Fairfax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Loved this. I changed it up just a bit for flavor preferences. I used a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the soup, and I added Italian seasoning to it. I used diced organic tomatoes instead of the whole peeled tomatoes, and I included the liquid. I used less cheese only because I don't recall my mom using cheese in her peppers when I was a kid and I didn't know how it would taste. I think the cheese doesn't add a whole lot of flavor but it helps everything stick together. I added two cloves of minced garlic to the beef and onions for more flavor. It was quite good and made great lunch leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Salmon Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
A little unusual and not quite to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Peach Dessert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was AMAZING! My only hint would be not to let the marshmallow cool toooo much as it doesn't blend easy with the whipped cream. Will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Kale Chips

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Did this recipe almost exactly as written - my oven crisped the kale up nicely in 40 minutes that was the only difference. I won't have enough to save until tomorrow because I can't stop eating it - SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

S.O.P.P.

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My mom used to make this back in the 70's and I loved it then. This recipe is exactly what she made. I made this last night and it was a huge hit... stunk up the house really well too! I will say that there is no way those potatoes are going to cook to tender in 10 minutes. You can certainly microwave them first to cut down on cooking time, just drain them well before you put them in hot oil. This is probably one of the easiest dishes to make when you are short on time. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Delicious! As previous reviews have stated, I was asked for the recipe by a few people at the potluck I took this to. I made this gluten-free by using brown rice spaghetti pasta. I used matchstick carrots rather than red peppers... I think peppers would be better, but I didn't have any on hand. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

New Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Made this exactly as written and I really like it! I will definitely make this again, but will add more celery, since I really love the crunch of celery. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Chicken Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I'm rating this recipe 4 stars because I did not follow it as exact. I love the idea of turning a meatloaf into a taco inspired taste. So I didn't have salsa, ranch dressing or bread crumbs. Instead I used 2 lbs of ground chicken, 4 eggs, 1 1/4 cups of instant oats, fresh minced garlic, scallions, one packet of mild taco seasoning with half packet of the hot taco seasoning. In place of the ranch dressing I used sour cream and mixed everything together. I then let the meat mixture sit in the fridge for 4-5 hours before baking in the oven at 350 for an hour. Oh I also didn't use any cheese in this recipe. So in place of melting cheese on top I used a small can of tomato sauce with half can of tomato paste and sprinkled in some mild taco seasoning - to make a enchilada inspired taste. For my dish I used a 9 x 4 dish and coated with extra virgin olive oil and place down 2 Ole corn tortillas and a thin layer of my tomato sauce mixture. I then formed my loaf and topped off with the rest of my sauce on top. I served it with brown rice & black beans, steamed brussel sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower. I enjoyed this so much! Def will make this again - not sure if I'll actually make the exact recipe reference... I preferred my creation with fresher ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowhite_owls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MoK

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Awesome recipe! I pretty much followed the directions, but I lowered the heat to 425F, kept it uncovered, cooked 25 mins. as directed then broiled for 3 mins. at 500F. Make it your own by adding different seasonings. I added a couple shakes of onion powder and Bell Pepper & Herb Rub from the Pampered Chef line. You could use any number of herbs like rosemary or tarragon, depending on what you're pairing it with. Just fabulous. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

El Paso Pizza

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Just made this tonight. Hubby and I loved it. I used a pre-made thin crust (similar to Boboli)that came in a package of two and only needed half of the meat mixture to spread over the crust, so I am ahead of the game when I want to make a second one. Using a pre-made crust I didn't need to mess with moving the pizza from low to higher rack. I just cooked it in the middle at 400F for about 10 minutes and it came out great. I adjusted the seasonings down (about 1/2 tsp. cumin and 3/4 tsp. chipotle pepper) to suit our tastes, and it was hot enough for us with the 1 Tbsp chili powder. I used one poblano pepper and chopped it rather fine, so there was no need to pick any of it out. This was a very simple and tasty recipe, and satisfied our desire for Mexican food around Cinco de Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was perfect! Love the heat from the cayenne and red pepper flakes. I love vinegar based bbq and this was spot on North Carolina! Loved it will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Berry Crisp

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Only had raspberries on hand so that's all I used. Perfect warm a la mode. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDankMiss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Ground Chicken Basil

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Fantastic! Exactly what I was hoping for. I served this in lettuce leaves to make into wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chicken Yakisoba

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
You can omit the salt when using the soy sauce and all the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this by request as I am not an egg eater... positive feedback, but it was suggested that I add some sherry next time. Also, after reading some of the reviews, I think I should have added the cornstarch before dropping in the eggs. I used Rapunzel vegetable bouillon instead of chicken broth, no extra salt needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I adjusted the salt and this stuff is heavenly. My 2 year old was just shoving it down. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MoK

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Hubby & I loved this! Changes I made: mix of red and yellow onion, low fat/sodium version of the condensed soups, light sour cream, only 1 tsp of cumin, twice the amount of chili powder, 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp. of onion & garlic powders, a Tbsp. of minced garlic with the peppers & onions, several grinds of black pepper and sea salt, 1-2 Tbsp of Frank's Red Hot Wings Buffalo sauce, couple dashes of Tabasco. Believe it or not, it wasn't very spicy-hot after all that. But it definitely needed something, since I was using the healthier soups. That's the great thing about this recipe-- you can make it your own! I also added some tortilla chip pieces on top of each serving for added crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Oh my goodness. I don't usually fight my husband for leftovers, but with this recipe I hid the Tupperware container in the back of the refrigerator so he wouldn't find it. SO delicious, and I didn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lantz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I have never made a turkey before so I was a little nervous at first. My husband says this was one of the best turkeys he has ever eaten and insisted that I save the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I have tried this recipe multiple times now, and each time I end up doing it slightly differently, bake a little longer or shorter, forget that I put something in the fry pan and almost burn but, but it doesn't matter! Every single time it is DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States