Fairfax - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Great Grilled Smoky Vegetables with Avocado and Goat Cheese Crumbles

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Such a versatile recipe! I used green, red and yellow bell peppers, sliced zucchini, sliced baby bella mushrooms, asparagus, red onion, and quartered roma tomatoes. I marinated everything in a large ziploc bag instead of a dish. That way I could easily mix it and flip it periodically. I skipped the avocado, and sprinkled a few little gobs of goat cheese at the end. I totally forgot using the basil, but will try next time even though it wasn't needing it. This is a keeper recipe for roasting or grilling veggies that I will use over and over. Thanks so much for sharing it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by BKBISHOP

Ham Salad II

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I gave this 4 stars because as written that would have been way too much mayo and salt for an already salt cured ham. I was looking for something that was like my mom's ham salad recipe. This was close but I tweaked it to make it like hers. I can tell you that I used probably 3 lbs of ham and cubed it and then put it in the food processor to finely grind it. My mom used a meat grinder back in the day. I removed the ham to a large bowl. Then I chopped the onion and celery and put it in the food processor to finely chop. I did not add salt or pepper, nor did I add the green pepper because we don't like the flavor in ham salad. I added the onion and celery in the amounts written to the ground ham and about 1/2 cup of sweet relish and then just added mayo to the consistency that I wanted the spread but it was way less than 2 cups, I used probably half of that. When you grind everything down, the mayo spreads out better and you require less of it. This spread is perfect in sandwiches or on crackers or bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grape and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This dish deserves more visibility! I was searching for a way to use radishes, lettuce, & carrots from this week's crop share box and found this under-appreciated gem. Agree that toasting the nuts is a must! Used one head of (red leaf) lettuce, skipped the broccoli. Almost left out tomatoes because didn't have any Roma, but went with about 4 Tbsp. diced from a can - and glad I did. Very satisfying, full of complimentary flavors, great crunchy textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Sweet Ham Glaze

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
AMAZING!!!! Made this today for an early family Easter Dinner. Followed the directions with the exception of the bourbon, only because we are out. I used a spiral cut ham. Used about 1/2 the sauce and baked according to the hams direction. For the final 30 minutes of cooking I really coated the ham with the rest of the glaze and baked the remainder of the time uncovered. Like the suggestions, I really got the sauce into the slices with a BBQ brush. IT IS AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My husband made this last night only he doubled all the ingredients for the sauce because we like things saucy and over rice. However, next time we will double everything except the cayenne pepper, we'll do 3 tsp. instead of 4. The flavor was excellent and just like a quality Indian restaurant but double the cayenne is a little too lip burning. We used mahi mahi because it is a mild meaty white fish. Next time I would like to try a pink salmon with this. We served this with basmati rice flavored with cardamom pods. Excellent dish and SUPER healthy, will be making this a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My husband made this last night only he doubled all the ingredients for the sauce because we like things saucy and over rice. However, next time we will double everything except the cayenne pepper, we'll do 3 tsp. instead of 4. The flavor was excellent and just like a quality Indian restaurant but double the cayenne is a little too lip burning. We used mahi mahi because it is a mild meaty white fish. Next time I would like to try a pink salmon with this. We served this with basmati rice flavored with cardamom pods. Excellent dish and SUPER healthy, will be making this a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bird's Nest Breakfast Cups

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
These are fun to make and even better to devour. I love making a dozen or so of these, and keep them in the freezer for a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asher Haapala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Wonderful! Definitely take the advice of others and way undercook your pasta. I used very thin spaghetti and cooked it for half the recommended time. Stir-fried some cut up chicken ahead of time and added at the end. Also added some broccoli slaw to the cut up stems since I had some on hand. Hubby gave it two thumbs up! Will absolutely keep it in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Classic Tapioca Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Made this for the kids, and they just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marie Rialb

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My family devoured this chicken, even my picky tween asked for seconds. I used flour and water and more cream than the recipe called for- with the cornstarch and the recommended cream- because we are all about the sauce. I served this dish with garlicky jasmine rice and broccoli sautéed with olive oil and garlic. I was told I need to make it fairly often now. Thanks allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Rialb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I quite enjoyed this recipe! The only differences I did was use salmon steaks (they were on sale), some chopped chives, and a bit of melted butter for a nice toasty skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asher Haapala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is just like the recipe my Hungarian grandmother made. But here's a little secret: sprinkle your serving with a little sugar- about 1/2 tsp. Trust me on this. My grandmother always did it and I loved it but thought it was just something she did. Then one day when the adventurous chef in our hospital cafeteria served cabbage noodles, I noticed a woman at the next table sprinkling a packet of sugar over hers. I asked if she was Hungarian and she said yes and that this was the only way she liked her cabbage noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shandong Chinese Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was not at all exciting to eat, very bland. Based on other reviews, I omitted the water in hopes of concentrating the flavor - didn't work. I will not bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Fantastic! I had smaller 8 ct. flour tortillas and using my scale I determined that the amount of chicken mixture worked out to 5.4 oz per tortilla. Also, used fat free sour cream and "healthy request" cream of chix soup. I felt 6 oz. of olives was way too much. Chopped up 1.5 oz to sprinkle over top. A full 6 oz. would have dominated the entire dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Mom's Prize Winning Raw Apple Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was pretty nice and a good use for sour milk. Next time I will try to substitute some whole wheat pastry flour for a portion of the all purpose flour to make it more wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Drop Nut Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These were ok, but nothing to rave over. I like the suggestion someone made for more nuts, I think I would double the amount. I used butter instead of shortening because it is a less processed ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was good, but I cut back on the beef a bit and halved the salt in order to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great flavor. I think I'll use less corn starch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Depression Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great cake! My kids love it! I increased the fat content. I used 3/4 cup of canola oil and it brought a lot of softness to the crumb and crust. Made it for a vegan friend and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Vincent Carrillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I rarely take the time to rate recipes, but I've been using this for years and it's ALWAYS a winner. Best results for the least amount of time/effort when you're in a crunch. I also use coffee for water and mini-chips, but I'm sure it's great as-is. I have made this as cupcakes (~30min) and mini cupcakes (~22mins), birthday cakes, mini-loaves, etc. Recipe doubles and triples wonderfully. Cream cheese icing works well if you want to decorate. The ONLY downside is I can't share the recipe--it would ruin my street cred to see boxed mix ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niblet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States