Danville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Polska Kielbasa with Cabbage and Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I tried this using a reviewers suggestion to add some bacon, garlic, red pepper and honestly I could not stop eating it. Easy, quick and delicious. These are three essentials in my book for a five star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I couldn't even wait a day to try these pickles. For my taste, dill pickles are too sour and bread and butter pickles are too sweet. These pickles are the perfect combination of both. I used the full amount of sugar called for and as much dill as I had which was about two tablespoons fresh chopped and two tablespoons dried. I also added about a tablespoon of dried habanero and cayenne flakes for a little kick. I had small pickling cucumbers so I cut them in half and divided them among two quart size jars and put four crushed garlic cloves in each. I then filled both jars with the pickling brine. Even after one day in the fridge they were outstanding! I'm through with store bought pickles. These pickles are easy to make and easy to adjust to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Dave's Low Country Boil

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I Made this for my family for valentine's Day Dinner. I put in lobster tails and lobster claws, crab legs, shrimp, little red potatoes, whole onions, corn on the cob, 2 seasoning packs I purchased, & garlic because I put garlic on everything,. YUM YUM YUM!!!! Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Didn't change a thing. Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone raved about how great it tasted. Will become one of my staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA
Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Loved it. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wilson Groves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

Zucchini Herb Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Triple the garlic (I used a few cloves) and double all the spices. It was amazing! Holds up well for a potluck as it tastes good even when only lukewarm. I will be adding this recipe to my regular cooking ... Easy, healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey
Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I've never been a big fan of pecans until I found this recipe. These pecan are absolutely wonderful and so easy to make! I used vanilla instead of water along with one egg white,4 cups pecan halves, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 cup sugar, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Other members may have complained about the salt content but one teaspoon was perfect for me. It gave the pecans a buttery flavor and I love sweet and salty together. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is the best creamy tomato basil soup we have ever had! It is a favorite of the whole family, especially my children, who request it often. The original recipe is the best, but if you don't have heavy whipping cream on hand, milk (any fat content) can be substituted. while the flavor remains the same, just know that the thickness will decrease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Amazingly simple and delicious! An incredibly easy recipe for someone who appreciates a gourmet taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is a wonderful side dish!!! I followed some of the previous suggestions and added extra salt and a longer bake time. It was amazing and my kids lived it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Men Love This Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This recipe was probably the BEST steak I have ever eaten in my entire life! My family loved it. I used onions instead of peppers because that's what I had. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil and Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. We all enjoyed it. The only thing that I changed was, I cooked the ditalini separately,and put it in a gallon size ziploc bag and refrigerated it. I add the pasta to each individual bowl of soup, so that the pasta stays firm and doesn't go mushy on me. I always do this with any soups that have pasta in them. Makes a huge difference. Will make this recipe often, during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon & Eggs Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I was looking for something to make for breakfast one day using what I had on hand and found this recipe. I'll agree it was pretty ugly but when I tasted it I was IN LOVE! I used finely shredded 4 cheese Italian blend because that is what I had and it was spectacular! This is my new favorite weekend breakfast dish! Thanks Karena!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was fabulous! Even my finicky 17 year old loved it! Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Definitely adding this to our rotation. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is absolutely the BEST soup I have ever tasted! I followed Judy's recipe except that I used fresh potatoes and added a chopped onion. Fabulous! And so easy! Thanks for an awesome recipe Judy! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I love this chili, but to cut back on the sodium a bit I use reduced sodium canned beans rinsed and drained, as well as no salt added tomato products (diced tomatoes, etc.), 2 bouillon cubes, and omit the extra teaspoon of salt as well as the chili beans in sauce. You can also "sneak" in other vegetables, such as zucchini and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94

Coco-Cola Cake II

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Delicious!! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup vegetable oil and left out the marshmallow(didn't have any). It made a beautifully moist chocolate cake with a hint of caramel. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Stuffed Pork Chops III

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe is wonderful! I prepared exactly as instructed. Even my finicky teenagers loved these chops! Excellent addition to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Awesome!! The only change I made was to add a pad of butter just before adding the flour. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Pardon my French but this was frickin awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States