Falls Church - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Charlotte's Butternut Squash Fries

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
We have a bumper crop of butternut squash this year to fix all different ways. Seasoned with garlic salt and paprika. Sprayed the cookie sheet with PAM and put them in the oven for 35 minutes Grilled the other half of this squash outside with the same seasoning for 15 minutes. Personally I prefer the oven baked squash fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Divine.Simple to make since I had all the ingredients on hand. Used corn tortillas instead of flour ones. Used fresh garden tomatoes instead of salsa. I made half the recipe which my husband and I devoured. Toasted the corn tortilla in the toaster, better than using an extra pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimi in the Oven

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My DH helped prepare this dish. I prefer corn tortillas and used them instead of the flour ones. Made it as written otherwise. Served with homemade guacamole and no-fat sour cream. A great dinner -- we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Danish Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
It's become a favorite in my house! I do add cheese to it - usually sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Efird Rolita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wasn't impressed when I made it last year. However, there were so much left over I packaged it for the freezer. Needed a starch for dinner this evening, so we heated it up in the microwave. Must say -- time improved it dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Carb Mashed Cauliflower

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A big surprise. Wanted to try cauliflower as a change from potatoes. Steamed the cauliflower mashed it with fresh garlic and Old Bay Seasoning. That's all. Baked it for 25 minutes then grated sharp cheddar on top and baked another 5 minutes. Really, really good. Served it with baked bread as our starch. My husband LOVED IT. Thanks for this interesting twist on an old favorite. Cauliflower rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie Spice I

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Much, much better than McCormick's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Paprikash II

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was very yummy, I used cut up chicken breasts and chicken broth instead of water as some others had suggested. Boyfriend had not ever had chicken paprikash but he really liked it and I will be making this again. I think I will do it with the chicken parts next time because I'm sure it would be even more flavorful that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Lentil and Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Made exactly as specified in the recipe except for the pasta. My wife and I both thought it on the bland side and felt the 8 cups of water made it, well, kind of watery. If I were to make it again, I'd add more sausage and maybe some hot chili paste along with using the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Crisp

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The crust was great the pumpkin part not so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Vinegar I

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My grocer discontinued carrying raspberry vinegar so I looked forward to great results with this recipe. Regretfully this recipe only captures the fragrance of raspberry vinegar. It lacks the full bodied flavor I grew accustomed to. The flavor is so light that it's nonexistent. Next time I'll try using red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Penne

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Delicious and hearty! Full of veggies! We made a vegan version with Daiya Mozzarella. I also added some dried oregano and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Johnny's Spice Rub

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Nice, but nothing special until I added 2T Old Bay Seasoning. That supplied the missing ZIP. My husband raves about this recipe now, and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These were wonderful! We made a vegan version using almond milk and Ener-G Egg Replacer. We also added some chopped pecans to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I always make a recipe as written and this came out wonderful. Thank you will make again. However another reviewer had a problem with the ingredients in the bag and garlic sticking. I didn't have much garlic on the bag and the little I did I just turned bag inside out and tapped it and it fell into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve2278

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB'

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I always make a recipe as written. I only tweak it to my taste if it was good enough to make a second time and needs more or less spices. No tweaking here. Excellent! Just the two of us, therefore I simply cut the recipe in half and made one loaf. Should have made the two. Very moist, flavorful and probably the best banana nut bread I have ever made. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve2278

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Fantastic! My wife and I both loved this healthy vegan dish. We cut the cayenne pepper by half because we were having a jalapeno based side dish but there's still a little hint of heat. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. Served over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Rocket

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Once we figured out to take it slow when putting them together, we got perfect color layers out of this. The taste leaves something to be desired though. I got a hint of that "Bombpop" taste but there was no doubt that there was a LOT of vodka in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicago-Style Pan Pizza

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Great recipe! Made this recipe exactly as listed except I baked it in a deep dish pizza pan instead of glass dish. Filling is great and even though my crust was a little softer than I wanted (my fault, not the recipe) I'd make this again for sure. Just the right amount of cheese and savory ingredients. I kept the Italian sausage in bigger chunks and recommend you do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Bored with my default turkey burger recipe when this popped up. DH loves spicy. This recipe looked like a quick meal.Excellent flavor. Easy. Different. Substituted ground turkey for chicken and used fresh lemon since I forgot to buy limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States