Danville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Soooo easy, and Soooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Picadillo

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I have made this twice now, the only thing I did differently was the color of the peppers (I used orange and yellow). Tremendous hit in my household! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Famous Hash Browns

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Every time I make this, there is never enough! It's fabulous - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Fabulous! My teens love these! They re-named them "Smacons"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have made this soup twice now, the only substitutions I have made is half and half for the cream, dried cilantro instead of fresh, and omitted the tarragon since I didn't have it. The family and I love it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Yummy Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
make this! you will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
soooooo easy and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is my very first time making a lemon meringue pie. I love this recipe. I tripled the ingredients and made three pies. The only thing I did differently was add cream of tarter to the whipped egg whites, upon the suggestion from another review. I had to cook them for 20 minutes instead of 10 for them to brown. Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Fast, simple, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great pie! I doubled the cornstarch,omitted the flour then added an extra 1/2 cup of milk. I must be a bigger chocoholic than I thought because I found the filling to be a little bland with just two ounces of unsweetened chocolate so I added 1/2 cup of bittersweet chocolate chips. The leftover egg whites became a mile high meringue on top. It's taking everything in me not to devour another piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was an easy to follow recipe that turned out absolutely delicious. It was also my FIRST time ever baking bread from scratch! The family thoroughly enjoyed it, as did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We really love this. I add potato, too. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Buttermilk Pie IV

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Delicious! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I used twice a much vanilla because I love the flavor. The sugar carmelized and gave the pie a slight caramel flavor that I absolutely loved. I wouldn't make this pie with anything but whole buttermilk. Will gladly make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Jeff's Hot Dog Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this last night for hot dogs. In the south we eat homemade slaw, homemade chili, diced sweet onions and mustard on our dogs. This was perfect for a southern hot dog! I used beef broth instead of water. Since I was using 80/20 beef I just cooked my beef and mashed it, drained it, and added it back to pan. Then added the beef broth as needed. I used Rotel's tomato sauce with diced green chiles (try it if you can still find it). I used a small 8 oz can of the tomato/chile sauce for 1.5 lbs of beef. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Absolutely yummy! My husband who doesn't eat chili with beans commented that he could eat this chili with just a spoon. BIG statement coming from him! Thanks so much for sharing this one! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Carnitas

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ken you have really outdone yourself with this. The recipe was absolutely delicious! We're having them again tonight!! Thanks so much for your creativity and sharing this delightful recipe! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I just made this on Wednesday (9/26/12) for my Mama's birthday. She wanted a Sweet Potato Pie and this is the one I chose. She said "it's the best sweet potato pie I have ever had." So right now, (9/29/12) I am making her another as she just got out of the hospital. I felt like she need a boost and this pie sure did make her happy. I followed the recipe almost to a T. The only thing that I added was (I used 2 med sized sweet potatoes), 1 Tbsp of flour, 1/4ish tsp of ginger and cloves to the other seasoning. I didn't have a piece, but the rest of my family all raved about it. And they are always honest with what they "really" think! Even the ones who don't eat Sweet Potato Pie. It did turn out beautifully. When I called to check my Mama, I asked, "do you want another Sweet Potato Pie" and she said, "Yes, I would love another that was the best pie I have ever had." Thank you so much Cougaar for such a delightful recipe that made my Mama so happy! I so appreciate you posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Used the biggest, sweetest strawberries I could find and dipped them in dark chocolate. Then, I rolled them in sliced almonds, toffee chips, or pecans. Delish! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Simple Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and jarred pasta sauce that I tweaked. Turned out easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delish! I used a standard size muffin tin and liners and made about six large peanut butter cups. I only added 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar to the peanut butter filling because I really wanted to taste the peanuts and it was plenty sweet. I took huge dollops of peanut butter and encased them in extra thick layers of milk chocolate. You won't find peanut butter cups this good in any grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I really like this recipe and tweak it to suit our tastes, but it's perfect as written. (I omit the olive oil, and drain the yogurt. As well as salt and drain the cukes. It really does make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States