Charlottesville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken and Biscuits

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I'm not sure why people thought this was watery. I used exactly what the recipe said. I used a combination of mixed vegetables and broccoli. I did add 2 diced potatoes and added a little onion powder and a little dried sage. I used a little less than 1c of milk but added about 1/4c of white wine. It was a great weeknight dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe. Left out mushrooms (we don't like them) and added 2 cloves of chopped garlic when sauteeing the artichokes, capers & bacon. Doubled the sauce but used 1/2 & 1/s instead of cream. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best King Ranch Ever

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
If you want a little extra spice, stir in about 1/2 pkg of taco seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunshine Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Growing up we called it Toad In A Hole. When you broke into the egg we sprinkle cinnamon/sugar across it - yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2doxiemama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Oh my goodness. I don't usually fight my husband for leftovers, but with this recipe I hid the Tupperware container in the back of the refrigerator so he wouldn't find it. SO delicious, and I didn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lantz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reuben Crescent Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this for my family and they LOVED it. After brushing the top with the egg, sprinkle a little caraway seeds on the top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was a very good recipe. I made only a couple of alterations. I added a splash or red wine just because I don't think it is red sauce without a little red wine. Instead of dried basil, I added Italian spice which is a blend of basil, thyme, etc. I am not sure why a reviewer felt this recipe was overly sweet. In fact I like my sauce a little sweeter than what this recipe called for. The meatballs were very good. They reminded me of the ones made by many of the Italian cooks in my hometown. I think they always put them directly into the sauce and never browned them first. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Pomodoro

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Amazing!! Served with sliced spicy Italian sausage. Only change is I added mushrooms. Simply delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was amazing!!! We had 1.40 lbs ground beef so we just used more of each ingredient and made larger size patties. Finished off all of the leftovers in no time!! Served over mashed red potatoes. I didn't change a thing and was honestly surprised how delicious and flavorful it was with no tweaking the recipe! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Very satisfying. Moderately spicy. I shredded a deli rotisserie chicken instead of chopping up just breast meat. Try replacing a can of white beans with black beans for variety. I added half a bottle of lagunitas little sumpin' sumpin' ale and two bay leaves at the beginning of the 15 minute simmer. Definitely going to make this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckleswithfreckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Salmon with Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Wow, the flavors went together perfectly! I used fresh dill and dried parsley because that's what I had, as well as added garlic to the oil for lack of garlic oil. These changes would not have effected the flavor. Really really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Island Treasures

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My boyfriend was speechless! These cookies are moist and flavorful. I used walnuts since I had no pecans. We're coconut lovers in my house so I replaced half the vanilla extract with coconut extract. Has anyone tried using coconut oil instead of butter? Maybe replace half?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckleswithfreckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pita Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Easy. Just use whatever dried herbs you already have. Naan bread can be used as a substitution for pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckleswithfreckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Baked Split Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very good. I slice fresh garlic and put the sliced clove under the skin. Not a fan of rosemary so I use thyme, basil, kosher salt & pepper after I brush the skin with olive oil. Lastly, I thinly slice half a lemon and put in the dish and then squeeze the juice from the other side over the chicken. The lemon from the thyme along with the fresh lemon makes this even tastier. Definitely put under the broiler the last bit of cooking time to get that crispy skin. I don't eat it but my husband and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I actually used carob chips in this recipe because I am lactose intolerant. We all loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Delicious vinaigrette and salad. I had almonds and fontina on hand instead of swiss and cashews. I skipped the poppy seeds and added half a tablespoon of celery seed. Next time, I want to reduce the amount of sugar by half to see if it makes a big difference. With the leftover dressing I plan to marinate some chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckleswithfreckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Just made these last night, but made some changes as this recipe looked a little bland. I added more cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. I also added about 3/4 cups of cranberries and 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips. No refrigerating and make them slightly bigger, like the size of a meatball. Baked for 15 minutes and they were perfect. They were chewy and a nice buttery taste with just a hint of crunch. Even my picky daughter gobbled them up. This is a keeper with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAMWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Devil's Steak Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Delicious! I added a little bit more Worcestershire sauce to cut through the raspberry taste. Used it as a condiment with steak and on top of meatloaf, worked well with both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Pineapple Muffins

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Delish. I was looking for a recipe that I thought my elementary students would enjoy. Also, one that I would not be tempted to overeat, as I am watching my weight. This muffin is tasty and delicious and a perfect match! Not too sweet. Tomorrow my students will be giving me the final verdict. I made several changes to the original recipe, largely based on other reviewers' suggestions (Tunisianwife and Sarah Jo, for example), and also because of the current ingredients I had available. For the batter: I substituted soy milk for cow milk;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tropics30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
yummy - no cream needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States