Fredericksburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My husband said he loved his prime rib. He likes it more rare. The inside is bright pink/red. The outside is done to my liking. I used exact method he said except I didn't salt because the salt will pull the juices out of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornbread Sausage Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I used Jimmy Dean County mild sausage. I did as one reviewer suggested and did not make up stuffing. I did throw in extra butter to make up the difference though. I also used homemade Chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nogtini

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Exceptional! Great holiday drink. Didn't make any changes. It says it makes 1 serving, but it perfectly filled my 2 martini glasses. I used a 1 cup measuring glass. Start with vodka and coffee liqueur (1/4 cup each) then add eggnog to 1 cup. Eggnog is thick and covers the numbers if you put in first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very easy to make and it reminded me of my Grandmother's homemade chocolate sauce. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flank Steak a la Willyboy

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I thought this recipe was wonderful. I'll definitely do it again. Made just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is an incredible way to cook acorn squash it is more like a dessert than a vegetable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These are very good! I used coconut palm sugar for brown sugar and Spelt flour. Instead of raisins, I used semi sweet chocolate chips. I used a dough scraper to form a nice 1 inch margin around edge. Great evening snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Husband loved this. I made per a suggestion and put onion, potato and kielbasa in a large cast iron skillet. Cooked that for 10 min or so and added water and cabbage. Covered and cooked for 10 more minutes. I used vegetable magic for seasonings and nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was AMAZING!!! I used basic flakey pie crust off this website for dough. It make enough for 4 apples. I had to run to the store after one bite to get some vanilla ice cream. It paired so well together. I loved the gooeyness the sugar water makes. Great great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
First time ever making pie crust! I used butter. It required more than 3 TB water to make dough hold. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Pancakes from Scratch

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Used the vinegar trick to make buttermilk. Love these pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is my favorite tomato soup recipe. Perfect when you have all those tomatoes coming in and not sure what to do with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bobbing for Apples

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My goodness this is good. I used one of those packets of apple cider since I didn't have any real cider on hand. This is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is the best granola. I have been making this for 2 years now. I use any mixture of nuts I have on hand. And I use coconut oil. I also use palm sugar for brown sugar. Since I make it every week, I reuse the same parchment paper over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pita Pizza

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I can't believe I never made these before. Fantastic. Not enough for my dinner but they do make a perfect snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Made these little darlings for my husband and friends. They all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Made with fish my husband caught: rockfish. He liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
These are amazing. I used real maple syrup and the maple flavor is perfect. I didn't wait for butter to soften completely. I chopped up mixed with pastry cutter. Pressed in pan and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My husband loves this. He likes extra diced up tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Will never need another rib recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States