Chesapeake, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ratatouille Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I was looking for a pasta recipe outside of the usual spaghetti, lasagna etc. for when my husband goes out of town (he's not a fan). I cannot tell you which part of this is my favorite-the eggplant, ravioli or cheese. The flavor is delicious. My youngest son told me that he didn't like it; he LOVED it. Very filling too. I will make this again. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I've been making this for years. Basically using my MIL's artichoke dip on top of chicken. I personally think the trick to keeping it from being so oily is to add just enough mayo to make the other ingredients "stick". I also add garlic to give it some "umpfh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Made this before work adding frozen chicken breasts. My boys gobbled it up. I'll add more spice next time as this wasn't very spicy. Excellent flavor and the chicken was not dry at all. Served them in tortillas with guacamole with lime-cilantro cauliflower and black beans. Very easy, satisfying week day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
As others have stated, this was a great base recipe, all the right ingredients to start with, but you have to finish it with your own bang! I seasoned my ground turkey with garlic, onion, and cayenne pepper. I cut the amount of cream cheese to about 5-6 oz give or take, then followed the recipe as is from there. Once I combined everything, it was still missing something, I added black pepper, a touch of salt, Italian seasoning and what really sent it over the edge, a few splashes of Worchestershire sauce! The family loved it. We like flavor, it wasn't spicy even though I added the pepper, and it still tasted like a delicious stroganoff! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyt88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Fixed this the other day. Threw in small red potatoes, celery, carrots and an onion. I did sear the meat prior to adding it to the crockpot but not entirely sure if it was needed. Husband said that it tasted like his mother's. So easy and delicious. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
this is a great recipy! chilling it is the secret and dusting with powdered sugar and not flour when rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Omg!!! Don't change anything about this recipe, it's AWESOME on hamburgers!!! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Grilled Pineapple

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I've grilled these twice now. First time, I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla with the cinnamon and brown sugar then added water to make thinner. Second time, I cut back a little on the cinnamon as I'm not a huge fan and didn't add water. Water wasn't needed at all. It was so good both times. We put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Yummo! The pineapple is soooo sweet and juicy. My favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Coconut Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong but these did not come out as cookies more like balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Followed step by step and my roast was AMAZING!! My kids loved it and they are very picky eaters. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRIL R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Easy, fast and delicious! I always use this for "care connection" dinners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevalgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

New York-Style Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My only "quibble" such as it is - clarity of a couple of details. "Small spot" in the middle - apparently my spot was TOO small, as I ended up slightly overbaking it. Also recipe doesn't specify to soften the cream cheese - I know it needs softened - but someone completely unfamiliar with making cheesecake could get frustrated wondering how the heck to whisk solid cream cheese! I also subbed about 2 tsp of lemon juice as I didn't have zest on hand - flavor was superb. Oops, also subbed 1 cup greek yogurt for the sour cream - texture and flavor was still excellent. Overmixed - my fault, I know better. The overbake - had never made it this way before, and my guess on the "small" was off. I should've shut off the oven when it was about silver dollar size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding Poke Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I used 4 cups milk for 2 boxes pudding. good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Easy to put together and takes great. I have made this several times and love it each and every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I only made 2 changes: I didn't add as much flour and I used 2 cubes of chicken broth. It was delicious. My youngest son had 2 helpings. It was bland-ish but I didn't want a lot of spice. I couldn't believe that I had this on the table by 6:30. It tasted like it had been cooking all day. Will make again with a few changes (less flour as it was too thick for me) and when the ailing dude is feeling better maybe some spicy sausage and spinach (?). Thanks for the recipe. Just proves that good food can be put on the table just as fast as going to grab fast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Made this for hubby - he's not a bread fan but does love his pretzel bread!! For those who have issues with the rising: 1) Make sure the yeast is quick rise 2) Make SURE the warm solution is NOT too hot. It will kill the yeast. 3) If you're still having trouble (I have issues with quick rising) try this. Follow the directions up to and including turning the dough into the greased bowl. Cover with a damp cloth. Refrigerate overnight. Then follow the other directions. I do this for ALL my breads, as I can't get a consistent rise the other way - this method was in an old recipe for french bread, and gives me a consistent rise every time. I never rise my dough at room temp, but always use the overnight method or I end up making bricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Soup II

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I gave this four stars based on the originial recipe ... With this being a soup I was able to taste as I went and make a few changes. I know noone likes when someone rates a recipe but doesnt make it exactly but on the other hand I'm not going to waste a bunch of ingredients when I know what I can do to make it better for me and all recipes are all in the eye of the beholder (eater, lol). I followed all of the cooking directions exactly just added a couple of ingredients. I added quartered button mushrooms and a few cut up jalapeno slices to the veges to saute, I also added salt, pepper and a pinch of paprike to taste. After the veges were done I added the milk w/ flour, then I added the soup and used chicken broth instead of water and buillon (as many previous reviews did), when it was done it was really really good, just felt it was missing something... sooo I added a pound of Italian sausage, end result... AMAZING!!! Thank you for the great idea.. I'm going to put some shredded cheddar cheese on it and eat til its gone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Football Dip Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Second time I made this I added taco seasoning to the meat and the cream cheese and I used Ro-Tel tomatos but both times, sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheeseburger Tacos

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe was so good! I came across this while I was looking for a simple taco recipe and decided to make this instead. I used a mixture of cheddar cheese and Mexican cheese. I added a little seasoning salt to the ground beef mixture and diced onions. I am amazed at how good this was!! This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Roasted Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was quite tasty. I will probably play with the seasonings a little, and lower the time a bit - one of the two roasts came out more done, despite the size being darn close to the other. The one that came out medium was very very good. I put 1 c water in the bottom of the roasting pan to work with the drippings and roasted some baby potatoes, halved, in the drippings for about 45 minutes while the roast was standing and cooling. Used a spoon to rotate the potatoes once in the middle of the time, added gravy starter and some water, roasted some more, about 15 minutes. Divine potatoes. :) Family was quite pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States