Fairfax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Shandong Chinese Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was not at all exciting to eat, very bland. Based on other reviews, I omitted the water in hopes of concentrating the flavor - didn't work. I will not bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Fantastic! I had smaller 8 ct. flour tortillas and using my scale I determined that the amount of chicken mixture worked out to 5.4 oz per tortilla. Also, used fat free sour cream and "healthy request" cream of chix soup. I felt 6 oz. of olives was way too much. Chopped up 1.5 oz to sprinkle over top. A full 6 oz. would have dominated the entire dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Mom's Prize Winning Raw Apple Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was pretty nice and a good use for sour milk. Next time I will try to substitute some whole wheat pastry flour for a portion of the all purpose flour to make it more wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Drop Nut Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These were ok, but nothing to rave over. I like the suggestion someone made for more nuts, I think I would double the amount. I used butter instead of shortening because it is a less processed ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was good, but I cut back on the beef a bit and halved the salt in order to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great flavor. I think I'll use less corn starch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Depression Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great cake! My kids love it! I increased the fat content. I used 3/4 cup of canola oil and it brought a lot of softness to the crumb and crust. Made it for a vegan friend and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Vincent Carrillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I rarely take the time to rate recipes, but I've been using this for years and it's ALWAYS a winner. Best results for the least amount of time/effort when you're in a crunch. I also use coffee for water and mini-chips, but I'm sure it's great as-is. I have made this as cupcakes (~30min) and mini cupcakes (~22mins), birthday cakes, mini-loaves, etc. Recipe doubles and triples wonderfully. Cream cheese icing works well if you want to decorate. The ONLY downside is I can't share the recipe--it would ruin my street cred to see boxed mix ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niblet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Chicken Skillet

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great base recipe! I took the advice of some others and added some chopped bell pepper and onion along with the chicken and garlic (doubled up on the garlic). Also took the recommendation of par-cooking the pasta then adding it just before putting the spinach on top w/the lid. Cooked for a couple of minutes then stirred it all together several times allowing the spinach to cook down. Added some fresh black pepper, a bit of ground sea salt, and some Italian seasoning. Would definitely make again! This recipe is quite adaptable. I'd probably add more herbs like basil and oregano next time, and try it with Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Italian Drunken Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Definite keeper. Didn't need quite as much bell pepper-- ended up using 1/2 green and 1/2 yellow. Used a can of Rotel tomatoes, and also some bulk sausage fried out first. Drained the grease from the sausage and rinsed the meat in a colander as I usually do. This is an easily adjustable recipe. I didn't use much oil at all, didn't need it. And I finished it off with shaved Parmesan cheese as another reviewer did. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Greek Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was very tasty. The only suggestion I have is to increase the amount of meat to 1 1/2 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Made this for New Year's Day brunch. A big hit! Did have to cook it for 10 minutes longer for a total of 1 hour. Makes great leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
FAN-tastic. I've never made chicken noodle soup and my first attempt was a winner. I sautéed the onions, carrots, and celery together, and added the chicken during the last min of sautéing. I added the broth, seasonings, and a dash of thyme, and simmered for 20 min. I added uncooked egg noodles and and simmered for 7 more min. Truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cake tasted much too artificial. I followed recipe except for separating egg yolks and beat whites into peaks and added separately as recommended. Cake did not turn out dense and texture was fine BUT the Jello dominates the flavor, that i may as well have baked a box cake! I also tried a second run with much less Jello flavoring and it was slightly better but I still would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
We like these pickles. I recommend packing the vegtables tightly into the jars, then adding the premixed liquid. The vegtables will shrink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Amazingly delicious dessert for not a lot of effort. Appreciated the comments for coating the apple in cinnamon sugar before wrapping in pastry; using 2 parts white sugar to 1 part brown; and the tip to let the butter and sugars simmer until it pulls from the sides of the pan before adding cinnamon and vanilla. Next time I plan on using ginger beer in place of Mountain Dew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made this by request for a friend, rave reviews. I added carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by GELOGENIC

Collard Greens and Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Partner said this actually let him enjoy collard greens. I was absolutely gobsmacked that I enjoyed it! Per reviews, used chicken broth in place of water and added sausage along with the beans to make it more of a main dish. What really added some umph! was mixing the red pepper flakes, sugar, and cider vinegar at the very start. The vinegar was infused with the spiciness by the time it went in to the pot. I've tried various ways to like collard greens and end up throwing away most of a yucky recipe. Thanks to this recipe, we won't be struggling over what to do with the collard greens that appear so often in our weekly CSA box. We didn't just tolerate it - we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Apples

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I took the advice of some others and doubled the sauce, as well as used half balsamic vinegar along with the apple cider vinegar. I did need to use a bit more cornstarch as the sauce was on the thin side. Also, I used Chardonnay instead of Riesling simply because that was what I had and was opened. I was able to shave 5 mins. off the pork cooking time by simply putting a lid over the skillet. The most tender pork hubs and I have ever tasted. You can easily cut it with a fork. What a perfect autumn recipe, and definitely company worthy! Next time I think I will try adding some thinly sliced onions along with the apples and letting it all simmer together. P.S. Responding to another recent reviewer.... The 2 T. water is mixed with the cornstarch and added at the end. I found that I needed to use a bit more cornstarch-to-water ratio to get it to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love this recipe. Funny though, the picture has carrots and parsley, but they aren't in the recipe. I would definitely add these ingredients for more flavor and substance. I use roasted chicken. Great for a rainy Fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States