Fredericksburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crab Cakes by Michael

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Original recipe for 65 people! WOW! Cut it down for 20. BLAND! No onion, no garlic, no bell pepper or capers. Very dry. Eggs bind, but add no moisture. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Too salty, too greasy. I doubled the jalapeno's & cut mayo in half . The cheddar made a layer of grease that the crackers soggy Truly a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne and Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I used this just for the vodka sauce recipe and thought this recipe was a great starter recipe. I did make some modifications including adding sautéed onions and crushed red pepper and removing the pancetta since we don't eat meat. I also blanched two tomatoes to remove the skin and added them to the tomato sauce. I cooked the butter and vodka sauce for about 1 minute and added the tomato sauce and cooked for a good 45 minutes on low before adding the cream. This was so amazingly delicious, I will definitely make it again. We made our own pasta using the basic pasta recipe from this website - also highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Meatball Sub Casserole | What2Cook

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Made this the first time without the mayo/cream cheese mixture. It was really good and very easy and fast! The entire family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole | What2Cook

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
The entire family loved it. I think if I were to try it again, I would pan cook the chicken without the breading and add panko with melted butter to the top of it. It is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Petra's Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this the way its written except I only used 1 pound of frozen strawberries because that's all I had but it tastes amazing, it baked up nice and fluffy and tastes kinda like a sweet angel food cake, so yummy :) would definitely make again :) Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I used this to top the Black Magic Cake from this site, it added the extra sweetness the dark chocolate cake needed, went very well with it. Thanks for this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Ganache

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I used this as a filler for the cake I made for my husbands bday, I didn't use the rum tho, I also took the left over half a bar of the bittersweet chocolate bar and melted it and dipped strawberries in it to put on top of the Black Magic Cake recipe from this site. Tasted amazing :) thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I made this cake for my husbands bday and it was amazing, not too sweet because it has a dark chocolate flavor, I used the chocolate ganache recipe from this site for a filling between the cakes and then made the creamy chocolate frosting also from this site to top the cake, It was really good, and not overly sweet :) thanks for the amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I just finished making these, and they came out amazing :) I baked them in a 9x13 and did 1 and 1/2 times the brown sugar mixture to get a really gooey cinnamon roll, I made the cream cheese icing from the clone of a cinnabon recipe on this site and they are amazing, I will never make another can of cinnamon rolls again, these taste way better and really quick and simple to make :) Thank you Goofydebbie for an amazing recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
AMAZING!!! :) I love these muffins, I followed the recipe exactly and they came out amazing :) It made 22 of the best blueberry muffins I've ever had :) Thank you for the recipe I will definitely be making these again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Italian Dressing I

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
It is an extremely good dressing that is very simple do make. I just like to add about a 1/4 of a cup of shredded asiago cheese to add a little bit more flavor. Thank you Cathy for sharing an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EHayden1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Cheese Dip

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very disappointed in this recipe. Ketchup clashed with velveeta. 2nd batch I used chili sauce w/a pinch of cayenne. MUCH better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked Zucchini Fries

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I did a few things differently. It was faster for me to just slice the zucchini (unpeeled). I also used 2 Tbsp. of milk and 1 egg white mixed together, instead of the butter. Near the end of the cooking time, I set the oven to broil to crisp them up. I also, flipped them once half way through baking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I have tried several different roll recipes and I couldn't find one that I loved until I made these!! They are amazing, instead of turning them into crescents I rolled them into 36 balls and placed them into a muffin pan and then put melted butter and honey onto and then baked them and then as soon as they came out of the oven I put honey and butter on the top again. The rolls came out amazingly good, they were almost all gone by dinner time :) Thank you for the recipe, I will definitely be making these again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Ive made this recipe so many times and it comes out awesome every time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made these brownies exactly like the recipe and they are amazing :) so simple and taste so much better than the boxed brownies, I will definitely make this over and over again :) thank you for the amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Marinated shrimp for about an hour. Had to sub ketchup for tomato sauce because I was out. Skewered and grilled shrimp. Was absolutely delicious! Slightly sweet with a little kick from cayenne. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESKT4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crepes

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
So easy and So good :) I had never made a Crepe before and they are so easy and so good :) definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
It was very good. I did not think it would fill the bellies of my family who seem to have bottomless pits, but it did so with ease. thanks for the recipe. I rate it UMM-UM GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EHayden1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States