Danville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
soooooo easy and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is my very first time making a lemon meringue pie. I love this recipe. I tripled the ingredients and made three pies. The only thing I did differently was add cream of tarter to the whipped egg whites, upon the suggestion from another review. I had to cook them for 20 minutes instead of 10 for them to brown. Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Fast, simple, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great pie! I doubled the cornstarch,omitted the flour then added an extra 1/2 cup of milk. I must be a bigger chocoholic than I thought because I found the filling to be a little bland with just two ounces of unsweetened chocolate so I added 1/2 cup of bittersweet chocolate chips. The leftover egg whites became a mile high meringue on top. It's taking everything in me not to devour another piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was an easy to follow recipe that turned out absolutely delicious. It was also my FIRST time ever baking bread from scratch! The family thoroughly enjoyed it, as did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We really love this. I add potato, too. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Buttermilk Pie IV

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Delicious! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I used twice a much vanilla because I love the flavor. The sugar carmelized and gave the pie a slight caramel flavor that I absolutely loved. I wouldn't make this pie with anything but whole buttermilk. Will gladly make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Jeff's Hot Dog Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this last night for hot dogs. In the south we eat homemade slaw, homemade chili, diced sweet onions and mustard on our dogs. This was perfect for a southern hot dog! I used beef broth instead of water. Since I was using 80/20 beef I just cooked my beef and mashed it, drained it, and added it back to pan. Then added the beef broth as needed. I used Rotel's tomato sauce with diced green chiles (try it if you can still find it). I used a small 8 oz can of the tomato/chile sauce for 1.5 lbs of beef. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Absolutely yummy! My husband who doesn't eat chili with beans commented that he could eat this chili with just a spoon. BIG statement coming from him! Thanks so much for sharing this one! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Carnitas

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ken you have really outdone yourself with this. The recipe was absolutely delicious! We're having them again tonight!! Thanks so much for your creativity and sharing this delightful recipe! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I just made this on Wednesday (9/26/12) for my Mama's birthday. She wanted a Sweet Potato Pie and this is the one I chose. She said "it's the best sweet potato pie I have ever had." So right now, (9/29/12) I am making her another as she just got out of the hospital. I felt like she need a boost and this pie sure did make her happy. I followed the recipe almost to a T. The only thing that I added was (I used 2 med sized sweet potatoes), 1 Tbsp of flour, 1/4ish tsp of ginger and cloves to the other seasoning. I didn't have a piece, but the rest of my family all raved about it. And they are always honest with what they "really" think! Even the ones who don't eat Sweet Potato Pie. It did turn out beautifully. When I called to check my Mama, I asked, "do you want another Sweet Potato Pie" and she said, "Yes, I would love another that was the best pie I have ever had." Thank you so much Cougaar for such a delightful recipe that made my Mama so happy! I so appreciate you posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Used the biggest, sweetest strawberries I could find and dipped them in dark chocolate. Then, I rolled them in sliced almonds, toffee chips, or pecans. Delish! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Simple Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and jarred pasta sauce that I tweaked. Turned out easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delish! I used a standard size muffin tin and liners and made about six large peanut butter cups. I only added 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar to the peanut butter filling because I really wanted to taste the peanuts and it was plenty sweet. I took huge dollops of peanut butter and encased them in extra thick layers of milk chocolate. You won't find peanut butter cups this good in any grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I really like this recipe and tweak it to suit our tastes, but it's perfect as written. (I omit the olive oil, and drain the yogurt. As well as salt and drain the cukes. It really does make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
We thought these were really good. Served alongside a greek salad, pita bread and tzatziki sauce. YUM! Great healthy meal. Side note: we have tried this both grilled and baked. Grilled is definitely more what we are looking for, as if you bake this it becomes very soupy. (FYI, for those curious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Delicious and easy to do with items on hand! I too threw measurements to the wind - added cilantro and a couple diced jalapenos from my garden. Just shredded the chicken and of course had to take a taste - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Excellent pie! I usually avoid strawberries, fresh or frozen, because I find the tartness a little overwhelming. I followed the recipe using fresh strawberries and refrigerated pie crusts and it turned out fantastic. I baked it at a lower temperature for a longer time to prevent it from browning too fast, 325 degrees for 1 hour. The filling set up perfectly, not runny at all. It had just the right sweetness and you could really taste the strawberries. Will be baking this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My daughter won a blue ribbon at the county fair with this recipe. She added some peanut butter chips on top of the batter before baking. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious! I used thin sliced top sirloin instead of round steak, and reduced the garlic in the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfected Sweet Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Every time I make this, samplers are freaking out! This is truly a delicious slaw. It takes on an orangy-hue after it sits because of the orange juice and red wine vinegar. I love it when fresh cabbage is in season locally, and our friends and neighbors give to us from their crops. As soon as I know cabbage is in season, this is all I can think about is making some freakishly delicious slaw :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadWax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States