Chesapeake, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crazy Chicken Marinade Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was very good. We cut down on the limes as other suggested. Everybody enjoyed the flavor. Not too strong...just right. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauza®-Rita

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was yummy :) put ice in the blender then added the ingrediends and blended, used bud light and didn't add the water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Bars

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
These were good. I felt that 1 1/2c sugar would have been too sweet for us combined with the chocolate chips and the coconut so I cut it back to about 3/4c. Next time I would cut the chocolate back to 1c but I'm also not a huge chocolate fan. There was just enough coconut flavor without being overwhelming. Served with a scoop of lite vanilla ice cream. Definitely keep it in mind for next time. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
The only problem with this recipe is I assumed that the kiddos wouldn't like it so I only made 3 breasts (one for them to split). Everyone loved it. I made it according to the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing. 10 year old thanked me for making such a great meal. Easy to throw together and will go into the rotation. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oia Greek Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I left out the capers. I knew it wouldn't go over well. Otherwise, followed it as called for. I do not like red onions but I didn't notice them. This was outstanding. Everyone but the 8 year old liked it with the adults going for seconds. Leftovers will be calling my name tonight but will try really, really hard to leave it for lunch tomorrow. I don't think I stand a chance though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Green Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Tasted like this needed something. It was just okay. Everyone finished it but felt like it was just meh. I've made these again with a few changes and upped the stars. First, I completely cheated. I didn't have fresh green beans so used a can of French cut green beans and used red onions. I also sprinkled in a little Mediterranean Basil (dried). My husband's eyes rolled in the back of his head with the first bite. This will now go in the rotation more frequently. I think the BIG difference were the onions not the canned beans. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I thought this was just okay. With all the seasoning, I thought it would be more flavorful. Family ate it up so I can't complain too much. Maybe a little more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
A little sour. Maybe with a few tweaks, it'll be better. It has a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I don't know what I was expecting but I thought the tortillas were too "mushy". I added corn, black beans, garlic, onions and cumin/seasonings. It had good flavor but the consistency wasn't what I thought it would be. However, the family loved it. Served it with hubby's guacamole. Thought this was a good basic recipe and maybe I'll play around with flour tortillas or different corn tortillas to see if that makes a difference. It's too hard to find a recipe that everyone will eat so won't give up on it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Ranch Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was quick to put together and the flavors of the Hidden Valley Ranch was delicious. Will make again and pass along to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Meat and Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
VERY TASTY AND WILL HAVE IT AGAIN. SO USED TO HAVING NOODLES OR RICE BUT THE POTATOES WERE NICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These were really dense and lacked the sweetness I expect from brownies. Definitely more of a cake bar that tastes bitter instead of the chewy, chocolatey brownies that I love. I'll go back to my old brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Ricks Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boiled Water

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I couldn't find water so I substituted coconut milk. I didn't have a pot so I used a coffee cup. The stove wasn't working so I used a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Wraps

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
thought they would be good but didnt like the texture of the chicken :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The taste was great but there wasn't enough sauce to have over a bed of rice. When I make this the next time I will at least double the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
We've made this recipe several times and absolutely love it! Made one "enhancement" by adding 1/4C chopped cilantro to the dumpling batter for color and a little added flavor. Also suggest using russet potatoes so they hold up better in the stew. What a great dish for a cold or rainy day with plenty of leftovers for money saving lunches at work or a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenEggsnHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
"The nutrition data for this recipe includes the full amount of the brine ingredients. The actual amount of the brine consumed will vary." Apparently the reviewers citing the sodium content don't know how to read. Most brining doesn't consume much of the brine - similar to marinating. Marinade content would be appalling if completely consumed as well much of the time - but most of it ends up thrown away, as the meat absorbs only a little. Didn't have buttermilk, so used 2% milk, it still came out just fine. I also pounded the breasts to an even thickness to avoid my usual issue of the thin part overcooking while the thick part is still pink. Works well for b/s pork chops as well- had a loin I couldn't think of anything special for, cut it into 1/2 inch thickness, and followed the rest. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boyfriend Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was an awesome recipe! I only made one change...the pan! I used a 9x13 pan because even as I mixed the batter I could tell it was too much for the 9x9 pan. The batter was just enough for the bigger pan. I also made the recipe in one pan. I mixed the chocolate, eggs, and vanilla as well as the dry ingredients in the same pan as the sugar, water and butter to cut down on cleanup and it worked just fine. This brownie is moist, flavorful and very chocolaty and I did not find it overbearing on sweetness in the least. I used semi sweet Nestle chips. The only other recommendation I would make is for those of us who use a glass baking dish. I would add just a little flour to the bottom of the pan to help aide in keeping the brownie non-stick because I used Pam Butter flavored cooking spray and it did not necessarily work as I got a little sticking action on the pan. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Pork with Peppers

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was surprisingly easy to prepare and the results were great. Served over a bed of rice and I will definitely be adding this one to my schedule of meals to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese and Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was any easy recipe to make and quick as well. My husband enjoyed it very much and it even reheated well for lunch the next day. I did add mozzarella and extra cheddar in the finally steps, simply because I like cheese. I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States