Chesapeake, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kerri's Holiday Punch

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
We've made this for Thanksgiving the past two years and it was a huge success. I don't know why I don't make it more often... Made it with all the listed ingredients except for the food coloring. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was trying to find a recipe that was similar to my mom's casserole and this was close but not quite it. It was bland and I wasn't impressed with the ingredients and directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Broccoli Quiche

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I make this every year after Thanksgiving with the leftover Honey Baked ham. It is easy and yummy. This year, I was too lazy to go pick up the leftovers that I forgot at my mom's so I used bacon and cheddar instead. So delicious and easy that it was stupid. I think next time, I might add a little onion and some garlic powder to kick it up a notch, once I pick up the leftovers that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Casserole II

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
By far, my favorite sweet potato casserole recipe. Instead of boiling, I baked the sweet potatoes as I had other things to do in the kitchen. This was a time-saver as I only had to split them open and scoop them out. They weren't too sweet. My husband actually liked them where he normally does not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cider Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Wanted to try something different this year over my usual oranges, cranberries and sugar. This is okay. I'm taking it to Thanksgiving tomorrow and my fear is that the spices will overpower the turkey. We will see. I let it simmer for an hour to thicken up. I like the consistency. I don't hate it but just not sure if I like it enough to keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Zucchini and Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Served this with Bulgogi. My husband's only suggestion is to double the recipe next time. Literally, nothing left in the pan. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef)

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It was very good. Next time, I think I will double the meat and triple the marinade. My oldest went for seconds which is a rarity. Easy to cook up and I think will be easy for a midweek meal. I cooked it in the pan. I can only imagine how great it is over the grill. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe! BUT....i do agree with the other reviews that the sugar should be cut in half and the dressing is too soupy for the recommended amount of slaw mix. SOOO....i shred up a small cabbage head and grate up a few carrots myself. This makes a lot more mix and I keep the recommended dressing mix the same except for cutting the sugar in half. IT'S SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Machaca

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I cannot keep my husband out of the crockpot-we might not have enough for dinner if he keeps going back to "sample". I drained off the liquid and kept about a cup. I added cumin, onion powder, garlic and chili pepper to the cup and mixed it back with the meat along with the enchilada sauce. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Maybe I didn't let it thicken enough but my sauce was on the bland side. It wasn't awful. Everyone ate it and one son went back for more. I'll keep the recipe and maybe cook it down a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Rice I

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
First this is sooo easy to make. I had it completed in no time. Served it with teriyaki chicken and it was a quick, decent meal. My boys ate every bit of it and one son went back for more. I thought it was just okay. I tasted it while still in the pan and thought it was very bland. I added some ground ginger and garlic powder before serving which sparked it up a little bit. Next time, I'll add carrots and peas. It lacked color too. I think it's worth keeping with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls III

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
These are the best cinnamon rolls I've ever tasted. The dough is so rich and chewy. The only think I want to comment on is that the dough is very tough and the recipe works better if you flatten the dough really well before you roll it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Toano, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Wonderful! Used fresh thyme and bacon drippings instead of olive oil, but other than that unchanged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevalgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Ratatouille Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I was looking for a pasta recipe outside of the usual spaghetti, lasagna etc. for when my husband goes out of town (he's not a fan). I cannot tell you which part of this is my favorite-the eggplant, ravioli or cheese. The flavor is delicious. My youngest son told me that he didn't like it; he LOVED it. Very filling too. I will make this again. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I've been making this for years. Basically using my MIL's artichoke dip on top of chicken. I personally think the trick to keeping it from being so oily is to add just enough mayo to make the other ingredients "stick". I also add garlic to give it some "umpfh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Made this before work adding frozen chicken breasts. My boys gobbled it up. I'll add more spice next time as this wasn't very spicy. Excellent flavor and the chicken was not dry at all. Served them in tortillas with guacamole with lime-cilantro cauliflower and black beans. Very easy, satisfying week day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
As others have stated, this was a great base recipe, all the right ingredients to start with, but you have to finish it with your own bang! I seasoned my ground turkey with garlic, onion, and cayenne pepper. I cut the amount of cream cheese to about 5-6 oz give or take, then followed the recipe as is from there. Once I combined everything, it was still missing something, I added black pepper, a touch of salt, Italian seasoning and what really sent it over the edge, a few splashes of Worchestershire sauce! The family loved it. We like flavor, it wasn't spicy even though I added the pepper, and it still tasted like a delicious stroganoff! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyt88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Fixed this the other day. Threw in small red potatoes, celery, carrots and an onion. I did sear the meat prior to adding it to the crockpot but not entirely sure if it was needed. Husband said that it tasted like his mother's. So easy and delicious. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
this is a great recipy! chilling it is the secret and dusting with powdered sugar and not flour when rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Omg!!! Don't change anything about this recipe, it's AWESOME on hamburgers!!! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Wahrenburg Palese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States