for looks (browned) & taste (much more developed)! It's just a total PAIN!!! Trying to follow a recipe, written for the oven style, with only vague footnotes & reviews for the skillet style is INSANE! The original poster really should post her skillet method as an entirely NEW recipe! If she won't I will! BTW... I'm making it again, right now (Yes... it's THAT GOOD!), hence my present frustration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I followed the recipe as close as I could. I always try to, at least the first time. However, I don't use or keep onion salt or garlic salt, so I used onion & garlic POWDERS + a little table salt. (I did add a bit of cumin, from a review, to the spice mix, but Dear Wifey picked it up right away & said, "It was awesome, but leave the cumin out, next time.") We both found ourselves pulling the awesome, crispy skin off & treating it like another side-dish! This was, BY FAR, the best, most honest & simple chicken thigh recipe we've ever tasted! I may never even attempt to GRILL thighs again... no matter the weather!!! We're already on the hunt for more $.99/lb thighs! Thank you so much, Nicole!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Minute Steaks with Barbeque Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Can you say yum? My family can't because their mouths are so full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious just the way it is written.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These are amazing. Light, fluffy, melt in your mouth! I followed the recipe exactly - i just added vanilla and cinnamon. A definite recipe we will keep and use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Autumn Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
My kids ate these for breakfast and snack, two days straight! I didn't have any figs (nor could I find any at my commissary), so I used chopped dates instead. They were definitely a hit with my clan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Morey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
YUM! This was delicious. First of all, to the poster who recommended poking holes with a fork and microwaving the squash for 3 minutes, you are a genius of the highest order whom I shall worship for the remainder of my cooking life. I was trying to explain to my boyfriend how hard it is to peel butternut squash, and I equated it to cutting down a tree with a butter knife - this tip made the job SOOOO easy. I love you, wonderful poster. This recipe was so easy and so good. I made three small changes - I added petite red skinned potatoes to the mix (cut the same size as the squash), added some fresh thyme and roasted the veggies just a bit longer - 40 minutes instead of 25. I couldn't stop drooling and neither could my BF. Definitely a keeper recipe! Oh, and it tasted great the next day, too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mushroom Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great dish! ...but let's make this easier! We had fresh mushrooms to use up and I found this recipe. I cooked the onion, peppers & mushrooms as directed, but added 1 Tablespoon of minced garlic (mine was from a jar) from other suggestions. Then, I stirred in the same measurements of water and rice... BUT, I used YELLOW RICE ("Par Excellence with Saffron" from BJs'). I just knew it wouldn't need: salt, pepper, garlic powder, bullion, broth or ANYTHING ELSE! I also knew that I was taking a chance & warned Wifey that she would be a 'test subject' Happy to report that the experiment was successful! The YELLOW RICE filled out ALL of the other flavors beautifully & took out all of the guesswork! This was our main dish and we both loved it! This will be a regular veggie-night dish, for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
YUM! I tried this recipe this morning and loved it! I omitted the red and cayenne pepper and the cream, reduced the salt and used jarred sauce (Classico Tomato and Basil) and thought it was still too much spice for an egg dish. I'll probably try crushed tomatoes with basil next time. I baked it for exactly 10 minutes, in the toaster/oven and let them set up, on the counter, while I made my toast and they came out perfect! I wish I'd remembered to buy English muffins... I think they'd be great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Pasta Primavera Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was great! Like others I sauteed the veggies; minced garlic, carrot, onion, 2x green pepper(didn't have red), zucchini & yellow squash. I also saved the broccoli & fresh basil for the last 10 minutes of simmering, after adding the broth, tomatoes & paste. I did NOT add the bay leaf or sugar & didn't miss them at all! I just eyeball measured all of the dry spices & it came out 'just-right' spicy & well balanced. Served it over Angel-Hair pasta & it worked very well together. Wifey loved it! We have plenty of leftovers, for the week but I WILL be making again! Thank you, April!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic. The servings count was a little low - no serving size mentioned, so we used 1 cup. It was absolutely delicious. We'll be doubling the recipe for our next go around. This served 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Grammy's Clam Fritters

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
AWFUL !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandi griffin
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had 2 leftover 3/4" grilled pork loin chops to come up with something for Wednesday night dinner. I saw this recipe & said, "SHAZZAM"! I sautéed some onion & quartered baby-bellos with EVOO. Added some Golden Sherry (I saw 'Stroganoff' referenced in another post & it just sounded right.) & let it bubble a bit. Went to cabinet for mushroom soup... NONE! But... 'Wifey' had bought an 18 oz can of Progresso 'Creamy Portobello, Recipe Starter, cooking sauce' (must have been on sale). Threw most of it in & it looked too thin. Cooked it down 15-20 min, before adding S&P, Worcestershire. Added some sour cream, accumulated pork juices, frozen peas, stirred & buried the chops. Heated @ med-low for about 20 min & served over X-wide egg noodles. YUM!!! We snarfed it! BTW... Wifey made me save all the leftover sauce & peas, for her to take to work. So... I guess I did OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used 4 & ¾ lbs boneless-skinless thighs (they were on sale). Mixed 1 packet of ‘Herb-Ox Sodium-Free Chicken Bullion’ dissolved in 1c of water, dumped it in the Crock Pot, and then dumped in the thighs. I set the Crock Pot for Hi, for 4 hours. Poured off most of the broth it created (LOTS!) I made some changes to the sauce, according to posted suggestions. I used ½ ketchup & ½ crushed tomatoes (had some leftover), Worcestershire instead of steak sauce & Dijon mustard (it was all I had on hand). Don’t be too concerned that the sauce tastes strong. I was, so I added it to the chicken a bit at a time, wound up using it all and it came out great! Lots of flavor, good moisture and lots of compliments from guests! Don't forget to serve it with cole slaw! I suggest bagged, Dole cole slaw with whatever dressing you like, instead of the soggy stuff you buy in a tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Red and Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Simpler IS better! 'Respect the meat'! I was always a 'chuck-roast-with-2-soups' or 'throw-some-wine-in-it' kinda guy. The Mrs. (NE native) had just bought a 3.6 lb. chuck roast & said, "I just want a roast that tastes like meat!" I went on AR & found this one & followed the original recipe. HOLY SCHNIKES! This NAILED it for both me & the Mrs.!!! FOLLOW THE RECIPE VERBATIM!!! It's awesome AND you'll have really CLEAN meat for leftovers! Whether you want simple roast beef sandwiches or if you want to throw in soups or wine, noodles or veggies, you'll have the PERFECT starter-base BEEF for your leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States