Fairfax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My husband made this last night only he doubled all the ingredients for the sauce because we like things saucy and over rice. However, next time we will double everything except the cayenne pepper, we'll do 3 tsp. instead of 4. The flavor was excellent and just like a quality Indian restaurant but double the cayenne is a little too lip burning. We used mahi mahi because it is a mild meaty white fish. Next time I would like to try a pink salmon with this. We served this with basmati rice flavored with cardamom pods. Excellent dish and SUPER healthy, will be making this a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My husband made this last night only he doubled all the ingredients for the sauce because we like things saucy and over rice. However, next time we will double everything except the cayenne pepper, we'll do 3 tsp. instead of 4. The flavor was excellent and just like a quality Indian restaurant but double the cayenne is a little too lip burning. We used mahi mahi because it is a mild meaty white fish. Next time I would like to try a pink salmon with this. We served this with basmati rice flavored with cardamom pods. Excellent dish and SUPER healthy, will be making this a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bird's Nest Breakfast Cups

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
These are fun to make and even better to devour. I love making a dozen or so of these, and keep them in the freezer for a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asher Haapala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Wonderful! Definitely take the advice of others and way undercook your pasta. I used very thin spaghetti and cooked it for half the recommended time. Stir-fried some cut up chicken ahead of time and added at the end. Also added some broccoli slaw to the cut up stems since I had some on hand. Hubby gave it two thumbs up! Will absolutely keep it in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Classic Tapioca Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Made this for the kids, and they just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marie Rialb

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My family devoured this chicken, even my picky tween asked for seconds. I used flour and water and more cream than the recipe called for- with the cornstarch and the recommended cream- because we are all about the sauce. I served this dish with garlicky jasmine rice and broccoli sautéed with olive oil and garlic. I was told I need to make it fairly often now. Thanks allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Rialb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I quite enjoyed this recipe! The only differences I did was use salmon steaks (they were on sale), some chopped chives, and a bit of melted butter for a nice toasty skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asher Haapala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shandong Chinese Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was not at all exciting to eat, very bland. Based on other reviews, I omitted the water in hopes of concentrating the flavor - didn't work. I will not bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Fantastic! I had smaller 8 ct. flour tortillas and using my scale I determined that the amount of chicken mixture worked out to 5.4 oz per tortilla. Also, used fat free sour cream and "healthy request" cream of chix soup. I felt 6 oz. of olives was way too much. Chopped up 1.5 oz to sprinkle over top. A full 6 oz. would have dominated the entire dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Mom's Prize Winning Raw Apple Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was pretty nice and a good use for sour milk. Next time I will try to substitute some whole wheat pastry flour for a portion of the all purpose flour to make it more wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Drop Nut Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These were ok, but nothing to rave over. I like the suggestion someone made for more nuts, I think I would double the amount. I used butter instead of shortening because it is a less processed ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was good, but I cut back on the beef a bit and halved the salt in order to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great flavor. I think I'll use less corn starch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Depression Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great cake! My kids love it! I increased the fat content. I used 3/4 cup of canola oil and it brought a lot of softness to the crumb and crust. Made it for a vegan friend and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Vincent Carrillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I rarely take the time to rate recipes, but I've been using this for years and it's ALWAYS a winner. Best results for the least amount of time/effort when you're in a crunch. I also use coffee for water and mini-chips, but I'm sure it's great as-is. I have made this as cupcakes (~30min) and mini cupcakes (~22mins), birthday cakes, mini-loaves, etc. Recipe doubles and triples wonderfully. Cream cheese icing works well if you want to decorate. The ONLY downside is I can't share the recipe--it would ruin my street cred to see boxed mix ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niblet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Chicken Skillet

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great base recipe! I took the advice of some others and added some chopped bell pepper and onion along with the chicken and garlic (doubled up on the garlic). Also took the recommendation of par-cooking the pasta then adding it just before putting the spinach on top w/the lid. Cooked for a couple of minutes then stirred it all together several times allowing the spinach to cook down. Added some fresh black pepper, a bit of ground sea salt, and some Italian seasoning. Would definitely make again! This recipe is quite adaptable. I'd probably add more herbs like basil and oregano next time, and try it with Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Italian Drunken Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Definite keeper. Didn't need quite as much bell pepper-- ended up using 1/2 green and 1/2 yellow. Used a can of Rotel tomatoes, and also some bulk sausage fried out first. Drained the grease from the sausage and rinsed the meat in a colander as I usually do. This is an easily adjustable recipe. I didn't use much oil at all, didn't need it. And I finished it off with shaved Parmesan cheese as another reviewer did. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Greek Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was very tasty. The only suggestion I have is to increase the amount of meat to 1 1/2 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Made this for New Year's Day brunch. A big hit! Did have to cook it for 10 minutes longer for a total of 1 hour. Makes great leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
FAN-tastic. I've never made chicken noodle soup and my first attempt was a winner. I sautéed the onions, carrots, and celery together, and added the chicken during the last min of sautéing. I added the broth, seasonings, and a dash of thyme, and simmered for 20 min. I added uncooked egg noodles and and simmered for 7 more min. Truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States