Chesapeake, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These were really dense and lacked the sweetness I expect from brownies. Definitely more of a cake bar that tastes bitter instead of the chewy, chocolatey brownies that I love. I'll go back to my old brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Ricks Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boiled Water

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I couldn't find water so I substituted coconut milk. I didn't have a pot so I used a coffee cup. The stove wasn't working so I used a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Wraps

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
thought they would be good but didnt like the texture of the chicken :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The taste was great but there wasn't enough sauce to have over a bed of rice. When I make this the next time I will at least double the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
We've made this recipe several times and absolutely love it! Made one "enhancement" by adding 1/4C chopped cilantro to the dumpling batter for color and a little added flavor. Also suggest using russet potatoes so they hold up better in the stew. What a great dish for a cold or rainy day with plenty of leftovers for money saving lunches at work or a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenEggsnHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
"The nutrition data for this recipe includes the full amount of the brine ingredients. The actual amount of the brine consumed will vary." Apparently the reviewers citing the sodium content don't know how to read. Most brining doesn't consume much of the brine - similar to marinating. Marinade content would be appalling if completely consumed as well much of the time - but most of it ends up thrown away, as the meat absorbs only a little. Didn't have buttermilk, so used 2% milk, it still came out just fine. I also pounded the breasts to an even thickness to avoid my usual issue of the thin part overcooking while the thick part is still pink. Works well for b/s pork chops as well- had a loin I couldn't think of anything special for, cut it into 1/2 inch thickness, and followed the rest. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boyfriend Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was an awesome recipe! I only made one change...the pan! I used a 9x13 pan because even as I mixed the batter I could tell it was too much for the 9x9 pan. The batter was just enough for the bigger pan. I also made the recipe in one pan. I mixed the chocolate, eggs, and vanilla as well as the dry ingredients in the same pan as the sugar, water and butter to cut down on cleanup and it worked just fine. This brownie is moist, flavorful and very chocolaty and I did not find it overbearing on sweetness in the least. I used semi sweet Nestle chips. The only other recommendation I would make is for those of us who use a glass baking dish. I would add just a little flour to the bottom of the pan to help aide in keeping the brownie non-stick because I used Pam Butter flavored cooking spray and it did not necessarily work as I got a little sticking action on the pan. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Pork with Peppers

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was surprisingly easy to prepare and the results were great. Served over a bed of rice and I will definitely be adding this one to my schedule of meals to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese and Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was any easy recipe to make and quick as well. My husband enjoyed it very much and it even reheated well for lunch the next day. I did add mozzarella and extra cheddar in the finally steps, simply because I like cheese. I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Mustard Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
One of my all time favorite recipes, sooo good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
awesome and super easy :) matt even took some leftovers to work and ate them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dee's Sexy, Spicy, Shrimp, Sausage, and Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I didn't have creole seasoning, so used red pepper in a smaller amount (at least one kid isn't into spicy) I also made sure to de-tail the shrimp before serving, and put the shrimp layer on the bottom and sausage over. I could also only find mild italian, not sweet, sausage - and it still worked well. Milder than I expected, and might double the sauce next time since some like a little, and some a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
AWESOME!!! I made this for the superbowl 2013 party, I used stew meat instead of ground beef and for the beer I used a bottle of Guiness. I put everything together Sat night and let it simmer for 2 hours. Sunday I put it back on the stove to simmer all day and we ate around 6pm, also made corn bread with it, delicious, it all got eaten :) even Matt liked it!! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
A bit too sweet for our tastes but very good. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs as the only meat in the recipe and chopped the bell pepper before use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole III

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I'm not a huge potato fan in general, but my family is, and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Brussels Sprouts....who knew my kids would not only eat them but devour them. Very simple and very tasty. Mostly Paleo-friendly. Nothing in the pan for tomorrow's leftovers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Loved the flavor and how easy it was to make. plan to make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Dijon Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was very easy to make and both my Husband and I loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Over Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
OMG! This was sooo good, I took out too many pork chops so i doubled the recipe and it made a ton but it is all going to get eaten!! I also added a can of diced tomatoes when I added the chicken broth then a can of corn 5 minutes before the end of cooking time. Very bad for you with all the grease but I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easy but needed a little salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States