Danville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Excellent pie! I usually avoid strawberries, fresh or frozen, because I find the tartness a little overwhelming. I followed the recipe using fresh strawberries and refrigerated pie crusts and it turned out fantastic. I baked it at a lower temperature for a longer time to prevent it from browning too fast, 325 degrees for 1 hour. The filling set up perfectly, not runny at all. It had just the right sweetness and you could really taste the strawberries. Will be baking this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My daughter won a blue ribbon at the county fair with this recipe. She added some peanut butter chips on top of the batter before baking. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious! I used thin sliced top sirloin instead of round steak, and reduced the garlic in the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfected Sweet Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Every time I make this, samplers are freaking out! This is truly a delicious slaw. It takes on an orangy-hue after it sits because of the orange juice and red wine vinegar. I love it when fresh cabbage is in season locally, and our friends and neighbors give to us from their crops. As soon as I know cabbage is in season, this is all I can think about is making some freakishly delicious slaw :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadWax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Country Ribs in Gravy

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I altered this recipe to accomodate boneless beef country ribs, and it was fantastic. I used a can of reduced sodium beef broth instead of the boullion cube and water. I did not add extra salt since ketchup and mustard both have sodium. Instead of regular black pepper, I used McCormick Hot Shot! which is a blend of black and red pepper for a little extra kick. Brown sugar instead of white; balsamic vinegar instead of cider or white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linguine with Seafood and Sundried Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Delishhhhous- I used Lobster Bullion instead of clam juice, but did everything esle as called for. The whole fam digged it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadWax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

MY CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Instead of just a basting sauce, I made a double batch and added a tablespoon or two of brown sugar, cooled it and used 1/4 of it as a marinade (2 hours is plenty). I used 1/4 of the sauce to baste with during grilling. The last half I heated with 1/2 cup chicken stock, adding enough additional brown sugar to offset the vinegar bite. I added corn starch to thicken it for dipping. Great! I also used fresh herbs and garlic. I will use this again. By the way, the sauce as thickened is great as a dipping sauce for chicken drumettes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I loved this. We made it gluten free by skipping the roux and adding some cornstarch to the dissolved milk, which I used instead of cream. I cooked the onions, celery and a couple cloves of garlic in olive oil. I used chicken broth because I had it on hand. I used a combo of NY Style Extra sharp cheddar and a four cheese mexican blend. Both shredded. Like others have said, if you like chicken wings you'll love this. Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Fudge Truffle Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Rich, creamy, and delicious. I used 2 1/2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips because I wanted it extra dark and chocolatey. Instead of using vanilla wafers, I prepared a small box of fudge brownie mix and baked it in the pan for the crust. I set a pan of water on the bottom rack in the oven and the cheesecake baked perfectly with no cracks. It's incredibly rich so a little slice will do ya! This is without question one of the best cheesecakes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Chicken Scarpariello

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Seemed like a lot of work to me. Good flavor but I have not made it since I made it six months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Stuffed with Smoked Gouda and Bacon

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely one of my favorite recipes from allrecipes! It is absolutely delicious! Follow the recipe exactly. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My daughter won a blue ribbon at the county fair with this recipe. She added some peanut butter chips on top of the batter before baking. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttered Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Perfect recipe. I grate my butter and pat out the biscuits and cut with a juice glass. Make sure not to twist the glass when you cut. If you twist the biscuit will not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mom's Sausage and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Love this unusual casserole. It did not take as long as stated in the recipe to cook it. My oven is a bit on the hot side though. Just watch it carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Ok. Good not great. Might have been better with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This soup was delicious. We followed the recipe to a T and it was perfect. Thanks so much Jersey Tomato for sharing this divine soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Cream of Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious! Made twice in one week! I cooked bacon first. Removed bacon from pan and cooked onion in the remaining bacon fat. I added two tablespoons of flour and cooked for a few minutes then I added chicken broth, bacon, instant potatoes, potatoes and lots of pepper. Cooked it 45 minutes uncovered then added half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Yummy! Great recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheese Ball II

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe. I don't use a full package of the Ranch, I just mix to taste. I add chopped green onions, fresh cooked bacon (have used Oscar Meyer bits, when in a pinch, too), about 4 slices of bacon, chopped. Then follow the rest of the recipe. You can also added diced sweet peppers, pineapple as well as other creative add ins. I did chose to roll mine in nuts, but only because I added the bacon inside. Otherwise, I would have rolled in bacon. Great recipe, and base for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States