Chesapeake, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Easy, fast and delicious! I always use this for "care connection" dinners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevalgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

New York-Style Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My only "quibble" such as it is - clarity of a couple of details. "Small spot" in the middle - apparently my spot was TOO small, as I ended up slightly overbaking it. Also recipe doesn't specify to soften the cream cheese - I know it needs softened - but someone completely unfamiliar with making cheesecake could get frustrated wondering how the heck to whisk solid cream cheese! I also subbed about 2 tsp of lemon juice as I didn't have zest on hand - flavor was superb. Oops, also subbed 1 cup greek yogurt for the sour cream - texture and flavor was still excellent. Overmixed - my fault, I know better. The overbake - had never made it this way before, and my guess on the "small" was off. I should've shut off the oven when it was about silver dollar size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding Poke Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I used 4 cups milk for 2 boxes pudding. good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Easy to put together and takes great. I have made this several times and love it each and every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I only made 2 changes: I didn't add as much flour and I used 2 cubes of chicken broth. It was delicious. My youngest son had 2 helpings. It was bland-ish but I didn't want a lot of spice. I couldn't believe that I had this on the table by 6:30. It tasted like it had been cooking all day. Will make again with a few changes (less flour as it was too thick for me) and when the ailing dude is feeling better maybe some spicy sausage and spinach (?). Thanks for the recipe. Just proves that good food can be put on the table just as fast as going to grab fast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I am an experienced baker, but the cake didn't rise and just turned to goo I my cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Cowcer
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Made this for hubby - he's not a bread fan but does love his pretzel bread!! For those who have issues with the rising: 1) Make sure the yeast is quick rise 2) Make SURE the warm solution is NOT too hot. It will kill the yeast. 3) If you're still having trouble (I have issues with quick rising) try this. Follow the directions up to and including turning the dough into the greased bowl. Cover with a damp cloth. Refrigerate overnight. Then follow the other directions. I do this for ALL my breads, as I can't get a consistent rise the other way - this method was in an old recipe for french bread, and gives me a consistent rise every time. I never rise my dough at room temp, but always use the overnight method or I end up making bricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Soup II

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I gave this four stars based on the originial recipe ... With this being a soup I was able to taste as I went and make a few changes. I know noone likes when someone rates a recipe but doesnt make it exactly but on the other hand I'm not going to waste a bunch of ingredients when I know what I can do to make it better for me and all recipes are all in the eye of the beholder (eater, lol). I followed all of the cooking directions exactly just added a couple of ingredients. I added quartered button mushrooms and a few cut up jalapeno slices to the veges to saute, I also added salt, pepper and a pinch of paprike to taste. After the veges were done I added the milk w/ flour, then I added the soup and used chicken broth instead of water and buillon (as many previous reviews did), when it was done it was really really good, just felt it was missing something... sooo I added a pound of Italian sausage, end result... AMAZING!!! Thank you for the great idea.. I'm going to put some shredded cheddar cheese on it and eat til its gone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Football Dip Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Second time I made this I added taco seasoning to the meat and the cream cheese and I used Ro-Tel tomatos but both times, sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheeseburger Tacos

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe was so good! I came across this while I was looking for a simple taco recipe and decided to make this instead. I used a mixture of cheddar cheese and Mexican cheese. I added a little seasoning salt to the ground beef mixture and diced onions. I am amazed at how good this was!! This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Roasted Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was quite tasty. I will probably play with the seasonings a little, and lower the time a bit - one of the two roasts came out more done, despite the size being darn close to the other. The one that came out medium was very very good. I put 1 c water in the bottom of the roasting pan to work with the drippings and roasted some baby potatoes, halved, in the drippings for about 45 minutes while the roast was standing and cooling. Used a spoon to rotate the potatoes once in the middle of the time, added gravy starter and some water, roasted some more, about 15 minutes. Divine potatoes. :) Family was quite pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I love this cookie recipe!! I do white chocolate chips instead of the semisweet chips and macadamia nuts instead of The walnuts!! My family loves them!! My family and neighbors always insist on these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was fantastic! Like KATTELYN, I left out the water. I used Granny Smith apples, and I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it was absolutely amazing. I took it to my Bible study group, and it was completely demolished. My husband was so mad we didn't have any to bring home. I will definitely be making this again... and again... and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I looked at over a dozen recipes for tiramisu, and settled on this one. It can be a bit time-consuming, but the outcome is definitely worth it. I have made it 4 or 5 times now, and everyone has loved it. It's much better after it sits overnight in the fridge. If you're thinking about making this, do it! You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Gross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma B's Bean Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this last night. Actually started it the night before at bedtime. My family ate every bit that was served including the kids. That is a definite plus. However, if I make this again it will be with a few changes. I used a small smoked ham equaling the amount requested which I think next time, I will add more. I also added two chicken bouillon cubes and 2 small bay leaves only because my first thought after reading the ingredients was "where are the spices?" I set it all night and let it cook through the day on low. When I came home, I mashed some of the beans and potatoes to make it more creamy. The result was better but everyone agreed that more ham would have enhanced the flavor. Not sure if I'll make again....maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My neighbor made these and they were awesome! i asked her for the recipe and was amazed at how easy these were to make. i followed the reviews and used a food processor. WOW! i don't even bake and these were perfect! i did cut them smalled (pretty much did 16 slices instead of 8) and i only baked them for 10 minutes. PERFECTION!!!!! i also did a glaze on top and loved them. tried the blueberry lemon and cranberry orange....can't wait to try more combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Banana Nut Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe! I love that it has more bananas than you usually see in other recipes. I baked mine in mini loaves to give out at the holidays….I got about 10 out of it (last one was a bit smaller). I am definitely going to use this recipe from now on. The only downfall is all the bowls and dishes I dirtied, but it's worth it for this awesome bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Gross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was easy to make and outstanding ! Added 1/2t of Cayenne Pepper to the mixture just to wake it up, a bit. Don't skimp on the sale amount called for, its really needed to help bring up the wonderful flavors in the sauce! Speaking of sauce... we had a good bit left over and Mrs Green Eggs & Ham baked meat balls in the oven then put them in that wonderful sauce. Most excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenEggsnHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Tomozzakala Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I bet this is so good with fresh tomatoes. I wanted something different for dinner tonight. I used hot house tomatoes and it was still very good. I had to put it away because I kept picking at it. Not sure if it will keep for tomorrow's lunch but I'm willing to try. Simple but divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Chicken Burgers with Avocado

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
These were fantastic! I made the ranch dressing with plain Greek yogurt, as another reviewer recommended, and put avocado and tomato on the sandwich. It was a delicious, fast dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States