Danville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow-Cooked Country Ribs in Gravy

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I altered this recipe to accomodate boneless beef country ribs, and it was fantastic. I used a can of reduced sodium beef broth instead of the boullion cube and water. I did not add extra salt since ketchup and mustard both have sodium. Instead of regular black pepper, I used McCormick Hot Shot! which is a blend of black and red pepper for a little extra kick. Brown sugar instead of white; balsamic vinegar instead of cider or white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linguine with Seafood and Sundried Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Delishhhhous- I used Lobster Bullion instead of clam juice, but did everything esle as called for. The whole fam digged it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadWax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

MY CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Instead of just a basting sauce, I made a double batch and added a tablespoon or two of brown sugar, cooled it and used 1/4 of it as a marinade (2 hours is plenty). I used 1/4 of the sauce to baste with during grilling. The last half I heated with 1/2 cup chicken stock, adding enough additional brown sugar to offset the vinegar bite. I added corn starch to thicken it for dipping. Great! I also used fresh herbs and garlic. I will use this again. By the way, the sauce as thickened is great as a dipping sauce for chicken drumettes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I loved this. We made it gluten free by skipping the roux and adding some cornstarch to the dissolved milk, which I used instead of cream. I cooked the onions, celery and a couple cloves of garlic in olive oil. I used chicken broth because I had it on hand. I used a combo of NY Style Extra sharp cheddar and a four cheese mexican blend. Both shredded. Like others have said, if you like chicken wings you'll love this. Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Fudge Truffle Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Rich, creamy, and delicious. I used 2 1/2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips because I wanted it extra dark and chocolatey. Instead of using vanilla wafers, I prepared a small box of fudge brownie mix and baked it in the pan for the crust. I set a pan of water on the bottom rack in the oven and the cheesecake baked perfectly with no cracks. It's incredibly rich so a little slice will do ya! This is without question one of the best cheesecakes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Chicken Scarpariello

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Seemed like a lot of work to me. Good flavor but I have not made it since I made it six months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Stuffed with Smoked Gouda and Bacon

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely one of my favorite recipes from allrecipes! It is absolutely delicious! Follow the recipe exactly. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My daughter won a blue ribbon at the county fair with this recipe. She added some peanut butter chips on top of the batter before baking. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttered Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Perfect recipe. I grate my butter and pat out the biscuits and cut with a juice glass. Make sure not to twist the glass when you cut. If you twist the biscuit will not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mom's Sausage and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Love this unusual casserole. It did not take as long as stated in the recipe to cook it. My oven is a bit on the hot side though. Just watch it carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Ok. Good not great. Might have been better with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This soup was delicious. We followed the recipe to a T and it was perfect. Thanks so much Jersey Tomato for sharing this divine soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Cream of Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious! Made twice in one week! I cooked bacon first. Removed bacon from pan and cooked onion in the remaining bacon fat. I added two tablespoons of flour and cooked for a few minutes then I added chicken broth, bacon, instant potatoes, potatoes and lots of pepper. Cooked it 45 minutes uncovered then added half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Yummy! Great recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheese Ball II

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe. I don't use a full package of the Ranch, I just mix to taste. I add chopped green onions, fresh cooked bacon (have used Oscar Meyer bits, when in a pinch, too), about 4 slices of bacon, chopped. Then follow the rest of the recipe. You can also added diced sweet peppers, pineapple as well as other creative add ins. I did chose to roll mine in nuts, but only because I added the bacon inside. Otherwise, I would have rolled in bacon. Great recipe, and base for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

The Best Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Makes a beautiful presentation. Looks like a lot of effort, but easy to make. Taste great! If you like banan pudding make this one. Use lots of wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Company Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Thank You for this exceptional recipe! I have been looking for the perfect cheesecake recipe for at least 20 years. I finally found it! I followed the recipe to the letter except I used store bought graham cracker crust. It was enough for 2. It was super easy to make and came out light and fluffy and delicious. And the flavor is wonderful. I can't to make this for the next holiday family gathering. My husband ate half of one cheesecake at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Pickles

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These were so good. We are a gluten free family so we used our normal gluten free flour blend in place of the AP Flour and it worked wonderfully. Crispy yummy fried pickles. Thanks so much for sharing! Update- I just realized that I didn't even notice last time that there was more cornmeal than flour so I used 3/4 c flour and 3/4 cornmeal, and you won't be disappointed. Whatever amount you use, just use equal parts flour and cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cioppino

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
very very good!! expensive to cook but, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States