Danville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My whole family loved this, plus my Mom made it for her and her sisters and they loved it, even raved about it on my facebook page! I doubled the sauce and did 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, used thighs like the recipe said. GRREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadWax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rempel Family Meatloaf - My version

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is a great meatloaf recipe! I did not cook it in a loaf pan as I do not like to have my meatloaf sit in it's own grease. I shaped it and cooked it in a 13X9 pan. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Scrumptious! I chopped the apples instead of slicing. We wanted them chunky, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Absolutely yummy. Will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoky Mountain Chipotle Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was good. I didn't have some of the ingredients for the BBQ sauce, so I decide to still give it a try using a bottled sauce. I used Sweet Baby Ray's sauce and made the remainder of the recipe as stated. We cooked it over charcoal, which is preferred in this household, even though we have a grill that will do both charcoal and gas. Next, time I will try the homemade sauce, as I typically love homemade BBQ sauce. Even with bottle sauce it was very good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Corn Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was yummy! Not too hot either, but a good kick and change from traditional cornbread. I did cheat and used Jiffy, added the freshly diced jalapenos, and then followed the rest of Jiffy's recipe. I added 1 cup of Monterey Jack cheese and cooked in a cast iron skillet separated for cornbread triangles. Next time, will make homemade CB, but it was still so good. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Western-Style Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
WOW--- wow, wow, wow!!!! What a dish! I followed it to the letter....except, I had smoked a beef brisket yesterday, and couldn't resist chopping and adding some to these beans! These are delicious! My husband will go crazy when he tastes these! It really is a meal in itself. I think I am going to make some coleslaw and good crusty bread or Texas toast to go with it! This will feed a crowd! I have tried similar meat and bean recipes, but this recipe 'rocks'!! I'll make this again and again!!! Thank you so much to the person who posted this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe. It wasn't bland at all, like alfredo sauce can sometimes be. I used a clove (or two) of fresh garlic instead of the powder. I used 2% milk because it's all we buy so I did end up having to dissolve a little cornstarch (about a tbsp) in a little milk (just enough to dissolve the cornstarch) and added it. It thickened right up. I also used low fat cream cheese and 6 cheese italian blend. It was yummy! I served grilled chicken over it and added some sweet cherry tomatoes (halved) and summer squash, both of which I had sauted in EVOO until tender. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Great pie! I usually adjust the amount of sugar depending in the sweetness of the peaches. I don't find the cinnamon and nutmeg overpowering as other reviewers have stated. In fact, I use a whole teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. I'll be making this pie all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Pesto Pizza

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was exceptional. Our only addition was grilled blackened chicken and OMG! it was fantastic! 5+ stars! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Purple-Hull Peas

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious without the okra! Don't know about with the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
My first blueberry pie and it turned out wonderful! I followed the instructions almost to the letter. The only changed I made were using one whole cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup and I added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch. Making pie crust from scratch isn't my thing so I used two refrigerated crusts. I tried to wait for the pie to cool and thicken before cutting it but failed miserably. Even warm and runny it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I have used this glaze for meatloaf for a long time. I actually add a few shakes of red wine vinegar to the ketchup and brown sugar. It just adds another depth of flavor to the glaze. You need to adjust to taste. I also put the glaze on top of the meatloaf, because my loaf pan has another pan that sits inside it with holes for the grease to drip away from the meatloaf. I use my own meatloaf recipe (in my head), but the glaze is what gives it the flavor. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This soup is restaurant quality even with the changes I made. Tomatoes on the vine and fresh basil are a little pricey where I live so I decided to buy fresh basil and use three 15oz cans crushed tomatoes. I completely forgot the tomato juice but I think the juice from the canned tomatoes worked just fine. I sauteed chopped sweet onion and minced garlic in about a tablespoon of olive oil before adding the tomatoes. I used half and half instead of cream and only used 1/4 cup butter. I also added a couple of teaspoons sugar because the soup was a little acidic and a teaspoon of red pepper flakes for spice. I had soup and sandwiches for lunch all week long and loved it. I'll be making another pot of soup on Monday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Roasted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I made this recipe for Easter. It was so easy and It was absolutely beautiful. All of the OOHs and AAHs made me feel like a real chef. But the confirmation came when my father asked me to make it for Mother's Day. I have always used allrecipes.com for new recipes. AWESOME! is all I can say. THANKS!!! And try this recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Stir-Fry

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Yummy! When I saw this was LTH, I knew it was a winner. My husband is still talking about these, days (almost a week) later. Which, I will add is rare for him. The review to use the ricotta instead of milk and to add the sausage, was spot on. We were looking for spaghetti and meatballs and OMG! did this deliver. Awesome, 5+++ stars. We can't wait to have them again.... very soon!!! Thanks, LTH, you rock!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Swirl Bundt Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I thought this was delicious, as did everyone who had a slice. Very moist. We had this for after dinner and breakfast the next day. I made no real modifications to the recipe, used unsalted butter. Will be baking another one this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sister Schubert's® Caramel Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Fixed this for Easter dessert. Everyone thought it was good, but no raves. I thought it was kind of sweet. Probably will not fix it again, only because we prefer a crunchy topping on this type of dessert. It served its' purpose, so that's what matters. Glad that we tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this yesterday for Easter dinner. Followed the recipe exactly. We all loved it! It wasn't too sweet and didn't have that corn muffin mix taste, that so many recipes have now. This is REAL corn pudding!! Very custardy, warm, comfort food! Definitely the real deal! Will make this again and again!! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Supreme Strawberry Topping

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
We really liked this sauce. It wasn't too sweet, which a lot of times you find with syrupy sauces. I loved the fact that some of the strawberries were left intact. I did cut all of mine in half because they were all so large. I served this with Mini Cheesecakes, but it would be excellent on pancakes, ice cream, etc. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States