Chesapeake, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baby Bok Choy with Garlic

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I bought some bok choy...because, well, I like saying bok choy. I had no clue how to cook it. I found this recipe and I am now a huge fan. Next time, I'll cut back on some of the ingredients but this is really a good way to cook it. Hubby even complimented it and thought it was an excellent way to cook it. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is going in my dinner rotation! I made the following alterations because of my likes and what I had on hand: added 1 small diced onion, garlic, shredded cheddar cheese, cajun seasoning, and I mixed BBQ sauce with the ketchup. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I have nothing to compare this to as it's my first time having Irish Soda bread. That being said we loved it. I used all the raisins this time though I think as previous reviewers have mentioned 2 c would be plenty. I'm not normally a fan of caraway but together with the raisins it worked well in this. I feel like more reviewers should have noted that this dough is not the same consistency as one would normally think of bread. A few touched on it's "stickiness" but it's much more than that. I would say it is closer to the consistency of muffin or loaf bread mix. Finally, I baked it in a buttered deep dish pie pan for 65 minutes. It rose nicely and had a great crust. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I didn't realize that I was out of taco seasoning until I was home from the store. Being lazy and experiencing low outside temperatures, I decided to give this a try. I didn't have oregano but everything else. added it to my Mexican soup and I was blown away. I will never use the other stuff again. the dish smelled earthy and yummy while cooking all day and tasted wonderful. I think I'll make a batch to have on hand at all times. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chorizo and Lentil Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made a few minor modifications to the recipe. I used Better than Bouillon Chicken instead of just water and added shrimp at the end. I served it with rice. The picky kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Chorizo and Lentil Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made a few minor modifications to the recipe. I used Better than Bouillon Chicken instead of just water and added shrimp at the end. I served it with rice. The picky kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Unbelievable Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was my first time making rolls! This is a wonderful recipe. I read through the reviews but decided to make them per the recipe, at least for the first time. These rolls were great. I would have liked them to be just a little lighter, but like I said, this was my first time making rolls so I may have done something out of step. I will make these again and again and again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great base recipe. Used diced tomatoes instead of tomato juice. Cooked on the stove, I doubled the amount of cayenne and chili powder, I also seasoned the meat with garlic powder, onion powder, and seasoned salt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRIL R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is so flippin' good! I used a 2 lb roast and adjusted according to our taste and preference. Next time, I will double the recipe. It was so good. We made tacos and I think I could've eaten about 10 of them. I took other's advice. I didn't cook the meat ahead of time (time saver) then about an hour before serving, I shredded it and placed it back in the juice. I added cumin and reduced the hot sauce as I was scared of the heat factor. Next time, I'll add more hot sauce. Love, love, love it. I can't wait to make again. yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
If I could give 3-1/2 stars I would. For our taste, the addition of garlic was a must. I made with only the ginger initially, but added the garlic after tasting. Also used brown sugar, as it's always my sugar of choice with soy. Doubled the sauce. Added mushrooms. It was good, but I still felt something missing, probably the oyster sauce. Will make sure Togo back to fresh garlic and ginger next time. A recipe worth tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This isn't your typical chili and I'm okay with that. I do love the extra veggies snuck in. It was something that my boys would eat and I felt good serving it. I think the seasonings were a guideline and I took it as so. We like more garlic and a lot more spice so we adjusted it to our liking. I think next time that I will saute the onions and celery prior to putting in the crock pot. That is the only thing that I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is definitely one my new favorites. I was making a list for the store and the only thing that I had to buy was the chicken. Everything else was in the pantry. The chicken was so moist that it was falling off the bone. I served it with zucchini and couscous. It was delicious. I was telling my co-workers about it and started drooling! So easy; will go in the regular weeknight rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I've made this several times and everyone requests extras to take home with them. The only alterations I've ever made: I've used plain yogurt instead of cream, which worked out OK but I like the cream better, and I always add a little more curry powder :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
My Filipina friend at work LOVES cream cheese fruit salad so I found this recipe to make it for her. She loved it!! The variety of fruit and addition of pecans really made this recipe pop. I used all the listed ingredients and didn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kerri's Holiday Punch

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
We've made this for Thanksgiving the past two years and it was a huge success. I don't know why I don't make it more often... Made it with all the listed ingredients except for the food coloring. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was trying to find a recipe that was similar to my mom's casserole and this was close but not quite it. It was bland and I wasn't impressed with the ingredients and directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Broccoli Quiche

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I make this every year after Thanksgiving with the leftover Honey Baked ham. It is easy and yummy. This year, I was too lazy to go pick up the leftovers that I forgot at my mom's so I used bacon and cheddar instead. So delicious and easy that it was stupid. I think next time, I might add a little onion and some garlic powder to kick it up a notch, once I pick up the leftovers that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Casserole II

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
By far, my favorite sweet potato casserole recipe. Instead of boiling, I baked the sweet potatoes as I had other things to do in the kitchen. This was a time-saver as I only had to split them open and scoop them out. They weren't too sweet. My husband actually liked them where he normally does not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cider Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Wanted to try something different this year over my usual oranges, cranberries and sugar. This is okay. I'm taking it to Thanksgiving tomorrow and my fear is that the spices will overpower the turkey. We will see. I let it simmer for an hour to thicken up. I like the consistency. I don't hate it but just not sure if I like it enough to keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Zucchini and Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Served this with Bulgogi. My husband's only suggestion is to double the recipe next time. Literally, nothing left in the pan. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States